AMD PCI Express (3GIO) Filter and PCI Bus Driver requires manually updating.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Watcher, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. jwrealing

    jwrealing New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus EAH5770 CUcore
    Checked my system (Win7Pro 64) and 3GIO driver was installed. Followed the instruction on the first page and installed the PCI bus driver 13.1. Installed 13.4 and still had to go in and install the newest PCI bus driver manually.

    Since 10.? I've gotten a yellow check mark in the report that follows the installation.

    I wonder if this is the cause for the yellow check mark in the report that follow the installation of the driver package.

    Now to check XP and see if the same problem is affecting it.

    Edit: No XP pro is as it should be.

    Is this just a problem with Win 7 and above?
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2013
  2. SantiJovi

    SantiJovi New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphhire Radeon 6870 1GB
    How can I know if I have installed the AMD IO Driver? It seems I can't find it on the Divice Manager under that name.

    Btw, thanks for the guide. I have the PCI bus driver updated now.
     
  3. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    PCI Bus driver updated with Catalyst driver 13.9 WHQL

    With the release of Catalyst driver version 13.9, the PCI Bus driver has been updated to version 13.15.1.1 Dated 7/24/2013.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2013
  4. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    Thanks for the update and the guide! I got my PCI-Bus updated from date 2006 Microsoft to Pci-Bus date: 24/07/2013 now :p.

    One question though:

    Can you remove the package if you installed the latest Pci-Bus driver? Because I can't use the later versions of AMD drivers for my laptop's Mobile GPU. Only Manufacture drivers.

    PS: keep up the good work. ;)
     

  5. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Yes, you may delete the package once you have updated the PCI Driver.
     
  6. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    Deleted, thanks for the reply. :)
     
  7. PrivateRyan

    PrivateRyan Member Guru

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX 970
    Have a question...Do i need to update My PCI bus...& which one to update...coz i've two of PCI bus in Device Manager ?
     
  8. Stev0

    Stev0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX TITAN Sc SLI
    is that -overall with or without a space,and what do you mean by interactive mode only??
     
  9. CrunchyBiscuit

    CrunchyBiscuit Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB
    Yeah, it truly comes across as incompetence.

    Not sure if AMD is at fault, or Microsoft.

    I'm still wondering what exactly got updated, I can see 13.4 got a newer version and then 13.9 again, but what changed? Are there any ways to test the changes? Are there notes to be found on what got updated? Stability? Anyway, I guess it can't hurt to have the latest ones.

    Thanks again poster!
     
  10. Benik3

    Benik3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Aorus E. RTX2080Ti
    Space is only between the file way and minus
    (e.g. C:\setup.exe -overall)

    I don't know what is Interactive mode...

    BTW On Windows 8.1 I just checked, that it automatically updated the drivers (I have 13.15.1.0 from 17.5.2013)...
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2014

  11. Gabdullah

    Gabdullah New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire HD 7970 3GB
    I have 13.30.0.2 from 21.11.2013 on Win 7 x64
     
  12. KyleStilkey

    KyleStilkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700 XT N+
    Yes the 14.1 Drivers contain a updated version of 13.30.0.2. Good catch for others to see. :)
     
  13. rand923023

    rand923023 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280 / 3GB
    Holy smokes man. I've always used the Intel chipset installation utility and never bothered to check the driver versions. On my Win7 machine it hasn't been updating the PCI, USB, ME, SMBus, or DRAM controller for 4 years! Jesus.

    It never updated my Windows 8.1 drivers either on my other PC, but I'm assuming that Win8.1 ships with at least a relatively modern version. Manually updated those too.

    Unreal.
     
  14. KyleStilkey

    KyleStilkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700 XT N+
    Nope, Windows 8.1 comes with the same one as 7 and it's old. This seemed to have helped me with some of my stuttering issues. Seems to be a much smoother video performance since finding this out.
     
  15. dell7520user

    dell7520user Banned

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd4000+hd7730m
    i have only amd gpu. my motherboard and cpu and igpu intel.

    lots of amd driver automaticaly installing root complex pci express driver.

    catalyst 13.9 and 13.12 same version pci driver. ( 23.7.2013 dated ver. 13.15.1.1 )
    there is no problem

    but catalyst 14.1 installing new version its incompatible with ulps power management. cant work if im not disable ulps.

    some version of driver im leak from windows update not include amd pci driver. this driver very important for lots of amd nootbook user. ( specialy powerexpress/enduro )
     

  16. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Vega56 8GB
    Now this is interesting. On Win8.1 I was using an 8 year old driver. Updated it, but I wasn't sure which one to pick: W864A or WB64A? Which one refers to 8.1?
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2014
  17. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    WB64A = Windows 8.1

    W64A = Windows 8
     
  18. exedrin

    exedrin Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 650Ti
    Hello Guys,


    i just came here to say: THIS GUY (Watcher) DESERVED NOT ONLY 1 BUT A HUNDRET COOKIES, you saved my life and you cant imagine how hardly you did!


    So that my post is not considered as spam iam going to tell my story.


    Iam having problems with performance of most of my games since a year, even low spec games like League of Legends or other older similar games and ofc every newer game was almost unplayable (and to add that at this point, iam VERY used to configure my games manually via configs etc. and tuning/optimizing operating systems and all arround that matter, since Quake3 iam doing that) ... So basically after trying EVERYTHING on my Radeon hd 6750 ... even upgrading cpu/ram/mb/psu and trying everything from software-side, i accepted that in LoL every teamfight is ending in a framedrop-party and i couldnt play games like planetside2 or better mmorpgs and so on at all properly and upgraded finally my graphicscard to a gigabyte radeon r7 260x ... I bought it with an extremely good feeling of things getting better totally now. I came home, put the graphics card in and installed fresh driverset, tested some games and got dissappointed very hard within the first 10 minutes of testing. Basically not much changed, well, i could play LoL at a little bit higher details but in teamfights it still dropped and started lagging. Due to the fact i have to enable vsync in most games because iam having a 60hz monitor and these games are like unplayable without, the frames drop to like arround 50, basically its no lag but hard stutter in intense situations in games. I did OVER9k things to try to fix that, starting from installing a fresh OS, going over different driverversions, radeonpro (with dynamic vsync and stuff) to beeing totally disappointed about my new graphics card. Since 3 days iam trying EVERYTHING and nothing made it better! ... BUT THEN I FOUND THIS THREAD HERE and it saved my life, i figured out that the mainboard driver ASROCK is offering for my board installs exactly this old pci bus driver on my system and graphics driver did never update it, not on my old nor on my new system. I deleted/updated it like discribed in this thread and the other one about removing the garbage, installed fresh driverset AND VOILA ... my games run smooth as butter, i still have to enable vsync in some but even in intense fights with higher graphicsets then before it doesnt drop lower then 59!!!

    Therefor you mister Watcher deserved ALL cookies in this world, may the pc-god bless you forever and a thousand THX :cheers: ... probably this was my bottleneck since i have this mainboard! :)


    Greetings
    exedrin - the happy gamer thx to you!
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2014
  19. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Well Exedrin, that's quite the first post on Guru3d.

    I'm humbled. Thank you for all your kind words and you are so very Welcome.

    Game on!
     
  20. slizersam

    slizersam Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Vega64

    So this is a confirmation that this is worth doing. so i did it, now i dunno what to test it on :/
     

Share This Page