Amd crossfire games list - games without profiles/negative scaling WTF AMD

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Plug2k, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,866
    Likes Received:
    252
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Tried it a few days ago, worked flawlessly. 2560x1440 110Hz, Very High, no AA, no motion blur, FPS was anywhere between 54 and 130FPS and GPU usage fluctuated between 55% 55% (CPU bottleneck) and ~96% ~96% (GPU bottleneck, high FPS > 100).

    Played like a charm. Good memories.
     
  2. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 390
    Just tested it. There is definitely something wrong with Crossfire with Crysis.

    This is with Vsync disabled since I was getting a steady 60fps with or without crossfire with everything all the way up except:
    AA = 2x
    Blur = Off (I hate blur)
    Shadows = High
    at 1920x1200.

    There is virtually no scaling. Max FPS was 90fps with Crossfire, 89 without.

    The fps just looking around looked almost the same.. maybe 2-4 fps higher with Crossfire. The lower range for both was about 62fps.

    This is with 7970s running at 1050/1575.

    edit: GPU usage was max 65% on both GPUs with CF enabled.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  3. dabooga

    dabooga Master Guru

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Yes but this thread concerns Crossfire scaling.
     
  4. dabooga

    dabooga Master Guru

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Yea similar to my results, although my CF results were worse resulting in a shocking amount of negative scaling.
     

  5. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Crysis:

    Maxed out 2x AA 1920x1200

    1 GPU: 61FPS 2 GPU: 110FPS 90/90% scaling.
     
  6. LtMatt81

    LtMatt81 Master Guru

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    4x Fury X
    Hi,

    Crysis definitely has a crossfire profile, however the game engine only uses two cores/threads of a cpu so you end up being cpu bottlenecked in some instances when using crossfire which can explain why both gpu's usage drops.

    The best tip i can give you is...

    A) Overclock your cpu, pure Ghz speed is all that matters.
    B) Disable hyper threading. (if relevant)
    C) Use RadeonPro. Create a Crysis profile, set the cpu affinity to only use two cpu cores, ideally cores 3 and 4. Leaving the first two cores for OS duties etc.
    D) Use maximum image quality settings to help offset the cpu bottleneck.
    E) Don't use DX10!

    That's what i did to offset the issue (somewhat at least) when i used 3x290X cards to play Crysis.
     
  7. djsebfr

    djsebfr Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 950
    Hi there,

    My 2 games that sucks in CFX mode :
    - Shadow of Mordor : No profile in ccc apps, so i 'm playing single card mode (@50-60 fps average in Ultra 2560*1080)
    - Watch dogs : Big Stuttering !!!, so i 'm playing single card mode (it's playable with the mod enabled but perhaps 40-45fps average. in 2560*1080 Ultra)

    For SOM, i'am wainting for the profile but Any Idea for Watch Dogs ?

    Thanks.
     
  8. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,866
    Likes Received:
    252
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Yeah? So? Didn't you just ask why Crysis is not scaling? I'm just telling you that it scales...

    Seriously?

    Look at your CPU usage dude... it's a CPU bottleneck if you're not getting scaling. I'm running at 2560x1440 110Hz, if you're running at 1920x1080 60Hz then there's nothing you can do to make it run faster since one 280X will be more than enough to dole out framerates that cause a CPU bottleneck. Try raising your AA to 8x, lower your GPU clocks, and you'll see that it scales.

    If most scaling issues with old games are blamed on CF / SLi like this ... then that's ridiculous.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  9. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    If people dont understand CPU bottlenecking, this thread is going to be a mess.
     
  10. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    Dear lord.
     

  11. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 390
    An i7-4930k running at 4.7Ghz should not be bottlenecking Crysis.

    I will run some more tests tonight to verify CPU usage.

    When I test stuff like this, I also disable vsync.
     
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I'm not CPU bottlenecked so you won't be.
     
  13. lorikano

    lorikano Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Sapphire 7950@1150
    Nvidia just released sli profile for ryse:sor .Where is AMD driver team??Always late, so just hurry the f*** up AMD !
     
  14. NJCermak

    NJCermak Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x MSI GTX970
    According to anandtech's Civ: Beyond Earth benchmark, they ran the game using 14.9 Beta 2 drivers and they "should" have been out already. So I'm thinking it's kind of late for today, but we'll most likely see them tomorrow by early afternoon at the latest. But that's all speculation.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/8640/benchmarked-civilization-beyond-earth
     
  15. crz

    crz Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070 ARMOR 8G
    Well, I bought Beyond Earth so we will see tomorrow when it unlocks on Steam if it works with Crossfire DX11 or Mantle.
     

  16. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 390
    Well, after some more research, it looks like Crysis is actually CPU bottlenecked with my setup.

    2 cores are almost always at 100%.

    I just never noticed it before because I always play with vsync on.

    The foliage is really killer for the CPU.

    Edit:
    Had been running my CPU at 4625. I bumped it back up to 4700 and saw this.

    Max fps when looking at the sky went up from about 210 to 230
    Min fps went up from ~62 to ~64.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014
  17. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    that would be way off, just ignore CCC

    http://www.kn00tcn.net/site/ati-catalyst-profiles/

    so first.... driver dlls have profiles, on top of that the CAP files sometimes have additional profiles

    another thing that should have looked suspicious is that UT3, RFG, MEdge, K&L possibly, maybe FEAR are known to have CF based on the many users & (old by now) benchmarks that play with it on, myself included back when my 4870x2 worked

    now what would make this thread nicer is if people try various profiles & find one that scales, even if it flickers ( http://www.kn00tcn.net/site/category/hardware/crossfire-scaling/ i used to do this but i dont have brand new games or a working card on hand)

    as for crysis, are people not reading reviews? today's best single gpus at 1080 show up as 80fps in every benchmark TPU does, so obviously the maximum fps is going to be low
     
  18. bemaniac

    bemaniac Master Guru

    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Zotac 4090
    amdmatt do you have any solution for the excellent scaling but flickering lights in the free game archeage by trion worlds? The cards are rendering lamp post lights in sequence causing the flicker. Is there any way to make only 1 card render these light effects but both cards to maintain great scaling for everything else? I've tried AFR.
     
  19. dabooga

    dabooga Master Guru

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Yes, but we were following a trend of single card vs CF results, and you simply showed your CF results.

    But yea ill take your advice and test Crysis with underclocked CF.

    Update edit: Underclocking the cards increased negative scaling even further.
    In both Arma 3, Crysis 1 & 3.
    CPU usage on all cores never went near 100%.

    2 cores (or 4) always being at 100% isnt necessarily evidence of a CPU bottleneck.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2014
  20. the9quad

    the9quad Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti MSI Gaming-X

    Crysis 3 seemed to push my cards from 80-100% most of the time..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2014

Share This Page