AMD Catalyst 15.9.1 Beta Driver

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by OrionCheung, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. Martin.v.r

    Martin.v.r Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 7970 1200/1500
    :)I use watercooling BLACKFYRE
    but it is 24/7 oc http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details.php?id=2wxu4
    no oc tool LIGuitar77

    max clock is 1400MHZ on gpu,If I use oc tool.

    has another card that can provide the same, just missing a pump more, it also comes on the water again
     
  2. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I'll try it. But I am speaking from past experience yes.

    The Gigabyte 7970 OC is hardware locked voltage wise. Even if you flash the Ghz Bios (or another custom bios), and MSI Afterburner reports that the voltage is unlocked, it is still locked.

    Nothing can unlock it. Unless you mod the GPU physically and remove the resistor blocking the extra voltage going to GPU. I researched it a lot around a year or two ago and came to the conclusion that it's impossible (without hardware mod).
     
  3. Groovy-Music

    Groovy-Music Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
    I'm sorry that you're having issues with the voltage

    I have 2 Gigabyte 7970 Windforce3 oc, http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/gigabyte-radeon-hd-7970-oc-windforce-review,1.html
    and they are voltage unlocked since the beginning that I have them...

    [​IMG]

    Thanks to MSI Afterburner, even Hilbert in the review had applied more voltage. Try switching the video card's BIOS switch to the other position.
     
  4. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Yeah I had Rev 1.0 of the videocard and I could do that too when the card first came out. But after a year I took it back to warranty and got Rev 2.0 as a result. By that time Gigabyte the ***holes had already released the GHz edition of the HD7970 and decided to voltage lock the HD7970 OC Edition.

    I highly doubt any of your cards are REV 2.0 or REV 2.1

    Only Rev 1.0 of the card is voltage unlocked. It's not a BIOS issue, or an MSI Afterburner issue. I am pretty sure I researched this and there was a whole thread of 200+ dedicated to testing whether or not REV 2.0 and 2.1 of the card can be voltage unlocked (even those that succeeded in unlocking via BIOS mods) after testing the voltage via hardware, noticed it wasn't actually unlocked.
     

  5. slick3

    slick3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    204
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 +85/1200
    Got home early today! Decided to play CS, dropped a massive 4 frag because my frame rates were on its period for w.e reason, lagged every time I pulled the trigger. Checked driver version, noticed 15.8 Beta was installed for w.e f**king reason when I didn't touch it. Installed 15.9.1, same crap. Thought hardwares gone bad, ran a few benchmarks... some ran fine, some ran like poo. Runs CS again, same stuff happening.

    About to give up hope... when I thought "Hey lets go back to the driver that worked fine" and indeed, 15.7.1 fixes all that.

    MORAL: Don't let Windows pick up and install your stuff! It can save you a few hrs. Sighh...
     
  6. Groovy-Music

    Groovy-Music Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 AERO OC
    I effectively got the REV 1.0 of these cards!

    Damn you Gigabyte for sabotaging older capable cards to make place for the newer ones !!!!

    GRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  7. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    It was really frustrating. Considering I paid $60 extra here in Australia to get the Gigabyte WF when it first came out, only for Gigabyte to be THE ONLY company that ended up hardware voltage locking their 7970 OC WF Edition.

    Simply because anyone could buy it and overclock it to faster speeds than the Ghz Edition (which gigabyte didn't want to allow).
     
  8. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    Red Devil 6800 XT
    These drivers are running pretty well for me.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Jackalito

    Jackalito Master Guru

    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 5700 XT
    Yes, it is.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. BravoFxTrt

    BravoFxTrt Member Guru

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2X MSI R9 280X 6GB
    I like these drivers so far, and they are way better than 15.9 (BF4) crashes, havnt had any crashes with 15.9.1 :banana:
     

  11. shadow_craft

    shadow_craft Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS StiX OC 1070
    my 7950 is still not showing a 12.0 feature level for direct x
     
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Your 7950 doesn't support the 12.0 feature level. 11.1 only. It supports DX12 though so don't worry.
     
  13. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,199
    Likes Received:
    4,254
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Tahiti cards with feature level 11.1 does support DX12.
     
  14. Skinner

    Skinner Master Guru

    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    Radeon VII 16 GB
    Has anybody succeeded in overclocking the memory of the second GPU in case of Crossfire Fury?
    I tried eveything, disable CF, disable ULPS, which failed even after manually disable "enable ULPS" in the registery.
    .
     
  15. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    578
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    This is the main reason I don't touch anything from Gigabyte. They do the same with motherboards too. Rev. 1.0 is fine (so that reviewers get the good stuff), then Rev. 1.xx/2.xx is silently released with worse materials etc, at the same price range. Meanwhile you still believe you get the product that has been (honestly) reviewed as good. There was even a story in Guru3d about it. People in other websites have actually tested two random Gigabyte motherboards that they had the different revisions off, and you can see the results for yourself. It is Sapphire/ASUS/MSI for me, in that order.Kingston is doing the same with SSDs. Even Anandtech had a piece on it.
     

  16. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    AFAIK, DX10 and below do not have feature levels.

    only DX11+
     
  17. dottorfoggy

    dottorfoggy Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti
    terrible frame rate for me, back to 15.7.1
     
  18. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I am not surprised with my past experiences with Gigabyte. I think from now on it's going to be ASUS for me. Even my current motherboard, I bought it because the ASUS I went to buy was out of stock.
     
  19. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    578
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    One of my friends had the same problem with a Gigabyte socket 775 motherboard (as I did), and with a Gigabyte GTX 560Ti. Truly bad experiences, and all of them weren't 1.0 revisions.
     
  20. millibyte

    millibyte Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    2070 subpar RTX OFF
    That's good to know, thanks for the heads up. I've always liked Sapphire and Asus, haven't bought an MSI card yet.
     

Share This Page