AMD Catalyst 14.9.1 BETA (14.301.1004.0 October 4)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Oct 7, 2014.

Tags:
  1. AMDMatt

    AMDMatt Master Guru

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4x Fury X
    AMD Catalyst 14.9.1 Beta Driver for Windows

    Hello everyone,

    Thanks to your feedback, we've successfully resolved random crashes or hangs, or the intermittent black screen (BSOD) on reboot after installing Catalyst 14.9 Driver. These issues were thankfully not encountered by everyone, but certain combinations of hardware/software made some people unlucky victims. Thanks to our cooperation, though, we were able to resolve the problems in just seven days. We truly appreciate your detailed feedback, your patience, and your willingness to help.

    Please click here to download Catalyst 14.9.1 Beta Driver for Windows and use Issue Reporting Form to report any bugs or issues. In addition, read the Feature Highlights and Known Issues sections to learn more about this version of the driver. As an aside, if you’re not affected by any of the issues resolved in this driver, you can stay with 14.9 WHQL.

    Highlights of AMD Catalyst™ 14.9.1 Windows Driver

    Resolved Issues
    Driver installation randomly crashes or hangs
    Intermittent black screen or BSOD on reboot after driver installation
    CCC intermittently crashes with error popup message
    Random hang or BSOD when launching Battlefield 4 in quad Crossfire
    Random hang or BSOD when enabling or disabling quad Crossfire
    Intermittent hang when launching Sniper Elite 3 with quad Crossfire
     
  2. dampflokfreund

    dampflokfreund Member Guru

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    8600/8700M Series
    I wonder when we will get a 14.10 Beta with great new features for PX/Enduro laptops... or official OpenCL2.0... or a new tech demo (where's Ruby by the way?)
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  3. fasor

    fasor Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GForce 750Ti 2Gb
    maybe you should try this beta anyway, because changelog usually contain only the most important changes. And new driver also contains newer version of Catalyst Control Center - and that issue may be caused by CCC's failure to set this setting. But driver itself is more probable reason of course =)
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  4. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    247
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I agree with above. Install these and see for yourself.
     

  5. Nymphie

    Nymphie Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS R9 290 DCU2
    Wow, they are still ignoring the HDMI / DVI > HDMI issue where the image at resolution 1900x1200 is cropped and off-center. More specifically, only the right-hand side of the image seems to be displayed while a sizable portion of the left-hand side (containing the start menu etc.) is cropped off.
    Here's an image of what it looks like. http://i.imgur.com/NUyKcdv.jpg

    Because an HDMI connection is used, the AMD drivers assume that it is talking to a TV. This causes it to apply some extra filters and overscan compensation before sending the image to the monitor, which in turn results in the cropped image. This seems to be a fairly common issue with recent AMD drivers, and one that they are apparently unwilling to fix. In all known cases, it has been reported that the standard Windows drivers display the 1900x1200 resolution flawlessly, confirming that it is indeed a driver problem.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  6. BravoFxTrt

    BravoFxTrt Member Guru

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2X MSI R9 280X 6GB
    I'll give these a try, thanks Asder!

    Cool, these are working much better than 14.9er's did.:banana::)
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  7. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,463
    Likes Received:
    4,471
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Finally, 14.9 ware buggy as hell. Gonna try this when i get home.

    Cheers Asder. :)
     
  8. Bose321

    Bose321 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD6950 w. AC III heatsink
    Is it even worth it to update to 14.9.1 from 14.4? I mainly play BF4 on my HD6950. The damn memory leak still isn't fixed in this, so that won't change... And also no performance improvements for games I play...
     
  9. velocityx

    velocityx Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FE - EK FCB
    im staying with 14.4 for BF4
     
  10. My Sweet Summer

    My Sweet Summer New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9-290x Lightning
    Actually, 14.9 made Lightboost Hack(strobelight from blurbusters) unusable on AMD cards(ofc), I know it's not official but I and a lot of others make full use of that feature. That sucks hard.
     

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    These (14.9) are the first drivers since 14.4 that I can actually use, every single beta since them have either crashed my machine or had other show stopper bugs
     
  12. Have you ever tried scaling options in catalyst... I have also different resolution screens hooked up and thus scaling kicks in. Just adjust it to the right value. Everything works FINE.
     
  13. sapo_joe

    sapo_joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 3070 OC
    These are keepers!!

    My PC is up and running since yesterday, NO DRIVER CRASHES, and GREAT PERFORMANCE all across my games! :D
     
  14. Tree Dude

    Tree Dude Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Radeon R9 270X 2GB
    The only memory leak I know of is when using mantel and your 6950 wouldn't support that anyway. Is there another I do not know of?
     
  15. Ironjer

    Ironjer Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD 295X2 CrossfireX
    The UPS cause hangs immediately when activate crossfire mode. I had to enter with VM from OSX and Disable ULPS via regedit.
     

  16. Bose321

    Bose321 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD6950 w. AC III heatsink
    That's exactly why I am confused! There's a thread on Battlelog with 48 pages of people having the same as I do. Actually, this is mostly affecting 6xxx users.

    Seems like I'm going to driver 340.x soon. If you know what I mean. :bang:
     
  17. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    247
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Never had issues with ULPS myself. I have it on always.
     
  18. velocityx

    velocityx Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FE - EK FCB
    not really mostly 6 series.
     
  19. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    712
    GPU:
    RX 580
    I played roughly ~45min of Battlefield 4 on two maps last night and it managed to consume 8GB of RAM and a 16GB pagefile!
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  20. mux

    mux Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    No new Mantle version, so I can skip this one!
     

Share This Page