AMD Naples 32-core Zen-Processors photos

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 11, 2016.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    47,104
    Likes Received:
    15,812
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    AMD next year will release the Naples server CPU. This is a model with an amazing 32 cores and 64 threads, and is based on Zen architecture. AMD has the means to seriously compete with Intel in the se...

    AMD Naples 32-core Zen-Processors photos
     
  2. Ziggymac

    Ziggymac Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    Asus 970 Strix SLi
    Yeah, but with each core running at 150Mhz. :)

    minehunter & solitaire can both be run at 60fps...at the same time!!!
     
  3. BLEH!

    BLEH! Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,386
    Likes Received:
    405
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury
    I'm interested in the one with the 1024-core GPU built in :p
     
  4. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,580
    Likes Received:
    307
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    But that picture has the pins on the CPU, isn't the pins supposed to be located on the socket for LGA?
     

  5. eTheBlack

    eTheBlack Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    GigaByte R9 280X W3X OC
    PGA is pins on CPU, LGA is pins in socket
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2016
  6. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    452
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    Fixed.
     
  7. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,580
    Likes Received:
    307
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Yeah I was a good 99% sure LGA was pins on socket. Intel's been doing that forever now. That picture is either not of the CPU in question or it's still PGA.
     
  8. eTheBlack

    eTheBlack Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    GigaByte R9 280X W3X OC
    fak

    Edited. My bad
     
  9. Montyben101

    Montyben101 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7790 768 core
    That is a fat chip, die size must be pretty huge for 32 cores too
     
  10. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    822
    GPU:
    5700XT / GTX1070
    I sure hope the mainstream Zen chips don't have pins on them. Having them on the motherboard is so much safer.
     

  11. mohiuddin

    mohiuddin Master Guru

    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    GTX670 4gb ll RX480 8gb
    ^u sure about it?
     
  12. Amx85

    Amx85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI R7-260X2GD5/OC
    1.45GHz (14.5x100MHz) and 2.90GHz Turbo Max, or someting similar for non ES CPUs


    Im not sure if these Opterons gets iGFX because 32 Cores ocupes muchas área and generates much hot, between 125-140w TDP as common on Server CPUs, the advantage of much Cores is the amount of multthreading performance, essential in servers, then dont care muchas on frequencies but is possible that next models gets ~2.20GHz base (140w) if actual (1.45GHz model) is 125w, other thing, we just know the "Turbo Max" clock (2.90?GHz) that affects the half of cores but we don't know the "Turbo" frequency that affects all cores, example my FX-6300 has 3.50GHz base, Turbo for all Threads 3.80GHz and Turbo Max (one Thread per module) 4.10GHz, this affects depending on load between threads
     
  13. Amx85

    Amx85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI R7-260X2GD5/OC
    One of picts is a Desktop AM4 CPU, the Opteron CPU is rectangular
     
  14. GeniusPr0

    GeniusPr0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    Surpim LiquidX 4090
    512MB l3 cache? are you serious? LOL

    I feel so inadequate with my 45MB.
     
  15. Montyben101

    Montyben101 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7790 768 core
    Wait is that on each CPU? if so then that server has a total of 1GB of cache! holy ****...
     

  16. GeniusPr0

    GeniusPr0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    Surpim LiquidX 4090
    per CPU
     
  17. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,113
    Likes Received:
    958
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    My guess is that Zen+ will provide 64c/128t drop in replacements eventually. The TDP is way lower than I expected, I wonder about the clocks.
     
  18. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    4,085
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Funny how we have more info (or at least pics) about a server product to be released a year from now than desktop parts that should be available in a month.

    Also, I prefer PGA over LGA. Though its easier to bend a CPU pin, it's also easier to un-bend it. Bend a mobo pin and you're screwed. I get the impression PGA is cheaper too.
     
  19. gianluca

    gianluca Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 TI 8GB
    Two more days and we'll see the new Zen in action. Probably paired with the RX 480 and the new rumored graphic card.
    Now what we need is Lucy Su announcing a very aggressive price tag and confirming the unlocked multiplier. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2016
  20. Caesar

    Caesar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    659
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    Isn't the L3 Cache that feeds the L2 cache and L2 feeds L1????

    Wow....

    It's only a "bank"..... much of the capacity depends on the RAM to be addressed to. Would be better to pour the 512MB capacity to L1 cache.....!!!


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2016

Share This Page