1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD may stop with 32-bit support Radeon Software

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    33,259
    Likes Received:
    2,218
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    You'll be hard pressed to find someone with a 32-bit Windows 10 or 7 install these days, but half a percent of our users still downloads 32-bit drivers. Much like NVIDIA did, it's the end of an era ...

    AMD may stop with 32-bit support Radeon Software
     
  2. RooiKreef

    RooiKreef Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    RX 580 Red Devil 8GB
    That’s a good thing as I honestly can’t see why you still need 32bit. Support for 32bit applications is basically none existing in today’s life.
     
  3. MasterBash

    MasterBash Master Guru

    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX970 SSC+
    im ok with this. i would be interested whats the marketshare for 32bit windows these days. it cant be that much.
     
  4. SetsunaFZero

    SetsunaFZero Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Msi 980Ti 6G
    Industry, some still use 16bit application. My two old car-diagnostic notebooks run on Win7 32bit, on is from 2005 and the other on is from 2009
     
    Dimitrios1983 likes this.

  5. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,343
    Likes Received:
    775
    GPU:
    -NDA +AW@240Hz
    AMD does not support Ryzen APUs on 32bit OS for long time. There's reason for it. When BIOS works properly, you can allocate up to 16GB from your RAM just for iGPU.
     
  6. Viper666

    Viper666 Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 460 2GB
    But they do not require any new driver updates, they will run perfectly with the legacy drivers so further support for 32 bit is unneeded.
     
  7. Dimitrios1983

    Dimitrios1983 Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    AMD RX560 4GB
    Same here. I run HP TUNERS software on my modded 1999 LS1 Camaro SS. I use AIRPLANE mode on WINDOWS 10 32-bit because when it tries to install updates it messes up my $hit.
     
  8. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    210
    GPU:
    RX580 (8GB)
    Not a day too soon...
     
  9. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,256
    Likes Received:
    780
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    I suggest running windows 7 for dealer software considering it probably was designed for XP in the beginning.

    I have star(mercedes software) to do diagnostics, firmware updates, etc, and it just doesn't work right all the time on windows 10 compared to older OS
     
  10. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    GTX 960M
    Yep, the pc's at my work still use old industry software that is barely working on 32 bit. Several pc's running 32-bit windows 7 with radeon GPU's for quad monitors for Delta V process software.
     

  11. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx Member Guru

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    HD7700
    "I use hardware and software from long ago and will not be upgrading or updating anything because I already have the functionality I want"

    also same person

    "I demand 32bit support for the hardware and software I will not be buying or using"
     
  12. D3M1G0D

    D3M1G0D Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    502
    GPU:
    2 x GeForce 1080 Ti
    32-bit support is needed for those businesses that are running legacy 16-bit applications. If they need to replace the hardware on such machines then they need driver/software support for that hardware.
     
  13. Ryrynz

    Ryrynz Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 960
    Should've done it at the start of the year..
     
  14. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,891
    Likes Received:
    109
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I just assumed they stopped supporting it years ago...
    Those 16 bit programs can be accurately emulated by a potato at this point.
     
  15. spectatorx

    spectatorx Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Radeon R9 380 4GB
    Or whole industry should have done this a decade ago. Athlon64 is 2003 which is 15 years ago and windows xp x64 is 2005 which is 13 years ago. There was literally no reason to stagnate on x32 software since very long time. I remember how long afterburner didn't have support for x64 games which was unreasonable as many people needed it at least for crysis which had x64 executable since release day (there was few games with x64 already on market) and many people were benching it and they do up today.
     

  16. D3M1G0D

    D3M1G0D Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    502
    GPU:
    2 x GeForce 1080 Ti
    These apps are often mission-critical, and companies demand compatibility, which only Windows 32-bit offers. My company also uses legacy apps and technology and prioritizes new functionality over updating older apps, which is considered unnecessary (if they work, then why fix it?). These apps are also often times black boxes - nobody knows how they work and what would be needed to update them, and even if you do there is no telling what would happen if you recompiled using 32-bits (will all the data line up in the app and in the database? What assumptions were built into the original design, which was based on 16-bits?). Rather than updating and potentially putting the business at risk, most businesses prefer to keep things as they are and demand vendors like MS offer the ability to keep using these apps the way they are - thus, we still have 32-bit Windows.

    If you've ever been to a bank then you'd know this - I went in for a mortgage a few years ago and they were still using ASCII green screens. These apps are ancient and yet these businesses depend on them and don't want to risk updating them. Nobody wants to risk millions of dollars (or the entire company) for reasons of compatibility - they'd rather just pay MS for a 32-bit version that will keep things as they are.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018 at 3:27 AM
    Biały Wilk likes this.
  17. waltc3

    waltc3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    80
    GPU:
    Asus RX-480 8GB
    I actually thought they had stopped that long ago--when they ended support for OSes earlier than Vista x64...It's time.
     
    rl66 likes this.
  18. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    To have been worked some years ago in industry i can tell that most of the OSes used aren't windows and so this anouncement from AMD is pointless... (only the latest military carrier from her majesty are based on Windows XP lol)...

    And to have a laptop for my car that have multi-brand and odb diagnostic and specific program for my race car injection... most of the win32 work perfectly on windows 64, and you might even gain in speed (at least for the race car cartografic upload/download in my case).
     
  19. screwtech02

    screwtech02 Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    R9 390 8gb x3
    Tell this to CORSAIR, and all the software they put out.... Link/iCue, ect.....
     
  20. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    525
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    What are you talking about? The vast majority of existing games are 32-bit. I have 600 games on Steam, 98% of them are 32-bit.

    32-bit applications are fully supported and will stay supported for a long time to come.
     

Share This Page