AMD Catalyst 16.6.1 Download and Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by jaju123, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,162
    Likes Received:
    2,195
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Minority have this :bang:

    Im Playing Now BF:H with Mantle of course and it's Solid as a Rock as Always !
    I have not seen problems wit it since the Begining of Win_X

    CIV, BF:4, BF:H, Thief, Sniper III works Just Great, and Yes i can't go with Reshade ;-)

    THAT FPS in MANTLE :banana:
     
  2. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    AMD still updating their Mantle driver.

    Nice.
     
  3. Virs

    Virs Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 390
    I do. Even after updating to a new Win10 Insider build, which fixed my issue when installing older drivers, it still won't install this one.

    Edit: After updating to the new W10 build, something did change tho.
    Before, if I tried to manually install the drivers with Device Manager, it would tell me that any driver I had before was better/more recent than 16.6.1.
    After the new build, installing the drivers manually worked and Radeon Settings would show as 16.6.1.
    BUT.
    Once I rebooted, Windows act as if I have no AMD drivers present (Radeon Settings too). If I open Device Manager, I still see the drivers installed, but with a warning on them saying "blabla drivers unsigned blabla".
    Disabling + Enabling the driver again brings it back as active, but a few options are then missing from Radeon Settings.
    Overall, not worth the hassle unless this driver is AMAZING.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  4. SacredKnight27

    SacredKnight27 Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 570 4GB
    Yeah I'm guessing its an Insider Preview issue. I've been using the build for so long I honestly forgot I was even running a beta, heh.
     

  5. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,882
    Likes Received:
    2,250
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    I used to be on fast ring till MS pushed something what I could not get to work.
    There were huge redraw issues on desktop with driver present.
    After about minute or so on desktop, OS become unusable due to that.
    So, I did reinstall and moved to slow ring.
     
  6. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    EDIT: Fixed the issue in this post already by completely uninstalling 3DMark and Installing it again, then installing Firestrike & API Overhead Test again. I'll leave it here though in case anyone needs to know. I assume it happened after the major update to 3DMark in April and change of UI, maybe some files carried over that caused the result page to continuously crash after the API Test.

    Okay guys I have to ask, for the last month or two I cannot get 3DMark API Test to show me the results.

    So after every driver update, I run Firestrike, look at the results, then go and run the API Overhead test and get the result.

    But with the last 3 or 4 drivers, I get the Firestrike result, then 3DMark just hangs (program does not respond) after the API Overhead tests are finished. So it goes to the result page, it hangs, and then just stays like that. I cannot exit 3DMark because it just stops responding.

    Everything else works fine btw, I have no issues with any game or anything. Including with all OTHER 3Dmark tests and their results. Just the API Overhead test causes a hang in 3DMark after it's finished.

    I verified the integrity of application cache (file check-up) using Steam and there's no files missing or anything. No issues. So I don't know what's causing the program to stop responding indefinitely after finishing the API Overhead test successfully.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  7. KyleStilkey

    KyleStilkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+
    Same, I don't know what's changed but I'll keep everyone posted if a driver update fixes it or if it's a Windows Insider issue with the latest fast ring build.

    I'm going with a driver issue as none of the other drivers have had any issues installing but these. I kept getting a Unable to detect Devices and it would close. Looking into this further they updated the atdcm64a.sys and replacing it (with a older driver set) under the Bin64 folder under the driver folder fixes the detection issue and allows for your to install everything like normal, but you still get the driver signature issue as mentioned.

    Only reason I'll be going with these drivers is it fixes a major issue I was having which is when Video plays in a web browser it causes the screen to have major corruption problems.
     
  8. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,971
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Rise of the Tomb Raider Crossfire profile was altered.

    Same with Paragon

    Same with Mirror's Edge Catalyst


    A new Crossfire profile for Dark Souls 3


    A new profile for 3D Mark Time Spy
     
  9. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    134
    GPU:
    RTX 2070
    Dont know, we had some ups and downs on DX11 performance on API test with different drivers, this one improvement seems to be real, at least on The Division i had better fps (around 3-4%), WoW: Legion Beta too seems to work better but i cant tell for sure because ive got fps capped ingame.

    Ill try some TW:Warhammer today and see how it goes.
     
  10. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    589
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    Can i use this program safe with a NON-asus card?

    I have gigabyte 380, Thanks.

    edit: never mind i dont like the UI at all :nerd:
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016

  11. The Creator

    The Creator Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290X
    Any good news about the missing video settings - deinterlace, flesh tone correction, brighter whites, dynamic range, dynamic contrast, de-noise, de-blocking, mosquito noise reduction...? :bang:

    How many years we have to wait these settings to appear in Crimson?
     
  12. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    589
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    23rd May 2016, 17:06 - AMDMatt / about the video settings.

    "I've passed feedback from the community to engineering regarding the video profiles."
     
  13. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb
    Wait! Do you seriously miss those? Or are these stuck at ON and you wish to turn them OFF from the control panel?

    In the latter case, I suggest you use madVR. That's (mostly) unaffected by these settings (excluding de-interlace and level conversion which might be utilized based on the madVR settings).

    You should never use these features. They only make garbage from the source material (all of these are "evil", really - except deinterlace and level conversion where it's necessary).
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  14. THEAST

    THEAST Master Guru

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    HD7950 + HD7970 CF
    ^What he said; there is literally no reason to use anything other than madVR for post-processing/scaling, these days.
     
  15. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,321
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Overall similiar score to previous drivers :

    [​IMG]
     

  16. Carbonic

    Carbonic Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    1080ti
    I have so far not received any screen flicker caused by hardware accelerated HTML5 video which has been there for the last 2 drivers.
     
  17. Biebo

    Biebo Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GPU
    Is triple-buffering for mantle still broken on windows 10?
     
  18. The Creator

    The Creator Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290X
    Of course that I don't use all of them. But I like some of them.
    The problem is that in Crimson there are a few ready presets and I don't like any of them. When I choose custom preset - I can't control all of these missing settings. I want to switch off most of them and to customize the rest.

    Why AMD ruined something good that they had in CCC?!? I hate this Crimson with its "metro" interface.
     
  19. jaju123

    jaju123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290 Crossfire
    If you want video that's actually higher quality, as the others have said, download and use MadVR + MPC-HC (or another video player that supports MadVR). These AMD things just make it worse. Shouldn't use any of them.
     
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,162
    Likes Received:
    2,195
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    As for Mantle in BF series my recomendation for any Problem is:
    DELETE old Mantle cache in:
    c:\Users\**\Documents\BFH\cache\
    or c:\Users\**\Documents\Battlefield 4\cache\

    Make BackUp ! :)

    OR just Copy content to Temp and copy Back after Gaming.
     

Share This Page