AMD Catalyst (Modified Build)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by TwL, May 29, 2010.

?

Should the Official INF be modified or not ?

Poll closed Jul 21, 2010.
  1. Yes (I want to go through registry and copy GUIDs to .reg file and add changes separately.)

    5 vote(s)
    8.9%
  2. No (Functions should be editable as usual in CCC straight after install.)

    25 vote(s)
    44.6%
  3. Both (I want to have official INF in install, separated modified INF & 'Functions.reg' as choice)

    26 vote(s)
    46.4%
  1. TwL

    TwL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
    Yeah, I know of this kind of issue. The problem is the new CCC, but old behaves like crap so in this driver case it's lose the options or lose the optimize. :(


    Code:
    expand atioglxx.dl_ atioglxx.dll
    Do this from any driver and copy the 'atioglxx.dll' to game folder (perferably also same on 'atiglpxx.dl_'). I'd test v10.4b first google it up and then v9.7. These are major jump versions on ATI. (10.4 WHQL was new set already over 10.4b and v9.8 is a new set above v9.7).

    It doesn't need profiling this is/will be like running 'dirt 2' or 'grid'. So, it's gonna have an issue with processing 'really big one on CFX' where best driver
    they can dump up will be some combination of 10.8b5(10.9a) in the DX10-11 drivers.

    Working on it I think I can improve these kind of games on single cards at least quite a bit.
     
  2. felang

    felang Master Guru

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 680
    I see, Actually DX11 comes disabled by default for this game (apparently still has quite a few bugs, not that it matters in my case HD4850s so DX9 only as game only supports DX9 and DX11 I think). Will try to force Dirt 2 crossfire profile to see if it helps at all... Thanks for the quick reply though...
     
  3. Hoodwink

    Hoodwink Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 780
    Managed to replicate this 2d clock bug for the first time today. Only happens in windowed mode when msi afterburner is enabled. I'll keep monitoring this to see if it is consistent to only these two together, probably just windowed mode on its own.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  4. Eoma

    Eoma Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 1070 SJS
    Are you extending your display into another monitor/tv ? I came across a post explaining that Avivo doesn't work if the combined res if above a certain figure (3yyyx2yyy or something). Try disabling the extra display and open CCC again, they should be selectable now. it worked for me.
     

  5. TwL

    TwL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
    @commonly

    Current now added drivers:
    Ok, stabilized build v4.22a is now up and I created very small 5.4 MB patch for simply patch the previous v4.20 to v4.22a. The patching might need reboot
    (shouldn't, but there definedly is an effect). New build we will be using very fast error correction. There's always errors, so, main question is how fast can
    be stabilize the hardware against those errors. So, we will be using now 10.7/10.9a/10.9/10.4a CCC:s to get features working and to stabilize the processing.

    Ideally Catalyst AI should be disabled on this build as it slows down. So, if anyone is running Vantage make sure you disable the Catalyst AI. (I ain't kidding :) )

    Future of development:

    We will be moving to another driver out of the CCC v10.9(a) builds. This new driver behaves extremely bad when added some real performance under the hood.
    Ideally best builds are from the so called '10.7a' driver branch(as I like to call it) as it can stand the heat unlike the new CCC 10.9(a) editions + there an
    bonus in that serie as there actually is an updated version to boost the speed further and now that I know where to look for processing I think I can build
    better build upon other drivers.

    I did quite an testing upon the 10.9(& a) and there is an huge locked speed in these which is incredible bad + the new profiling sucks (hell it's even worst than no profiling at all. This is what happens when you stop developing drivers).
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  6. CoMa666

    CoMa666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7970 Dual-x Boost
    Oh mate, great drivers, but i have a problem that i can't fix... with noone drivers... i have CTD and many with hd 5870 crossfire in the game battlefield bad company 2.
    Someone know a true way to fix this and at same times use the new drivers sets?
     
  7. TwL

    TwL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
    You don't even tell us what's the problem. So, it's damn hard to consider fixing/understanding it.
     
  8. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    382
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    How do we extreme delete them? :D
     
  9. TwL

    TwL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
    Well, the point in there is that when you activate an 'Catalyst AI' it will allow you to process AAs and AFs and so on clean. The Profiling is damn horrid. So,
    to get clean you would need to get rid of 'atiapfxx.exe' and 'atiapfxx.blb'. However, there's an extra but in this basically best plan would have 'some files'
    in there and that's v10.2 CCC application profiles (less the better).

    Anyway, it's too much trouble to go this far and I think it's better to just let people settle with the 'newest' even while they suck.

    (Under crossfirex of course this is a whole another matter as the profiling itself tells CFX what to multi-thread, but under single card condition these profiles ATI creates are only an extra bag of load while loading game.)

    @commonly

    Hmm, note to people playing BF:BC2. You really now wanna check your memory speed of your hardware under v4.22a. Any extra Mhz on memory
    clock will make the game jump because it has to correct. However, this is how the driver should work and the game improves after some play time as it
    'learns' to correct errors faster. There's always errors no question about it.

