AMD Catalyst 14.x RC1 (14.410.0.0 September 2) OpenCL 2.0

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Sep 25, 2014.

Tags:
  1. dampflokfreund

    dampflokfreund Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    8600/8700M Series
    Pretty much every modern laptop is fixed in dynamic mode, the iGPU is connected to the display, while the GPU renders the picture in high performance mode.

    Driver works good on my system, didn't know it's such a early release. Is the driver that will coming out shortly, the true 14.9 WHQL, maybe? Or 14.10 beta?
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  2. FunkyMike

    FunkyMike Master Guru

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
    Bulldog has a Manhattan line Radeon Mobility 5650.

    It is a fixed / muxed switching system.

    I am waiting for AMD to get my Eyefinity / 120Hz 3D working again on my Manhattan 6850m (fixed / muxed) via their new "forced dynamic" mode.

    ^^ this will never happen as you yourself have mentioned that the iGPU is connected to the display. The iGPU is able to output at 120Hz. AMD just isn't able to do "3D" via dynamic it seems.

    Besides I am still seeing people on 7650m muxless cards not being able to go into sleep state.

    AMD still has work to do.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  3. Mustang104

    Mustang104 Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    nVidia 2080 RTX
  4. xecuter116

    xecuter116 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R7970 Crossfire
    Poor frame pacing with these in BF4

    Edit:

    For some reason frame pacing was set to method one instead of two. Could have been the cause.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014

  5. yurizinho182

    yurizinho182 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    DX11 or MANTLE?

    What's the best driver for R9 290x and battlefield in DX11?

    thanks
     
  6. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    you have a 290, its in hardware, the drivers wont effect your frame pacing.

    He has a 7970, its in software for him.
     
  7. xecuter116

    xecuter116 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R7970 Crossfire
    Oops how could I forget! In Mantle. Didn't try DX11.
     
  8. cristian.a

    cristian.a Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX580 8GB
    I can not do a good installation of this drivers and run the CCC!!! Everything work normally, but not de CCC.. Why, Why !
     
  9. sapo_joe

    sapo_joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1070FTW 8GB
    Does this driver have Mantle? In the software tab, it shows "not available".
     
  10. lukas_1987_dion

    lukas_1987_dion Master Guru

    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti AMP! OC
    It does have Mantle, just installed them and tested in Skyrim and DR3, no crashes or bugs (W7 x64), I also don't have any CCC crashes, so thanks asder00!
     

  11. xecuter116

    xecuter116 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R7970 Crossfire
    Okay well looks like the problem I had with this driver is the same with others too. Could be a game issue... Currently running the 27th of August betas.

    In BF4 under Mantle, after a while the secondary GPU drops in usage relative to the first. For example, the top card will be on 97% while the second is on 87% even though frame pacing is clearly enabled. Can see this in afterburner and using the perfoverlay in BF4. This causes some wonderful microstutter and the only way to sort it is to re load the game!
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014
  12. Demon71

    Demon71 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD 5750
    install the current version modified catalyst 14.41 but I did not run correctly, specifically the amd catalyst control center the application locks up and did not allow me to configure anything,

    I uninstalled the previous version and installed the amd catalyst 14.08 whql which works properly on my computer

    thanks you.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  13. MacT

    MacT Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Sapphire HD 7970 OC
    You know crossfire mantle in BF4 causes a memory leak (system ram and possible vram leaks)? Leak introduced July 8th patch. The next big patch coming from the CTE has apparently fixed this. In mean time can run dx (like I have been doing) or you can disable crossfire when in mantle. The CTE patch is coming next week (supposedly - some reports are it has been held back).
     
  14. sapo_joe

    sapo_joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1070FTW 8GB
    Unfortunately, no Mantle here.... Too lazy to post a screenshot.

    SO, it's back to WHQL's (as always) or live without Mantle.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014
  15. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Can anyone confirm whether or not these drivers have chipset drivers too? Mainly, AHCI?
     

  16. xecuter116

    xecuter116 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R7970 Crossfire
    I had no idea about this. It didn't look like there was a leak looking at my ram and vram usage though. Must be something to do with it I'm sure. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  17. Aaron123

    Aaron123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 8GB
    These seem to be about the same as the 14.30's for me in bf4... Havnt tried mantle yet, as EVERY release has given me the micro stutter issue. Ill go ahead and give it a shot, but im pretty sure it will give me the same problem.
     
  18. Aaron123

    Aaron123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 8GB
    Yep. Same results. I give up on mantle.
     
  19. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    It doesn't. Only contains the display driver, HDMI, and PCI Bus. No IOMMU, USB Filter, or anything else.

    Edit: The PCI Bus driver is also outdated (Dec 2013). So ideally, you'd want to grab that from another recent driver should you need it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2014
  20. sidspacewalker

    sidspacewalker New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9280X
    Hey thanks for checking that for me. I can confirm that State of Decay doesn't have the texture corruption anymore but it still has micro-stutter with my card.
     

Share This Page