AMD Catalyst (15.200.1012.2 March 11) Win 8.1 Mod - VSR for HD7/R7/R9 & FPS limiter

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Mar 23, 2015.

Tags:
  1. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,619
    Likes Received:
    475
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    It's also working with 15.3 Beta.
     
  2. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,867
    Likes Received:
    735
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    This is seriously awesome. This means we don't need the 15.200 any more, but we can install 15.3.1 directly.

    Powershell magic :D

    That's a good question, but it definitely changes when you switch VSR on and off.

    Now we need to locate that FPS limiter and it's mission accomplished :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2015
  3. dmr2

    dmr2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280x
    Any way to add vsr on win7 64bit?
     
  4. shadow_craft

    shadow_craft Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS StiX OC 1070
    not working in windows 10
     

  5. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,867
    Likes Received:
    735
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    Which part? There is a batch file that automates things, but I have tested on Win 8.1.1 x64.

    The only sure way is the manual way for now.
     
  6. shadow_craft

    shadow_craft Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS StiX OC 1070
    I tried your automated cmd with the modded driver, it said success, reboot, no option

    tried manually with original driver from windows update, no go

    will try once more with modded driver manually and report back

    EDIT:

    nope, not working on Windows 10 build 10041
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2015
  7. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    1070Ti Phoenix
    sorry, I need to ask: What do I need to do to make it work for radeon 270? I tried it on regular driver and I do not get the extra resolution. :/ I did get VSR with moded driver. (I am on win 8.1 x64)
     
  8. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Looks like the VSR string is bestviewoption. I'll see if I can enable it.
     
  9. lycanwrath

    lycanwrath Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8GB ref
    Great to see the progress on unlocking VSR for different cards.

    Can some likewise mod/fix via registry enable the Framerate Limiter for different cards as well? :)
     
  10. Dmented

    Dmented Master Guru

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1080 ROG Strix
    Is there any way to get 4k and 144hz on VSR?
     

  11. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Sorry i'm lost.

    Can someone please explain the process step by step with this code and what exactly this code does?

    Is it able to add VSR res to any reg for any AMD GPU?

    Is 15.2 modded driver needed in the process?

    I mean install 15.2 then aply then chage to 15.3.???

    It exports values then import values to reg or simply add universal reg values?

    It work only on HDMI or it can Works also on DP?

    What about VGA?

    :confused:
     
  12. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
  13. dejan_ibanez

    dejan_ibanez Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 290X
    this is awesome, 4k vsr for 290 but it is not working properly

    I have r9 290x, VSR works in windows, 4K VSR works in windows, but resolutions are not listed in far cry 4, cannot select more than 1920x1080....??
     
  14. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I saw somewhere that is a specific problem from FC4 not VSR problem.
     
  15. dejan_ibanez

    dejan_ibanez Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 290X
    i've tried other games, same thing, no VSR

    ok I even tried exporting my edid, and add the VSR resolutions manually with registry key, same thing, in windows all the resolutions are listed including 4k VSR, and they are working. but in games NO VSR. weird...?

    it must be the modded driver problem..
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2015

  16. Garwinski

    Garwinski Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    XFX Fury X
    My resolution is 1920x1080, and I used

    /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/Class/{4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}/0000 (the one from catalyst)

    and

    Registry Location: System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{0F691078-BE7A-4C6E-B3B3-17B8642A4D3E}\0000 (the one from radeon pro)

    The automated function did not work for me either.
     
  17. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Looks as if one line in the display folder was edited, normally u go into CCC GIU folder also to enable a hidden setting.

    I don't know the VSR value but it's only like 1 line. Someone with ADL handy might know. Asder maybe?
     
  18. jeckop

    jeckop Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xR9-290-H2O@1100/1400
    I've the same problem, VSR working on desktop but not in any game or application.
     
  19. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    You'll need to edit UMD folder for gaming.
     
  20. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I assume your problem is using VSR in modded Windows 10 driver in Windows 8.1.

    Did you try to use 15.3.1 with the VSR reg modification values from modded driver to see if it works better for you?

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5036434&postcount=109
     

Share This Page