AMD Catalyst 15.7.1

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fish, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. moaka

    moaka Master Guru

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 ti MSI GX
    Here in 1080p : [​IMG]
     
  2. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,575
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Resolution does not matter with the API overhead test. It's a CPU overhead test. I'd leave it at 1280x720 just because it's the default setting or run it at your monitors native resolution.

    640x480:
    [​IMG]
    8192x4608:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    So, cpu overhead test purely depends on the cpu and it's nothing to do with the used gpu?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
  4. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64
    incorrect....they both matter. And you will get somewhat different scores at higher display settings. .
     

  5. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,575
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    The test is for CPU overhead.

    Look at the images.
     
  6. ReaperXL2

    ReaperXL2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2
    theoneofgod is correct...

    The function of the 3dmark api overhead test is to test the competent function of the Windows 10 native DX12 api with regard to rendering DX11, DX12, Mantle architectures...

    The competency of the Gpu embedded DX12 compatible api is of no significance whatsoever...

    The test is run solely on the Cpu. The function of the Gpu is merely incidental and also required for us to see the test in action & view the results...

    You will notice that when the test is run, your GPU will remain at its default clock speed, regardless of overriding OC settings... That is because your card never enters it's full 3D mode during the test... It is not required for any rendering tasks other than to display a pre-rendered image (Cpu-rendered)... Thus it remains at its default clock speed...

    EDIT !!!
    ======

    Ok, afaik, we do not yet have bench software that can exclusively test the rendering competency of a given Gpu using its embedded DX12 compatible API...

    Please correct me if I am wrong... :3eyes: (I have consulted 3dmark tech manual. It only supports DX11.1 feature level at Gpu level)...

    EDIT 2 !!!
    =======

    Now today 07/07/2015, UE4 DX12 tech demo is available for testing GPU embedded DX12 compatible API...

    After running both DX11 & DX12 tests, it is evident that developers are gonna need some time to get DX12 implementation right on the GPU side of things...

    DX11 renders the demo far more efficiently giving a far higher final FPS when compared to the DX12 implementation...

    *** End of edit 2 ***


    Ok, I think I have said enough :eek:

    Stay breezy n be lucky :cheers:

    Peace :thumbup: :toke:
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015
  7. moaka

    moaka Master Guru

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 ti MSI GX
    My best FPS ever in GTA V [​IMG] , really amazing i gained 20-28 fps ( IN AVERAGE ) gpu usage is really good 2 ! up 60-70% to 80-95%

    FPS min : 83
    FPS max : 163

    In 1080p max settings .
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2015
  8. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,575
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
  9. potatochobit

    potatochobit Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    Ok, Ive been using this driver for a few days now
    these new 15.7.1 drivers have been working great

    I had audio problems in the previous 15.7 using the display port that did not occur in 15.6
     
  10. leszy

    leszy Master Guru

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Sapphire V64 LC
    Compare API Overhead test on NV and AMD cards with the same processor, to compare this "merely incidental" GPU role:)
     

  11. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,645
    Likes Received:
    578
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
  12. jaju123

    jaju123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290 Crossfire
    Is MadVR broken for anyone else? Just freezes after a minute or so.
    On W10 that is.
     
  13. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,575
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    The drivers are what causes the big difference.
     
  14. 89dead89

    89dead89 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970m
    any news about a new driver?
     
  15. nevernamed

    nevernamed Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 TI FTW3
    These drivers are causing artifacting on my desktop at random times. Sometimes immediately, sometime an hour after bootup. Its evident with a window open, and clicking my left mouse button, lines and boxes start to flicker on the desktop. if i drag and move anything around the whole screen starts to glitch out and eventually a hard crash occurs.

    I have removed twice with DDU, reinstalled, same issue.. Thought it was originally outlook, teamviewer and afterburner causing the issues, but trying 15.7 has relieved all the symptoms I have been experiencing.
     

  16. leszy

    leszy Master Guru

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Sapphire V64 LC
  17. Vidar

    Vidar Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GeForce GTX970 Strix
    [​IMG]

    Why doesn't dxdiag detect feature level 12_0?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  18. jaju123

    jaju123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290 Crossfire
    The cards don't have it that's why. But 11_1 still works with most of DX12.
     
  19. AlleyViper

    AlleyViper Master Guru

    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    Strix 2070S A|480 X
    These 15.7.1 drivers cause graphic glitches in Assetto Corsa 1.2.3 when running under W10 x64. Current WU drivers have the same problem too.
    It happens mostly in Nordschleiffe with many AI cars, or in MP. Random poly surfaces will appear across the track, sometimes blocking view. On MP it's most noticeable the more cars on track, making it even worse than offline.

    Edit: It doesn't happen with same driver version under W8.1.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015
  20. Vidar

    Vidar Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GeForce GTX970 Strix
    Thanks. I just tested DX12 in 3dmark and it worked.

    Do you happen to have GTA5? I just bought this card and the game always crashes about 20 to 60 minutes in. I've tried installing drivers 15.7 but for whatever reason it just doesn't install the display driver. Anyone else having issues on GTA5 with 15.7.1?
     

Share This Page