AMD Catalyst 15.7.1

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fish, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    Thanks! totally forget about that...:)
     
  2. IceVip

    IceVip Master Guru

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    I feel the need to ask since its my first time doing this API overhead test.
    I installed windows 10 X64 Pro, then installed 15.7.1, ran the test and the
    results were fine for mantle and dx12, but dx11 not so much.

    [​IMG]

    I reinstalled the drivers with DDU and installed them again, score didn't change.
    Is this normal? because compared to most of the 290/290x users, i seem
    like the only one under 1mil right now :D.
     
  3. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    CPU maybe?
    Most are running that bench using an intel i7 or oc'd i5.
     
  4. IceVip

    IceVip Master Guru

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Is there anyone that did the test recently with a 290/290x and a FX series?
     

  5. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    Not sure, but what you can ask, is if anyone with a core i5 say 3570k and ask them if they would run it on a lower clock.

    I would do it, but i haven't installed win 10 and i don't have the retail version of 3d mark.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  6. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    I do but I am running the latest AMD drivers from Microsoft Update Catalog.

    R9 290 (OC 1050/1300) ATM with FX 8120 (OC 4.3 GHz)

    MY R9 290X died yesterday due to a transformer blowing up on the pole outside, luckly my R9 290 survived unscathed.

    Drivers are 15.200.1065.0000 Date July 21, 2015

    Seriously I am not sure why there is no interest in these drivers as they are all signed...cover win 10 to 7 and seem to pretty much have install ini/setup catalogs for tons of cards even older ones.

    Also my FX is a different generation then yours.

    Here are the API results yesterday I ran after my card blew up:
    http://www.3dmark.com/aot/55369

    http://www.3dmark.com/aot/55209
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  7. ReaperXL2

    ReaperXL2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2

    Regarding the quoted post...

    That .cab file relates to the free microsoft DVD player available to certain versions of windows 10 RTM.

    The .cab file is only 9mb in size and using pkmgr to view it shows only the dvd player is in the .cab file... There are no AMD display driver components contained within the .cab file...

    Also upon installing the .cab file you will be informed that your current OS needs to have a valid microsoft DVD player licence on the system or it will not install :bang:

    if however I am doing something wrong when viewing the contents of the .cab, which results in me not seeing the GPU components, then please feel free to correct me :thumbup:

    Allas, no new driver higher than 15.7.1 for me right now...

    Stay breezy n be lucky :cheers:

    Peace :thumbup: :toke:
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  8. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Mine download was 118 MB pack...446MB unpacked and does contain the drivers as I have install them. The DVD ones were wrong...

    [​IMG]

    Microsoft Update Center
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  9. ReaperXL2

    ReaperXL2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2
    Thanx for replying bro...

    Please don't get me wrong. I'm not saying you are wrong, but that I have downloaded the file from the links provided x64 version, but all I get is a 9mb .cab file containing a god damned dvd player :(

    Any new direction from you as to how I get the correct .cab would be great bro ;)

    stay breezy n be lucky :cheers:

    Peace :thumbup: :toke:
     
  10. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    I updated it...the correct place is Microsoft update catalog. I ran across it on another website...which lead me to the Microsoft Update center...I just forgot to remove those first links after adding the correct one. But yes you were correct the original ones I posted were for some dvd thing. These are actual drivers... really need the experts looking at these downloads as there are tons of supported cards across win versions.

    It took me a couple of hours going through all the setup catalogs in the main download to find the correct one for my GPU ID ie 67B1, these are also for APU and APUs with discrete cards and seems like more.

    https://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/Search.aspx?q=15.200.10
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015

  11. ReaperXL2

    ReaperXL2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2
    Appreciated bro :thumbup:

    exactly which of the 8 versions available did you actually download ? just so I'm sure I've got the same package before I play around with it :)

    Peace :toke:
     
  12. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    From what I saw the very first one...since I am using win 10. It has a couple of hundred set up ini's in it, and they do varry...most are OEM specfic.

    Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. - Graphics Adapter WDDM1.1, Graphics Adapter WDDM1.3, Graphics Adapter WDDM2.0 - AMD HSA (with WDDM)

    The others ones are either specific cards or previous Win version.

    This is the particular set up file I used...C0187229 have to install by right clicking and install.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  13. IceVip

    IceVip Master Guru

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Thank you for the results and I'm sorry for your r9 290x.. I installed 2 weeks ago
    a ACX4 on mine and the VRM temps are going so crazy right now that i feel
    like I'm about to kill mine.
     
  14. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    No worries...RMA as I am just guessing that is what took it out. I just do not have any recent results with just my r9 290. For both of these cards I could not seem to get my VRM temps to go above 62 or 63 and the highest I was able to push the core was 78 on stock air, ( I think I hit 79 once) no matter the voltages and clocks I would push.
     
  15. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    I can reach 80 with VRM easily. I mean with the default fan curve, with a custom-lowered curve it goes even further.
     

  16. IceVip

    IceVip Master Guru

    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Ya'll talking about 80c on the vrms and here i am sitting with 120, ggwp.
     
  17. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    Ehh, that's NOT GOOD! :(
     
  18. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    IceVIP : ACX4 is not good choice for AMD cards.

    Best would be Alpenföhn peter 2
    or
    Gelid Ivy Vision 2 with Gelid VRM Cooling Enhancement Kit.
     
  19. ReaperXL2

    ReaperXL2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2

    Ok, so I installed the package you named, only I used device manager by pointing at the amd folder, not a specific .inf...

    After the system scanned through many infs, it installed this :

    [​IMG]

    My GPU is listed to the left... Wtf is this Rage_6 business :eek3:

    other than that puzzling bit of info, everything is working as it should :thumbup: although I did not get a CCC, I installed 15.7.1 CCC till I work out where it is (would rather have it up to date)...

    Will API test it now & post results as compared to previous drivers...

    Stay Breezy n Be Lucky :cheers:

    Peace :toke:
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  20. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    /edit hmm I just noticed your Audio driver is 10.0.0.0 did not update...Mine is: AMD Audio Driver Version 10.0.0.01
    might be that version. I tried several different ones...and would get different features.

    That is pretty much how I did it. I then did a ddu uninstall...installed the driver though device manager...then ran 15.7.1 installer for the rest just to see...but unticked the display driver in the CCC installer. Both ways worked.

    Rage 6 is some OEM, as you look through the setup, every OEM is listed and different ones have different different installs. That is why I am hoping the experts like asder might take a look.

    Mine is: Driver Packaging Version 15.20.1065-150721a-187229C-ATI

    Yeah this is just strickly a driver package no CCC install included.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015

Share This Page