    -edit-

    -50 Mhz on Memory clock below your highest benchmark stable OC would be pretty ideal.

    (This is due usage of ATI new 'improved' DirectX driver. Older DX1x based drivers worked just fine to clean higher clocks 10.9a will not.)
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  10. FDisk

    FDisk Master Guru

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX970 OC 4GB
    Is there anything we can actually use to run some benchmark and see the error log of the corrected errors. This could be very helpful with memory overclocking.
     

  11. TwL

    TwL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
    Sadly, no as ATI has not revealed specs to public on the subject. Further more the memory is in 4x256MB blocks and OpenCL cannot detect usage levels. So,
    perhaps someone can beg ATI to release mod their drivers to have memory usage checking or correct it to OpenCL.

    If I could I would include how to check the ATI memory at all on first page, but as of yet it's a no go.

    @commonly

    Question ?

    Would you guys prefer if we would have DirectX 9 and 10-11 drivers separately?

    Examples:
    I mean ATI Driver team seems to have this weird style of creating drivers either pushed to DX9 or DX10-11, but never both. (like example 10.7a/10.8/10.9 = clean DirectX 10-11 driver, 10.4a/10.6b/10.8b6/10.9a = clean DX9 driver).

    As I am seeing currently I have been endlessly trying to get entire DirectX functional with 1 single driver (to multiple setups), but there's this serious
    driver problem I have here. As I can create an DirectX 9 based very fluid driver which will works very well under DX9,10 and have decent gaming
    experience on DX11, but if we switch that around we could have best possible gaming experience to DX10-11 and DX9 wouldn't work at all that
    good. We will never get an true BF:BC2/Dirt 2/etc DX11 driver unless the build against driver which actually threads CFX and doesn't work against us.
     
  12. CoMa666

    CoMa666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7970 Dual-x Boost
    Oh man sorry, i'm italian so not good in english, i just asking some information because in this way i can't play bad company and sc2 with same drivers.Don't be rude that was just a question.
    Anyway sorry.
     
  13. TwL

    TwL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5850 2x6950 + 9800GTX
    As said, lower your memory/GDDR5 clock -50Mhz from however high you are overclocking it. I do understand that 'loading' is slower than on some of
    previous drivers (this is due the new DirectX driver being bad in load times).

    Please use Google Translator, if need to get something specific on screen.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  14. Har3inger

    Har3inger Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 8870m 2GB GDDR5
    Well, my view is biased since my hardware doesn't support DX11, but I think it would benefit 3000 and 4000 series cards to have builds split according to DX9/10 and DX10/11 processing.
     
  15. DarkSilver

    DarkSilver Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GeForce™ GTX 670 JS
    Why need to disable Catalyst AI for the v4.22?
    I heard by enabling Catalyst AI, we got better performance usually?
    I even tested myself on other CCC. The result shown Catalyst AI(advance) have better performance on most games. But, for Genetix v4.22, is it have bugs or something with the Catalyst AI? So, we can't enable it?
     

  16. MadelineX

    MadelineX Master Guru

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 295x2
    Hmmm... BFBC2 is experiencing CTD after the update is applied.

    It's runs well for about 5-10 minutes and then crashes out. The average time between CTD's seems to be shrinking as well.

    Also, once again, MSI reports that the second GPU is being utilized 10% less than GPU 1. Perhaps the profiles are the culprit (as you stated already.)

    so... not overclocked, smooth performance until crash, strange sync issue.

    It's good fun trying out new drivers though. Danke!


    *addendum - I vote for keeping the drivers in one package. I have a wide array games that run the gambit of Direct X.

    *extra issues (because you love them so): AA doesn't appear to be working anymore in dx9/11. AF seems stuck at one level as well. The lack there of, is noticeable in game (dragon age/bf) and also in the CCC. When adjusting AA for example, the New Settings window on the right does not show a graphical update as it did before. It retains the same IQ of the Current Setting window on the left.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  17. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    482
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    This i hard to consider, there are ppl like me that play DX9-10-10.1-11 games and others that only do DX9 or 11.
    If your current drivers works well in every DX level, you should keep it this way.

    That's my 2 cents.

    Btw, how do i delete the APP profiles? I updated to 4.22a.

    Thank you :D


    Edit:

    Done. Profiles deleted.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  18. CoMa666

    CoMa666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7970 Dual-x Boost
    Yes exactly, i have 2 hd 5870 and bd do the same, i tried with one card with same drivers and no more ctd, so it's a crossfire bug related, i see when the game run in crossfire the loading maps it's not costant, seems in crossfire there are problems in loading and then return in desktop... maybe overclock the memory of the gpu?
     
  19. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    382
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Figured how to get to the atiapfxx.blb
    The exe is there to convert it into editable form and back.
    Looks like they got a real weird way to index content in xml, can be done much faster.
    Time to rip out some profiles :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  20. junior_clk

    junior_clk Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    TwL: do i read it correctly in your first post that you are gonna use 10.7a in new builds?
    if so, what does that meen for the x2 users among us regarding to the 2gpu not upscaling in 3d games?
     

Share This Page