1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Catalyst Windows 8 Preview Driver (8.972.4 May 30) AMD Official BETA

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, May 31, 2012.

Tags:
  1. ghost_one

    ghost_one Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    so anybody did any benchmarks ? how does it compare W7 ?
     
  2. ManofGod

    ManofGod Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
    Yes, I get the same thing, I am unable to install these drivers. Mobility 4200/ 6300M switchable graphics. However, it still works with the older CP drivers so I am using them for the time being.
     
  3. teohokage

    teohokage Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    atimobility HD4570
    guys and for someone who have older graphics what driver can install?
     
  4. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    you want to do win8 on older cards? i would wait until the first legacy releases, & also for win8 to come out
     

  5. hertz

    hertz New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire HD-7970 3GB
    I have your same problem, it appears that 7970 will not work and windows8 never, fortunately they were born to windows8.


    AMD:flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2::flip2:
     
  6. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,151
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    1080 FE +200/+430
    Same with me but I ignore it .
     
  7. afx01

    afx01 Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD7870 OC 2GB/256bit
    I upgraded from Windows 8 Consumer Preview to Windows 8 Release Preview without problems, installed vc++ redist from 2005 to 2010 x64/x86, .net framework 3.5 & dxwebsetup.
    Downloaded and installed this video driver then I tried to play some Max Payne 3... the game will launch but after the Rockstar logo it crashes. In Event Viewer I get some strange messages with "ATI EEU Client event error", the source is "ATIeRecord" and event ID "16388". I have a dual boot win7/win8. In Windows 7 everything works fine.

    Video card: "MSI Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition OC Twin Frozr III 2GB DDR5 256-bit"
    PSU - Corsair VX550

    -edit-

    I don't think this error is crashing Max Payne 3, I tried to play Call of Duty 5 and it works. Event Viewer is still filled with errors about "ATIeRecord", what is this?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  8. NiColaoS

    NiColaoS Master Guru

    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    1060 6GB Armor OC

    I get 8.1 on both with a single 7950. So, obviously something is terribly wrong on you.

    Meanwhile, the blurry fonts are extremely bad on IE 10. Disabling HWA or running a specific website in combatibility mode doesn't help like on IE 9/Win7.

    Yesterday, I installed Origin/BF3 and when I tried to update the game, I got 2 times hard-freeze and the OS forced check-disk on boot. I couldn't even reboot normally at the beginning. I think I'll delete Win 8 'cause seemingly at least, both have serious problems ( Win 8 & Drivers ). I run too dual-boot 7/8.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  9. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    I had to stop the AMD External Reporting service from services.msc in order to stop that error. Not sure what it's all about though...
     
  10. SaiBork

    SaiBork Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980Ti Gaming 6G
    If people are unable to get the drivers installed with the setup, try the following.

    - Install using the setup (even though the drivers are not there)
    - Install drivers using the device manager
    - Reboot
    - Install using the setup again

    This gave a fail for me on the drivers, but those are already installed manually. This way it at least gives you all the other required software like the CCC.
     

  11. Life On Mars

    Life On Mars Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    No System
    These installed perfectly fine first time on my setup. Nice image quality and I'm getting better performance in some games, notably Company Of Heroes DX10 maxed AA and Source Games. My CPU seems to be liking this OS very much :)
     
  12. afx01

    afx01 Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD7870 OC 2GB/256bit
    AMD External Events Utility?

    Max Payne 3 not working with this OS/ATI drivers , going back to Win7 :(

    Code:
    - <System>
      <Provider Name="Application Error" /> 
      <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID> 
      <Level>2</Level> 
      <Task>100</Task> 
      <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords> 
      <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-06-03T00:36:32.000000000Z" /> 
      <EventRecordID>1994</EventRecordID> 
      <Channel>Application</Channel> 
      <Computer>George-PC</Computer> 
      <Security /> 
      </System>
    - <EventData>
      <Data>MaxPayne3.exe</Data> 
      <Data>1.0.0.17</Data> 
      <Data>4fc81bbe</Data> 
      <Data>KERNEL32.DLL</Data> 
      <Data>6.2.8400.0</Data> 
      <Data>4fb7156b</Data> 
      <Data>c000041d</Data> 
      <Data>00001000</Data> 
      <Data>d18</Data> 
      <Data>01cd4120e0d99a4b</Data> 
      <Data>G:\Games\Rockstar Games\Max Payne 3\MaxPayne3.exe</Data> 
      <Data>C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\KERNEL32.DLL</Data> 
      <Data>29ed6b66-ad14-11e1-9b66-0040f4cb2427</Data> 
      <Data /> 
      <Data /> 
      </EventData> 
    
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  13. megamaan

    megamaan Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 480 Nitro +
    This driver sucks.
    Use 12.4b for Windows 7. :)
     
  14. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Yup that
    Driver works fine for my 5570, on W8RP.
     
  15. inouext

    inouext Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    R7 Series
    Hi,

    Anyone know how to mod the .inf file to install this drive ?
    I have a HP notebook with 4250m / 5650m.
    4250 – PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9712&SUBSYS_1440103C&REV_00
    5650 – PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68C1&SUBSYS_1440103C&REV_00
    Tried several drivers and nothing worked.
    Tried SaiBork method and nothing :(
    Anyone can help me ?
     

  16. FireFreak111

    FireFreak111 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 660 2GB
    Work fine, only bugs are Medieval 2 Total War turn times are insanely high. OpenGL games Triple Buffering doesnt work (Minecraft) and java games (Minecraft) stutter alot (no vsync).

    Need to test more.
     
  17. SamuelMaki

    SamuelMaki Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Gigabyte 670 OC
    Same thing here... 4200 integrated works with the pre-installed drivers, but I cannot switch to the main gpu 5650m... Tried installing the windows 7 drivers, install manger cannot install them and when I install them through the device manager, I get weird issue, where windows thinks I have two monitors (it uses the default vga driver for the real monitor and lists the 5650m under the fake one...)

    Windows 8 drivers do not even list my card in it... so I will need mobility mod, weird since everything was fine in CP...
     
  18. inouext

    inouext Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    R7 Series
    Same here :(
     
  19. V1tol

    V1tol Master Guru

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    Have a little bug wit this driver. In games (particularly Dirt 3 & Showdown, Max Payne 3) there is no 1920x1080@60 Hz resolution. Only 50 and 59 is present. Maybe tomorrow will try 12.6 beta, to see if it works normally in Win8 and if 60 hz mode is present.
     
  20. loomx

    loomx Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Club3D 7970 RoyalQueen
    Still has the issues with Crysis 2 in High Res/DX11 mode just says resolution is undefined :( same thing happens on my mates PC with Nvidia so might be a Windows 8 issue.

    Anyone know a fix yet?
     

Share This Page