AMD Catalyst 14.9.2 BETA (14.301.1006.0 October 9)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by garikfox, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. ANDMOC

    ANDMOC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 295x2 Sapphire
    Well, the only game that does not work properly is Dead Rising 3.

    Even the Call of Duty AW works on all settings maxed, Supersample 8x at 55~60 fps

    I'm using 14.9.1, Windows 8.1

    The only complain i have about AMD is 4K Downsampling that's only works with GEDOSATO.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2014
  2. freeman94

    freeman94 Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR
    I wonder if amd will release game ready drivers before the release of AC Unity or Far Cry 4.
     
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,502
    Likes Received:
    2,891
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    Both of those are backed by Nvidia though I believe AMD has a some support for them already, we'll just have to wait and see I suppose.
    (PC optimization could be a bit iffy so a working Crossfire profile would probably help a lot.)

    EDIT: The 14.41.xx drivers (OpenCL 2.0 beta support.) do not have a profile for Far Cry 4 or Assassins Creed Unity, there is a profile for GTA 5 and Dragon Age Inquisition.
    (And there's no profile for Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare but there is one for The Crew.)

    EDIT: Oh right, 14.9.2 (Branch 14.300 something.) are newer so while it's a "older" branch it could have newer game profiles.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Well, since they pulled both from steam, perhaps there wont be as many issues because there wont be as many people purchasing.

    lol
     

  5. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 390
    So after a bit of testing, it looks like this only pops up when I have my Dell E248WFP monitor hooked up to the DVI port (doesn't matter which card).

    I switched it around so the Dell monitor is going though the active mini-dp to DVI adapter. No more corruption upon the monitor waking for the past few days.

    I already filled out the AMD bug report form.
     
  6. kakarot

    kakarot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 980ti sc+
    Well this is weird. I replaced the card but I am still getting insane artifacts, as if the cards are dying, when I have open in game windows in guild wars 2. I've spent hours of 3dMark and crysis 3 maxed out without issue so not sure anymore. Even gw2 is perfect for hours when I don't have any in game windows open.
    Funny thing is, it seems to depend on what is being rendered behind the open window that is causing the problems. If i turn to a wall or the ground it stops and if I open another window and put it under the one already open.
    Anyone play this game with crossfire? If so, what drivers are you using?
     
  7. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Had a glitched cursor with these drivers on my 7850; happened about a few minutes after I played a video in VLC with HW acceleration.

    I left for a bit, and when I came back and woke the screen, the cursor was fixed.
     
  8. Jysoul

    Jysoul Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x ASUS R9 280X OC
    I used to play GW2 and have two R9 280X cards. It's noted in GW2 forums, and I assume correct, that as a DX9 game, it does degrade FPS with crossfire mode (even Nvidia SLI). I found like many other crossfire owners that the game performs better (FPS wise) with crossfire disabled and using one card. Also GW2 was not built efficiently to utilise GPU, it is very CPU intensive.

    Though the artefacts you experience shouldn't come from crossfire mode and more commonly experienced if overclocking the cards and heat. Have you tried running GW2 in windowed vs. fullscreen? Also have you used an app like CPUID HWMonitor to check the temps?
     
  9. kakarot

    kakarot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 980ti sc+
    Thanks but at the settings I run it at (maxed out, 1600p, supersample) cfx most definitely helps and both cards run 100% most of the time. I cannot run supersample with acceptable frames with one card. I've also been running the cards at stock clocks with +50% power limit and manual fan speed so neither breaks 70c when both gpu's are at 100% use. Even tried +25 core voltage with no change.
    The weird thing is that I cannot take a screenshot for you guys because the issues do no show up in them. Screenshots are perfect and what I see on screen is not:bang:
     
  10. Gapil301

    Gapil301 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti
    1 month and nothng :/
     

  11. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    it will be one month on the 24th.

    not today

    it been a little over 2 weeks.

    jesus people...
     
  12. LocKeRoM14

    LocKeRoM14 Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Titan X
    Well with Nvidia you get what you pay for and you play more with drivers in a month equal up to 3 to 4, as the years with Amd finally realize its amd will cost you less but you get to play less with drivers of 1 that release in a month or two at best.
     
  13. kakarot

    kakarot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 980ti sc+
    Big note to self; Don't use FXAA with crossfire. That was the cause of my gw2 issues. To think of all the time I wasted on figuring that out:(
     
  14. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    715
    GPU:
    RX 580 ♥ MESA 21.1+
    Any word on enhanced MLAA and future drivers?
     
  15. Amauryx

    Amauryx Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 270
    agree with you. wtf no updates nothing. same black screen problems. i had to roll back to stable 14.4
    getting gtx970 for christmas enough this amd bull****
     

  16. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,690
    Likes Received:
    671
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Black screens you say :- https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/648176/geforce-drivers/monitor-display-blank-screen-issue-after-driver-update-updated-1-23-14-/1/

    :D

    Which they still have sh!tty performance in, go read all the slating they are getting ;)


    Heres one (of many) :p

     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014
  17. FunkyMike

    FunkyMike Master Guru

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000
    NVIDIA posts on their own forums acknowledging issues?

    I have never ever seen such behavior from AMD. Especially not in terms of their own forums and mobile cards.

    .. I don't mean to start a ****storm but AMDs own forums are "community" driven. They do know even use their own forums for feedback.

    Maybe I am wrong ...
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014
  18. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,690
    Likes Received:
    671
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    COD AW, and Ass Creed Unity driver just released. :p
     
  19. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Ass indeed.

    lol
     
  20. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Had two monitor wake issues in the past few days... This issue is annoying. I doubt 14.11.1 will fix it, but I may as well update to it.
     

Share This Page