1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Confirms that Ryzen CPUs are Immune to SPOILER Exploit

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 19, 2019.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    34,851
    Likes Received:
    4,050
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    fantaskarsef and chispy like this.
  2. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,804
    Likes Received:
    319
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Nothing but nothing will make me change my mind for this years upgrade!
     
  3. Kaarme

    Kaarme Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    329
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    It also didn't make the US Department of Energy change their mind about a new supercomputer based on Intel processors, priced $500 million.
     
  4. Dimitrios1983

    Dimitrios1983 Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    AMD RX560 4GB
    Like I said again and again , time to sell that INTEL stock. Every freaking tech announcement from Nvidia and Intel keeps making AMD look better and better!
     

  5. HardwareCaps

    HardwareCaps Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    x
    These things are set years back. will just get another BIOS & OS update.
     
  6. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,691
    Likes Received:
    738
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    AMD wins again.
     
  7. asp

    asp Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Curiously, if you rearrange the letters of Intel, you can get 'let in'.

    Coincidence? o_O
     
    fantaskarsef, alanm, Amaze and 2 others like this.
  8. nizzen

    nizzen Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2x1080ti /1080/1060
    Amd is imune to low latency and high memoryspeed too :p
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,877
    Likes Received:
    3,298
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Accidentally, I am sure.
     
    fantaskarsef and Silva like this.
  10. Silva

    Silva Master Guru

    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    247
    GPU:
    Asus RX560 4G
    But if you fix ALL of these exploits, I bet Intel is on par if not worse compared to AMD.
    Get lost.
     

  11. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,778
    Likes Received:
    850
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Isn't that based largely on Intel's new server GPUs? That's kinda comparing apples to oranges.
     
  12. slicer

    slicer Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Gigabyte VEGA 64
    It was already mentioned in SPOILER original document, that you cannot patch or fix it, because it is wrong on physical design level. Sure you can maybe use BIOS fw patch to not use that address space, but it will basically lop of 20-50% of CPUs performance. So basically Intel got it's superior CPU speed over AMD by cheating with security.
     
  13. Kaarme

    Kaarme Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    329
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    Isn't it going to be a Xeon platform with a bunch of GPUs tied to each CPU?

    Who cares about security when you get 10% or even more fps in games?
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  14. K.S.

    K.S. Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    199
    GPU:
    1080 Ti SEA HAWK
    And Hep C...

    Somehow that doesn't surprise me when the EPA had Pruitt blowin money on office shenanigans... Our government isn't known for many things prudent when it comes to cyber for the last decade.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019
    asp likes this.
  15. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,778
    Likes Received:
    850
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    I don't know what the CPUs will be, but the GPUs are also called Xeons; this isn't the first time Intel has done such a thing (Xeon Phi, for example).
    In either case, I'm sure the CPUs function more as a medium to moderate the data rather than do any heavy calculations, so, their security isn't as much to concern over. That being said, Epyc would be a smarter choice for that purpose IMO (due to lower costs, better security, and more PCIe lanes), but, I'm not sure what it is they're using. They could be using POWER9 CPUs for all I know.
     

  16. Kaarme

    Kaarme Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    329
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    The governmental announcement says it like this:
    I interpreted that as Xeon CPUs and the Intel Xe GPUs.
     
    Luc likes this.
  17. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,778
    Likes Received:
    850
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    I didn't see that part (I didn't know Optane was being used either). So yes, it does seem both Xeon CPU and GPU are in use. But like I said, the CPUs probably aren't doing the heavy lifting.
     
  18. HardwareCaps

    HardwareCaps Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    x
    Huh? Spectre was also a hardware flaw, you can just work around it with software.... not ideal but viable for sure....
     
  19. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,655
    Likes Received:
    731
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Oh dear , it makes me feel happy and more secure online using my Ryzen 2700x 24/7 pc :D. My 9980xe , 9900k and other Intel cpus are for benching purposes only :p
     
    Embra likes this.
  20. nizzen

    nizzen Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2x1080ti /1080/1060
    I use Cyrix cpu offline, for maximum security :D

    Nobody really care about "the security flaws" in cpu's.. That is an fact ;) What most people care about is performance...
     

Share This Page