AMD Phenom 9600 Multiplier Unlocked?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by jasonmsw, Dec 19, 2007.

1. jasonmsw

jasonmsw Member

GPU:
    2xBFG 8800GTS320 @g615/m1730/s1449
    I have recently brought an AMD Phenom 9600, went straight into my Crosshair mobo with a quick BIOS update, I was looking around on the net and saw that AMD were releasing the "BLACK" edition... I thought I would go into my bios and have a play with the multiplier(scared shirtless to try anything else yet)... I only changed it from 11.5 to 11 but when I went back into windows and ran CPU-Z it said that the multiplier had been changed, is there any other way to be absolutely sure that I can change the multiplier on what I *thought* was a standard 9600? I am a bit new to this but I would love to see just what I can get out of my rig in both terms of pure clock speed and also GFX speeds. Any help on either would be great. Many thanks in advance.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  2. grimsanta

grimsanta Master Guru

GPU:
    8800GTS 640MB @ 575/1750
    all amd processors are unlocked downwards, this is how cool and quiet is done...when not using much power, it lowers the multiplier to conserve.

sorry man.

3. jasonmsw

jasonmsw Member

GPU:
    @Grimsanta. Bummer, you're right, just went in and upped it to 12. CPU-Z says 11.5. Ho-hum. Anyway, this is going to sound like such a noob question, can you point me in the right direction for overclocking the Phenom and also my GFX cards? Thanks again.

4. M1ckY

M1ckY Master Guru

GPU:
    Palit GTX260 Sonic 216SP

5. jasonmsw

jasonmsw Member

GPU:
    Cheers M1ckY. I will have a read, then get back to you. Which programs are best for CPU benchmarking? I have 3D MARK 05. SiSoft Sandra. And how would I go about posting screenshots?

6. OldGuy932

OldGuy932 Master Guru

GPU:
    Radeon 3850 / 3870 Crossfire