AMD Catalyst 14.9.2 BETA (14.301.1006.0 October 9)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by garikfox, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,620
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Device Manager. Check driver date. This is 9/10.
     
  2. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,691
    Likes Received:
    673
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    ^ Will also tell you the driver version there as well, which for these is 14.301.1006.0.
     
  3. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    Yep, 14.9.2, thank you both :)
     
  4. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    -
    The weird black screen and following system lockup problems I've been having lately increased a LOT with this beta, so I rolled back, this time to 14.4 (I think the problems started with 14.9, albeit very infrequently). This is the first time I've had any problems with Catalyst in like 10 years.
     

  5. PhoenixRed

    PhoenixRed Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 980 Strix
    Same issue here random black screen most of the time on the desktop when I'm doing nothing, I never seem to crash in game either which is odd. I'm slowly going insane with this issue. :bang:
     
  6. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    -
    But does it happen when the PC is not idle? For me it's not the black screen bug everyone is talking about, because it happens when I am active on the PC, be it browsing, typing or whatever. But yes, it never happens when I play a game. Once it happened few seconds after I closed BF4.
     
  7. jsolo

    jsolo Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    @work:6770,7770,260X
    Sounds like they've brought the 260X experience to the rest of the AMD lineup.
     
  8. boombastik

    boombastik Master Guru

    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    rx580 Pulse 8Gb
    I bought a 260x last year.
    It worked awfull. shuttering fps drops and v sync crashes, so i bought a full second hand machine . Again same things.
    I took r7 260 x out and i put in place a gtx 570 ti .
    And it simply works.
    I am not a fanboy not a troll.
    But for me one year to make a proper driver to play a game in 1440x900 is to big.
    I am gonna keep this card but i think when they relese in future a proprer driver for gcn 1.1 architcture my 260x will be orlready obselete in gaming.
     
  9. Mineral

    Mineral New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus VGA HD7950 DC2TV2 3G
    I tried to install the 14.9.2 new beta for my HD7950, (after running DDU in safe mode and rebooting to normal Windows 7). The install went fine, it also installed Raptr because I chose the Express mode (and Raptr then proceeded to inform me that a "new" version of AMD drivers was available -meaning the stable 14.9).

    Anyway, problem is, then I rebooted and Windows 7 got stuck forever in their loading screen (the one with the mildy animated Windows 7 logo). Not frozen, just stuck for 10+ minutes (before I got bored waiting and forced restart) with minor periodic disc activity. Certainly not normal because a normal boot on my machine is a matter of seconds. I rebooted a few more times but still the same thing.

    I ended up using the Windows boot repair thingie and it used system restore. And now I am back to 14.9.

    Any idea why this is happening? or is this sort of thing expected because the driver is beta?
     
  10. ZETT

    ZETT New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 4G 970 GTX @1560/8100
    And what about Lords of the Fallen Crossfire?
     

  11. B0GiE-uk-

    B0GiE-uk- Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980Ti Gaming 6Gb
    I put in a support request for Elite Dangerous to work in Crossfire with 2 x HD 7970's.

    This is their reply: :bang::bang::bang::bang::bang:

    Dear Paul,

    Your service request : SR #{ticketno:[8200611715]} has been reviewed and updated.

    Response and Service Request History:

    Have you got such problem before like in Catalyst 14.4? Please perform a clean install and roll back to this previous version for better configuration.

    Windows 7 / Windows 8.1 32 bit driver

    Windows 7 / Windows 8.1 64 bit driver

    a. Removing drivers:

    1. Right click on the left bottom of the desktop (Click the start menu) and Open the control panel then Programs and Features or Uninstall a program.

    2. In the list select AMD Catalyst Install manager then click change.

    3. In the window that opens click next and then select the option ‘Express Uninstall All AMD Software’.

    4. Once this process completes restart the computer.

    b. Use third party tool to remove the existing driver. Before beginning the uninstall/reinstallation process, please run Windows Update to ensure that there are no outstanding recommended/required updates, especially updates for the .Net or C++ frameworks, or Service Pack updates. This will ensure that our software will run properly. You may need to run Windows Update and restart multiple times, as certain updates will not appear in the list of updates until certain previous updates have been installed first.

    Driver/registry cleaning tool-Driver Fusion:

    1. Go to the following link and download and run driver fusion:

    http://treexy.com/products/driver-fusion

    2. Run this software and choose the option to select multiple cleaning filters, select all of the ATI filters and then click start. You have no need to precede the pay edition of cleaning and the free clan should be enough.

    3. Once the cleaning has finished restart the computer.

    Note: Driver Fusion is in no associate or maintained by AMD and is used at the user’s discretion.



    c. Run the downloaded installer package choosing the option for express install. Once the installer completes restart the computer.

    d. If the above doesn’t help, please update your BIOS and chipset driver for best support

    Thank you for contacting AMD and please let me know if you have any other questions.

    In order to update this service request, please respond, leaving the service request reference intact.

    Best regards,

    AMD Global Customer Care
     
  12. picturaw

    picturaw Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 7790 1GB
    Hi

    Do some of you have the problem where all of the open windows are resized to a smaller size when the monitor goes back from sleep mode ?

    I have this bug since the 14.4, have tested the 14.6 beta 1 / 2, 14.7 RC3, 14.9, 14.9.2 and this problem is still here, though I have reported this behavior in the AMD report form each time. I have to install an earlier driver release (13.10 beta 2 in my case) to avoid this problem. Very frustating.
     
  13. PCJack125

    PCJack125 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G
    I wait for Steam Sale on Civ:BE before I try 14.9.2 beta I guess. Haha
     
  14. Nymphie

    Nymphie Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 290 DCU2
    Yes, and that is the ONLY port my monitor has. AND that bug doesn't exist in 14.4 and older.
     
  15. tiptop

    tiptop Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sappire RX Vega 56
    Yep, this bug with resized windows happened occasionally with my 290X on 14.9.1 (and I never experienced this **** with any of my 280X's). With 14.9.2, my monitor, as I said earlier, doesn't go to sleep mode at all. :bonk:
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2014

  16. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,620
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    That's a major fault with AMD drivers. Things get fixed and then the same thing gets broken again. I always fear to update.
     
  17. PhoenixRed

    PhoenixRed Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 980 Strix
    It happens when I'm just clicking around say just on a forum or something, but if i play a youtube video it doesn't happen. It never happens in a game ever. So freaky odd.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2014
  18. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    -
    Allright, so I am not being delusional, and nothing is wrong with my system after all! I was this close to reinstalling Windows, thinking something went FUBAR.
    I also filed a report for that on AMD's site, and maybe they will investigate.
    Luckily I only have one card, and only play BF4 and Skyrim, so sticking with 14.4 is not really a problem for me.
     
  19. PhoenixRed

    PhoenixRed Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 980 Strix
    Yeah I actually reinstalled windows lol didn't change a thing once i installed 14.9.1 thats when it all started for me. I'm trying something I deleted both cards from regedit then rescan my system then reinstall 14.9.2 so far no black screen ... I shall report back in a day or so.

    Update: Damn happened 3 times :( twice while just trying to write this post.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014
  20. Powerwolf

    Powerwolf Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7870
    So in a year 2014, the month is October, and the computer still freezes when turning off the display for power saving, is AMD still saying they are not aware of this problem?
     

Share This Page