AMD Moves Into new California HQ Offices

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,517
    Likes Received:
    5,588
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    AMD recently had a small celebration as they moved into their new HQ offices based in California. The new offices are positioned in Silicon Valley. AMD CEO Dr Lisa Su was joined by Santa Clara city m...

    AMD Moves Into new California HQ Offices
     
  2. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,589
    Likes Received:
    1,438
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    The man 2nd from the left... is that... Harold?
    [​IMG]
     
    xIcarus likes this.
  3. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
  4. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB

  5. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    I would not have said a thing except the blurb said "no press was aware of this the new offices, which from the looks of it was not a big of a deal." They were aware of the new offices, it was reported.
    The article I cited says "Employee and equipment moves are expected to begin in Q3 2017 and be completed by the end of 2017. " I mean I guess you're more bored than I am if you're picking nits that small. ;)

    Edit...I found one of my own....I said last August...since it's now 2018, it would be the August before last....where's the turbo bong...
     
  6. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Master Guru

    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
    The savings from moving away from solder on the IHS in the new Raven Ridge has really helped them save up enough cash to move into a new office.
     
  7. kruno

    kruno Master Guru

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    4890/1
    WTF??? You mean paste on IHS, solder tricks are for Intel:D:D
     
  8. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,660
    Likes Received:
    499
    GPU:
    2070 Super
  9. kruno

    kruno Master Guru

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    4890/1
    Sorry my bad, i stand corrected. Personally i don't agree with that decision but i can understand choice that AMD made with Raven Ridge, as they explain on this "cheapo"products they need to cut cost somewhere.With Intel it is not much of a problem that they use toothpaste for their processors, but problem lies in the fact that they used it on all of their processors.People would understand if they used it on Atoms, heck let's include even Celerons,Pentiums and I3's, but on I5's,I7's and even on I9's that is not acceptable, these processors cost between several hundred to several thousand Euro's, people are expecting top notch quality when they shell out that amount of money not some "toothpaste"
     

Share This Page