AMD Catalyst 8.93 (Nov. 18)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by marthand, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,556
    Likes Received:
    473
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    Performance loss in Skyrim and two crashes so far. I knew I shouldn't have changed my drivers. At least there haven't been any BSoDs because of this... yet.
     
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Does the game lock up and then CTD? That's what I'm getting...
     
  3. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,556
    Likes Received:
    473
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    CTD?

    It just randomly crashed when I was in Whiterun so I restarted it and it crashed again. Whiterun's entrance where the fire pots (whatever they're called) are is the only place (that I remember) which I don't get 60fps (because of the smoke? I have no idea why). It was 50-55fps with 11.10 and with this driver it's 38-40. Other places so far I don't notice since I had plenty of GPU resources left to go over 60fps previously so even with performance loss it's still 60fps.

    Edit: Crash to desktop? No, mine just screws up and locks up, I have to end task to close it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2011
  4. CoffeeCrazy

    CoffeeCrazy Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA NVIDIA 660 Ti
    Curious, would Atiman Uninstaller work as well? Just wondering since I use it and am familiar with it.
     

  5. sisnow

    sisnow Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 6970 CF 2GB
    i am so lucky that see the post introducing the right method to unintall the 8.93 before i am considering swithcing to 11.11a
     
  6. rstalcup

    rstalcup Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX980Ti STRIX 6gb ea
    Thanks Great Drivers

    Thanks Marthand these are the best yet on my Alienware M17x Laptop, I am very happy with them. It is a shame so many don't want to share in these. Marthand both you and Asder00 keep up the good work.

    For those of you with Skyrim on a 64bit system do yourselves a favor and Google 4gb Skyrim fix and you will stop crashing to the desktop. this Issue was fixed on all of my win7 64bit systems. Take some time and research so you understand 32/64bit memory issues.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2011
  7. xfrgtr

    xfrgtr Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1080 gtx
    Same here,these are the best on my laptop.
     
  8. Cyris

    Cyris Master Guru

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 TI
    Can we enable the MultiThreadedRendering for BF3 over the blb file? When we convert the blb to a XML File, to edit these.

    XML File
    Code:
    <area Name="UDX" Privacy="Defined">
    			<property Type="String">NumQuerySlots</property>
    			<property Type="String">DeferFreeMaxSz</property>
    			<property Type="String">DeferFreeMaxNum</property>
    			<property Type="String">DeferFreeEnable</property>
    			<property Type="String">MLFEnable</property>
    			<property Type="String">OccluQueryValue</property>
    			<property Type="String">VamEnable</property>
    			<property Type="String">HwDynVbMinSize</property>
    			<property Type="String">BltSrcFlipOpt</property>
    			<property Type="String">NonLocalStatVB</property>
    			<property Type="String">ForceATMOff</property>
    			<property Type="String">P2PBaseSurfOnly</property>
    			<property Type="String">RotationMgpu</property>
    			<property Type="String">SurfProfile</property>
    			[B]<property Type="String">MTOff</property>[/B]
    			<property Type="String">MaxGPUs</property>
    			<property Type="String">DRMDMABlt</property>
    			<property Type="String">SuperAA</property>
    			<property Type="String">ForcedAA</property>
    			<property Type="String">CFAACaps</property>
    			<property Type="String">CFAA</property>
    			<property Type="String">SlsMgpu</property>
    			<property Type="String">CompatAFRFlags</property>
    			<property Type="String">MgpuEnable</property>
    			<property Type="String">Alias</property>
    			<property Type="String">Version</property>
    		</area>
    and
    Code:
    <profile Area="UDX" Usage="MTOff" Notes="MultiThread Off">
    			<value Property="Version">1</value>
    			<value Property="MTOff">True</value>
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  9. asder00

    asder00 Don Di Driver Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64 Liquid
    I see what you did there, maybe something like this could make it work?
    Too bad there is no MTOn :/
    Maybe its not even what we think it is :/
    Code:
    <application Title="Battlefield 3" File="BF3.exe">
    <use Area="CFX">Battlefield 3Profile</use>
    <use Area="PXDynamic">HighPerfGPUAffinity</use>
    add this line:  <use Area="UDX">MTOff</use>
    
