AMD PCI Express (3GIO) Filter and PCI Bus Driver requires manually updating.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Watcher, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. CrunchyBiscuit

    CrunchyBiscuit Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB
    On anything that was giving you problems, try to see if the situation improved.

    Since I found out about this topic a while back, I always make sure my Bus drivers are up to date.

    So far, I have never noticed a difference, even when compared to before I was aware of the Bus driver not being updated.

    I guess it can't hurt to update though, glad it worked wonders for the guy above.

    I wonder why this is still an issue. I would have guessed either AMD or Microsoft got this sorted by now, but no, updating the Bus driver still requires to be done manually. At least on my system.
     
  2. Pyrage

    Pyrage Master Guru

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    580 CF@ 1470
    ****, I thought this was common. It's the same with intel, if you install the chipset driver through its setup, it only updates the usb controllers. If you manually point everything to the driver folder, it actually picks up the new version. Makes me go from a 2006 pcie driver to a 2013 one :p
     
  3. PaleHybrid

    PaleHybrid New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon R7 260X
    Is the amd pci root bus lower filter driver the same as the pci bus driver? I'm having problems with AMD catalyst updating a few things including this and my SM bus driver. I'm not sure why catalyst doesn't detect these drivers when I download chipset drivers and update them. I did the same thing you said to do here except with the chipset drivers and I see the SM bus driver in there so I might try that as well. I just want to know if this is the right driver for the pci bus.

    Thanks a lot for posting this. Really appreciate someone taking the time to figure this crap out even though some just say who cares. Well ya know what I care, I want my drivers updated and I want my computer to run well and in the most efficient way possible.
     
  4. badlifer

    badlifer Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 280msi 3gb
    I am sorry for the necro....But I am not allowed to send PMs.

    Can you help me manually update my PCI BUS? I am on intel and I downloaded my mobo chipset drivers but nothing is being recognised.What do I do exactly?
     

  5. slash_One

    slash_One Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ATI HD6770x2
    If someone is still looking for newer versions of pci filter driver, but there's no more "amdkmpfd" folder in crimson driver package...just look into the gpu drivers folder for 3 files amdkmpfd.isz, amdkmpfd.csz and amdkmpfd.ssz ( .itz, .ctz and .stz for win 10 and .ibz for win 8), - rename their extensions to .inf, .cat and .sys. Actually these files are installed by crimson in "C:\Program Files\AMD\amdkmpfd" folder, but i can't use crimson with my legacy gpus...
    After that update as usual. But i would recommend to update pci bus filter using devcon.exe.

    Happy Holidays everyone!!:nerd:
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  6. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,684
    Likes Received:
    3,521
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
  7. slash_One

    slash_One Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ATI HD6770x2
    but not for me, unfortunately...and other ppls with an old legacy MB or GPU:nerd:
    Amd disabled support for all legacy devices, even HDMI driver, which actually works on my old system...but it can't be installed normally, and requires .inf modification...
     
  8. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,924
    Likes Received:
    596
    GPU:
    3060Ti GamingZ Trio
    I tried to update my pci bus driver

    i point it the to the folder and choose the inf but when i click next it shows as an audio bus driver and not pci

    im on win 10 x64 any idea's
     
  9. slash_One

    slash_One Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ATI HD6770x2

    yeah, sure.
    amdkmpfd is for pci filter, and amdkmafd is for audio:)

    if you have latest crimson installed, check C:\Program Files\AMD\amdkmpfd -there are 3 files you can rename to inf,cat and sys- latest pci filter version 16.40
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  10. miiksu

    miiksu Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 Nano

  11. slash_One

    slash_One Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ATI HD6770x2
    maybe this will help:boozer:
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  12. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    Ok, after i rename them, now what? I dont even have the PCI BUS driver under system devices in windows 10.
     
  13. slash_One

    slash_One Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ATI HD6770x2
    useful only for ppls with AMD chipsets, man...:nerd:
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,286
    Likes Received:
    8,858
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    It is called 'PCI Express Root Complex' at your rig. But if you have Intel chipset then you don`t want this AMD driver.
     
  15. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    I'm missing something.

    I renamed the files, but how do I actually update the PCIbus?

    There is no .inf file there, so how can I set it (via device manager) to find the driver?

    Should I re-run the Crimson Installer?

    Should I use some other method?
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,286
    Likes Received:
    8,858
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Probably slash_One did a typo - wrote 'ini' instead of 'inf'.
     
  17. slash_One

    slash_One Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ATI HD6770x2
    sorry guys -my mistake- change .ITZ to .INF and not ini... i was in rush to share this
     
  18. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    Yup, that was the case.

    Thank you (both) very much.

    Have a happy new year!
     
  19. srdjan1995

    srdjan1995 Member Guru

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    RX 580 4GB
    Hey guys. So, I've been reading this, and I looked at my PCI Bus driver version, and it was ancient (way back from 2006), so I decided to update it. Now it's version 16.40.0.0 (from 29.8.2016). So, what do I get from updating it?
     
  20. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    258
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4499549#post4499549

    Should You Use the Hardware Drivers Windows Provides, or Download Your Manufacturer’s Drivers?

    http://www.howtogeek.com/191405/sho...vides-or-download-your-manufacturers-drivers/
     

Share This Page