AMD Catalyst (15.200.1012.2 March 11) Win 8.1 Mod - VSR for HD7/R7/R9 & FPS limiter

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Mar 23, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    Dude if the normal crossfire profile doesn't work for Unity use BF4.exe predefined crossfire profile, it works super good. (Seriously).

    About this VSR, WTF!!!!! IT WORKS!?!? This is my ****ing reaction right now. And all this talk about the scaler, wtf? .. Lol..

    How did this magical driver do it lol, I'm amazed... But as I'm already running 2560x1440 would I be able to run more than that? o,O Since.. 2560x1440 seems to be the limit for you guys, strange.

    Anyways, amazed. Happy PrMinister? :D

    ****ing amazing driver tbh.
     
  2. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    can't hurt to try :)

    good luck
     
  3. DrunkenDonkey

    DrunkenDonkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2xPC 290 PCS+
    There are 2 ways to make VSR - one using the hardware scaler (faster) and second - using software shaders (slower, think GeDoSaTo). I guess they just added the shaders scaling on cards that do not have the proper hardware scaler.
     
  4. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    well why do they not say that, instead of saying its only supported on a few cards and we are working on a software solution... when its already there?

    does not make sense at all
     

  5. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,979
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    980
    Interesting that frame rate limiter I want. But really I guess these would be in next drivers or amd ****ed up something.
     
  6. Garwinski

    Garwinski Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    XFX Fury X
    Does this driver also have the crossfire profiles of the release of 20 march? I am curious about the VSR and if it really makes a difference, even though it will only go 1440P max on my cards.
     
  7. Babel-17

    Babel-17 Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 FE
    Thanks!
    So far, so good, I loaded up Batman Arkham Asylum, and a Crysis 2 benchmark, and these drivers, with VSR enabled, are working and I was able to select 2560 x 1440 as a resolution. I did what was instructed except I installed on top of the latest beta drivers.
     
  8. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    That sounds logic.

    - VSR hardware downsampling using hardware scaler.

    Is someone able to point to the specific location of this "hardware scaler" on 285, 290 or 290x GPU?

    - Software downsampling for 7950 on 15.20 Windows 10 drivers.

    But....Which kind of VSR is the one you get from registry hacks on 6000,7000 series?

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5008603&postcount=1

     
  9. lycanwrath

    lycanwrath Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8GB ref
    I am very interested in the Frame Rate Limiter function.
    Can someone please confirm whether its visible for the R9 280x GPU? :)
     
  10. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Man im really looking forward for the frame limiter. I don't wanna use Afterburner only for that + it seems that it causes issues some times. I really want a "driver" solution for that.
     

  11. FunkyMike

    FunkyMike Master Guru

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
    Ahh yes... this is an old driver but resigned with a bit of a newer build number but still from 2012 technically.

    This however is not the same driver as in this thread.

    Get the driver from the driver store in windows 10... copy it into Win 8.1

    Open the inf and have a look at this.

    Code:
    [Manufacturer]
    %ATI% = ATI.Mfg, NTamd64.10.0, NTamd64.6.0, NTamd64.6.1, NTamd64.6.2, NTamd64.6.3
    
    [ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.3]
    6.2 = Windows 8.1 (WindowsBlue)
    6.3 = Windows Threshold
    10.0 = Windows 10

    You will figure out the logic fairly quickly.

    This is obviously the easiest of steps but I doubt you will need to know more than this.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2015
  12. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    255
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    Anybody with a 1600x900 monitor post their results here?

    The maximum I can downsample to is 1920x1080p from 1600x900.

    Seems like its limited to the next step of resolution of some sort.
     
  13. buhzy

    buhzy Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Msi rtx 2070 super
    yes VSR on my 1600x900 monitor only goes to 1920x1080 too (it can go to

    1920x1200 but its 16:10 and there is no difference to 1920x1080)

    but iam happy my card cant handle more than that :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2015
  14. DrunkenDonkey

    DrunkenDonkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2xPC 290 PCS+
    sammarbella, I hope you don't really expect somebody to point at several thousands transistors from the gpu and say this is it? :D

    The registry solution I'm not really sure. The card does have a software scaler, after all the gpu option to scale does exactly that, guessing here the registry stuff kicked that so it allows for huge resolutions (which are normally disabled to what your monitor can display) and then scaling it down to what the physical monitor can accept.
    And before somebody points out the flaw in that - that registry solution depends on the monitor too, works on some, fails on others and with all the pure monitor settings in it can point to another response - actually the monitor does the scaling down, not the card, and the monitor is fed with all the huge picture.
     
  15. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    Any specific reason that this driver can't (and won't) work on Win7x64?

    Just asking.

    TY.
     

  16. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    AMD Catalyst (15.200.1012.2 March 11) Win 8.1 Mod - VSR for more cards & FPS limiter

    That is the thread name and it clearly says Win 8.1 Mod.

    Edit:
    @AMDMatt so why isn't VSR coming to the 7000 series?
    AMD is really dropping the ball here because the hardware scaler story is just not credible anymore.
    As you can atleast scale one res step higher on the 7000 series.
    And i don't how the driver mod is made but i don't think Asder added a software solution for downsampling, as that is highly unlikely.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2015
  17. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    484
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    It looks like there is a fixed ratio of some sorts.
     
  18. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    255
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    That sucks actually, difference between 1600x900 is like nothing. Not worth the HUD issue in some games. Not to mention the bugged steam overlay stretching.
     
  19. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    255
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
  20. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    484
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    That would be really nice. Is there any trace of it in the drivers?

    That's a Windows Update for sure. You miss Mantle too, if you notice.
     

Share This Page