    <profile Area="UDX" Usage="MTOff" Notes="MultiThread Off">
    <value Property="Version">1</value>
    change true to false <value Property="MTOff">False</value>
    Anyways there are so many nice things we can do now.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  10. Cyris

    Cyris Master Guru

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 TI
    Yes i will try it tomorrow.. because i am not at home :/
    But I have found this here, in a old Catalyst driver C6.4..

    Code:
    "MTEnable"=dword:00000001
    "MTMaxWorkerThreads"=dword:00000002
    "MTMinWorkerThreads"=dword:00000004
    Therefore, I believe we must use MTEnable instead of MTOn, and add this in the registry.

    But i have compiled both, for testing.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011

  11. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,711
    Likes Received:
    412
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    As far as I know it's just a dword for:
    MTEnable
    MTMaxWorkerThreads
    MTMinWorkerThreads

    MTEnabled would be set to 1 to enable. The other 2 would be based on your CPU. You place it in the /0000/ subkey where your Cat features are found. But it's not clear if it works with BF3 though.
     
  12. asder00

    asder00 Don Di Driver Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64 Liquid
    This is very old stuff not even used anymore, don't remember where i read about that, but you can skip this.
     
  13. Ageratos

    Ageratos New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 6550M
    Am on Cat 8.93 and i have in my registry.

    "MTEnable"=dword:00000001
    "MTMaxWorkerThreads"=dword:00000008
    "MTMinWorkerThreads"=dword:00000002

    Edit: I've tested with MSI konbustor(DX11) AVG Fps= 79 (On/Off)
    with Stone Giant With MT gives me 29-30Fps while without MT gives me 30-31Fps.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011
  14. spyre

    spyre Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 6990 and 6970 TF
    Those were for forcing multithreading which is supported by default in the drivers and has been for some time. Has dick all to do with threaded command lists.
     
  15. evohan

    evohan Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus DCU2 GTX670 4GB SLI
    is this active CFX in Skyrim ?
     

  16. blacblu

    blacblu Guest

    You were losting the monitor signal with a message saying something about the refresh rate?
     
  17. saif

    saif Master Guru

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 280X DualX OC
    Hi all I need your help!

    After I uninstalled these drivers (not happy with them after some benchies), my screen colors got corrupted and nothing was legible.

    Running safe mode made it work. So I cleaned my drivers using Driver Cleaner Pro and got everything back to life.

    The issue occurs when installing 11.11 official drivers, I get 'The INF file was not found'. And I am not able to install anything :(

    I'll try disabling my av program and with older driver packages

    PS. Ok, seems that 11.6 Work fine. I will install 11.11 over these then.

    PS2. Seems that even after 11.6 I can't install 11.11s. Same error message.
    Going to try "Correctly" uninstalling AMD package.

    PS3. Guess I'm stuck with 11.6 package :(


    --


    Well.. can't say I complain, 11.6s work awesome with skyrim. No choppiness.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011
  18. dark_surge

    dark_surge Master Guru

    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1080
    I got about 4fps loss in Saints Row 3 with these versus 11.11b. Though it's not surprising, I thought I'd throw it in anyways. :)

    I never got around to seeing what my fps were in Skyrim with the performance drivers so I can't say if anything has improved or not there.
     
  19. wafu88

    wafu88 Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    DDR3
    Apparently not since it's not performing as it should in Civ 5 or BF3 without the command lists. AMD muli-threading support as is, is broken. No matter what you say. Firaxis Games saying AMD does not support muli-threading is enough, has more weight than the word of some AMD beta tester for me at least.
     
  20. @ST

    @ST Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    660 ti

    http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall
     

Share This Page