AMD Catalyst 15.7.1

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fish, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    1070Ti Phoenix
    my gpu downclocks to base 3D clock in 3dmark 11, meaning - it's not using boost clock at all. It did that with every driver I had so far. That's what you are getting, base 3D clock for your card(s). Those can vary depending on manufacturer and bios.

    you can see the list of some of them here: http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/2466/radeon-r9-270x.html
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  2. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ive had 1800p on my 1080p monitor since the beginning so it certainly has nothing to do with 1440p monitors.
     
  3. afaque

    afaque Member Guru

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x1300/g210/hd5750/r9280x
    can anyone tell me that they have amdkmdap driver crashes whiles gaming with this driver?
     
  4. Sdar

    Sdar Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 7950 boost
    To all the users having problems with firefox, just read the release notes of this drivers:

     

  5. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    Me and you have gcn 1.1, me and you and others with r9 290/x and above got 3200x1800 no issues there. What i meant to ask, is if these guys had vsr beyond 1440p on their 1080p with the modded drivers before vsr support included r9 280/x and earlier cards?

    I recall that there were modded version of the 15.3 beta driver that had vsr option unlocked for other gcn cards, and if they were able to get to 3200x1800 with that driver?
     
  6. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ah, gotcha.
     
  7. koniu

    koniu Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3070 OC
    I am confused.

    15.7.1 have dx12 support or not.
    dxdiag showing DirectX 12 in system but only 11.1 feature level support and GPU-Z showing only DirectX 11.2 support.:3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  8. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    They are not updated to show DX12 levels yet.

    Its there.

    The DX12 overhead tests run just fine in 3dmark.
     
  9. HerrFornit

    HerrFornit Active Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD7790-DC2OC-2GD5
    try to increase the minimal 2D clock of GPU one step (me 550 Hz) and perhaps the GDDR clock to max
    check it out
     
  10. rafaapm

    rafaapm Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7950
    What is the best for win 10?

    This or the ones from windows update?? thanks!
     

  11. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64
    Well obviously these newer ones will have some improvements
     
  12. prazola

    prazola Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
    This driver has broken something with my card or windows. Asus R9 290 DCU2.
    1055 DDU removal, 15.7.1 install and PC freezed with black screen, keyboard light blocked on nothing to do but reset.
    I can't even go back to 1055 without a complete windows reinstall.
     
  13. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64
    Did your pc have any issues what so ever before switching drivers? Its got to be very rare all that form just a driver switch...How does the new driver do on a clean install?
     
  14. prazola

    prazola Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
    On clean install same error: unable to read from device (during manual installation, only vga driver).
    I've just tried on another PC, same error. Can this be related to Asus custom BIOS?

    Inb4 never got any issues on my cfg and the card always run quiet and cool.
     
  15. Dr451

    Dr451 Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte AMD R9 270X 2GB
    This driver not include AMD AVT GPU Acceleration for recording Video.
     

  16. freeman94

    freeman94 Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR
    What did you mean by that?
    Did you mod your bios with some tweaks in it, or downlaod pre-tweak custom asus bios file?
    If that so, it's likely the main problem, as The drivers have problem detecting the graphic card.
    I would do flash latest official bios from your manufacturer, use DDU and install the drivers once again.
    I don't belive the bios mod/custom firmware is safe. It could bring more issues then benefits.

    BTW. I know some people tweak the bios to setup the custom clock, voltage, and fan control without any additional app, but I don't understand why is it a problem as you install e.x MSI Afterburner, set it up, and that's all.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  17. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    The HD6000 GPU's in older APU's are actually based on the 5000 series of cards. My HD6620G (pretty much equivalent to an HD5650 discrete card) in my Llano APU laptop is as well as the 6320 being asked about. I still use the 13.4 driver on that machine because anything newer doesn't seem to work right and really provides no improvements for older APU's anyway since they do not support GCN. That machine still runs Win 7 and probably will not be upgraded due to application compatibility issues.

    The newer driver will provide no improvements to an HD6320. I got the 13.4 driver working in 8.1 on another machine so I'm sure it can work in Windows 10. You don't always need the newest driver if you are using older hardware. Personally, I wouldn't bother upgrading a machine with that E4 APU anyway but I guess that's just me.

    Actually the 6320 is based on older architecture than I thought. This comes from notebookcheck.net.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
  18. normal3e

    normal3e New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 270x 2gb CFX
    15.7.1 I went from:
    1 127 978 ST
    1 010 096 MT
    on W7
    To
    927 356 ST
    939 214 MT
    on W10

    I tried reinstalling drivers, but no difference...
     
  19. prazola

    prazola Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
    No, I mean that the card has a custom board with a custom BIOS from Asus, I remember that a lot of BIOS from other brands won't work on my card and not because of memory or gpu rev.
    And I remember that some drivers ago I needed to control fan with 3rd party software because it was stuck at 50%, fixed with next release from AMD.
     
  20. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,940
    Likes Received:
    535
    GPU:
    .
    Catalyst 15.7 and beyond and any driver for GCN GPUs you will find on WIndows Update comes with built-in DirectX 12 graphics support.
     

Share This Page