AMD Memory Tweak - Read/Modify Timings on the fly!

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Eliovp, May 1, 2019.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,690
    Likes Received:
    3,526
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    Good to have HBM2 at 1050Mhz up to 1120MHz for Gaming at Lowest possible mV (Cool & Quiet means less tW)
    + Timing Tweak (You need to Load it every time You restart WinX)
     
  2. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Thanks for releasing the awesome tool!

    Running vega 56 Pulse with Hynix @950Mhz core (3Dmark misread it as 960 because of registry setting)

    Firestrike Left is tweaked timings right is default timings
    Graphics Score + 4.1 %!
    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/19300980/fs/19301086

    Is cl setting really working because results not changing when adjusting that value only?
    Is there a way to apply values on boot I was trying a shortcut but couldnt get it working is there a help guide somewhere?

    Default timings
    Code:
    <values cl="18" ras="24" rcdrd="23" rcdwr="12" rcab="37" rcpb="37" rpab="13" rppb="13" rrds="3" rrdl="3" rtp="6" faw="13" cwl="7" wtrs="5" wtrl="5" wr="14" rrefd="7" rdrddd="3" rdrdsd="2" rdrdsc="1" rdrdscl="3" wrwrdd="3" wrwrsd="2" wrwrsc="1" wrwrscl="3" wrrd="1" rdwr="17" ref="3200" mrd="4" mod="12" xs="216" xsmrs="216" pd="7" cksre="8" cksrx="8" rfcpb="96" stag="7" xp="7" cpded="2" cke="7" rddata="17" wrlat="5" rdlat="14" wrdata="1" ckestag="2" rfc="208" timing="0" zerorpm="True" tdplimit="50" maxtemp="85">
    Tweaked timings
    Code:
    <values cl="14" ras="24" rcdrd="12" rcdwr="5" rcab="42" rcpb="42" rpab="14" rppb="14" rrds="2" rrdl="4" rtp="4" faw="14" cwl="6" wtrs="4" wtrl="9" wr="14" rrefd="8" rdrddd="3" rdrdsd="2" rdrdsc="1" rdrdscl="3" wrwrdd="3" wrwrsd="2" wrwrsc="1" wrwrscl="3" wrrd="1" rdwr="18" ref="25000" mrd="8" mod="15" xs="270" xsmrs="8" pd="8" cksre="10" cksrx="10" rfcpb="120" stag="7" xp="8" cpded="2" cke="8" rddata="17" wrlat="5" rdlat="14" wrdata="1" ckestag="2" rfc="208" timing="0" zerorpm="True" tdplimit="50" maxtemp="85">
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
    Jackalito and OnnA like this.
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,690
    Likes Received:
    3,526
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    Best is to Upload screen with Tweak (better readability)
     
  4. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
    OnnA likes this.

  5. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,690
    Likes Received:
    3,526
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    Not stable for me :p
    tFAW & RDDATA on -1 is artifact showcase ;)
    tRAS on 27, 26 creates bugs in AC:O (Today playing some of it w/New Tweaks to check)
     
    sideeffect likes this.
  6. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    RDDATA 17 was my stock value and is stable for me and a bit faster than 19. tRPAb and tRPPb stock was 13 but I get black square artifacts with other timings reduced so raised to 14 for the moment but these timings do have an impact so I might play around more.

    Reducing tRas from 28 to 24 and tRFC from 244 to 208 gained me about 10 points in Superposition.

    I am artifact free with these settings and no errors reported with OCCT GPU error check or game crashes yet.

    Setting tCL to 12 seemed to make no difference in results.
     
  7. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,690
    Likes Received:
    3,526
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    So IMhO Vega64, 56 & Vega2 all have different HBM2 Timings.
    What's good for 64 not always work for 56/VII etc.
     
  8. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Yes and even my friends Gigabyte V56 with Hynix memory has slightly different timings to my Sapphire V56 with Hynix. His tRFC was down at 168 or so.

    Perhaps each batch of memory is given some defaults like an SPD that is then used for all cards using that batch. Or Perhaps each manufacturer is using their own settings. Without a larger data pool we won't know.

    Edit - Also it seems good Hynix chips can have tight timings equal to Samsung chips at least at 950Mhz 1.25v.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
    OnnA likes this.
  9. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Okay so I had a mishap yesterday and messed beyond recovery up my current win 10 install...so this morning I decided to grab a 1903 iso and install it. Plus I have magic drivers...been using the public for the last week...however using the same timings as my above 27k I now got this amazing score with full tessellation on.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Nice score! Whats your combined score like compared to previous windows? I am also using 1903 but with 19.4.3 and noticed my combined score seems higher than other people using similar hardware and wondering if it's Windows 1903 boost. Are you using AMD 26.20.11010.4?

    Edit- Yes I see your picture on previous page you got 50% increase in combined score while only 8% extra for Graphics and 6% for physics.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,690
    Likes Received:
    3,526
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    @mtrai
    As i said, 30k is for Us to take :D (30k on Vega64, if You say that to someone they will not believe it :))
    I will join the 30k Party in summer when i plug my ZEN2 into current build :cool:


    But here we are....
    @wannabeocer will be first to take it iMO or You :p
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
  12. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Prior to win 10 1903 it would hover around 6800 to 7100. That 50% is due to windows 1903 IMO...it just works better. Also keep in mind I am using a non-public driver aka vanguard. Yes the program is doing well...and is considered an essential part of driver development. When I post with these drivers I will only screenshot vs link to validation on 3dmark. Can't give away things. The screenshot of my previous 27k was edited to remove things.
     
    Dekaohtoura likes this.
  13. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Yes 30k is now in range of the average user. We are showing it. Yes I have access to drivers that are not public. However they will come. Note I am having to recreate all my testing since my mishap yesterday.
     
  14. Kazablanka

    Kazablanka Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Rx vega 64
    Nice tool guys!
    Here are the timings I use ,I think they are pretty stable.
    [​IMG]
     
    Jackalito and OnnA like this.
  15. Kazablanka

    Kazablanka Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Rx vega 64
    Υes the high combined score is due to 1903 build, I am with windows insider build and I score about 9k to 10k depends on the cpu clocks.
     

  16. DanEVO7

    DanEVO7 Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Duke 2080 Ti
    Are you sure that P3 state activates? For me, if i set P2 and P3 the same voltage, than P3 is not activated. It locks on P2. So i set 951mV for P3
     
  17. Kazablanka

    Kazablanka Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Rx vega 64
    Υes there is no problem. At what speed have you clocked your hbm?
     
  18. DanEVO7

    DanEVO7 Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Duke 2080 Ti
    Now i have it at 1070. but it doesn't matter at what speed i set it. If i set same voltage for P2 and P3 it locks at P2
     
  19. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,655
    Likes Received:
    5,560
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Are you guys checking for memory errors becouse im sure most games will be unstable playing with such a tight timings.
     
  20. Kazablanka

    Kazablanka Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Rx vega 64
    May it's bios difference, mine is a sapphire reference. What's yours?
     

Share This Page