AMD Catalyst 14.6 RC2 (14.200.1004.0 June 20)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Jun 24, 2014.

Tags:
  1. DiceAir

    DiceAir Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Galax 980 ti HOF
    You need to get a better cpu and PSU for the r9 290
     
  2. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,385
    Likes Received:
    501
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    I guess, if it comes next month.
     
  3. b3lial

    b3lial New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 290 tri-x
    Hi all!

    I've an issue with these last drivers, expecially with 14.6 and 14.6 rc2. During installation, when the screen resizes, i have black screen issue and there is no way to install drivers.
    I need to reboot in safe mode, uninstall with DDU or driver fusion (Or both) and reinstall 14.4.
    My gpu works perfectly with 14.4 but i don't know why is not working with 14.6.
    Is there someone who can help me please?

    Sorry for my english and thanks a lot
     
  4. sapo_joe

    sapo_joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1070FTW 8GB
    You should try these:

    1 - Try updating your VGA BIOS, it solved most of the crashes on my system (I had A LOT of crashes before). Remember to use the correct BIOS from your manufacturer (exact model).

    Right now, my system only crashes if I open many videos on youtube and media player classic simultaneously. I'm on the latest drivers and Win 8.1.

    2 - Other thing, avoid having MSI afterburner running all the time. Set your clocks with it and close it. It crashes my system a lot when running in background.

    3 - One more, and the most important: Change that PSU for something with at least 620Watts. 550 isn't enough.
     

  5. blacblu

    blacblu Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX HD 7950 CF
    Does it fix the Flash Player BSOD on Firefox?
     
  6. Turban

    Turban Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gb R9 290 OC
    Uh, I don't know about that .. 550W is not too bad, but on top of that, if the PSU wasn't good enought, then the card would not work at all.

    But it does work with the 13.12, and it does work when OC with Afterburner.

    I can go through all the benchs I want, when using AB, it's all stable, no problem.

    So my problem is definitely not PSU related. All problems happen in 2D mode actually, so always when low power is needed.
     
  7. bigcid1

    bigcid1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    ROG-STRIX-RTX2080
    you NEED to change that power supply
    the newer drivers will bring new features and stress you card more
    that 290 needs at Least a 750 watt PS
    that a10 is a low power cpu but that video card is a major power hog

    I say 750w (my opinion) but gigabyte says at least 600watts
    so their you go
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,465
    Likes Received:
    1,516
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    That has been fixed for months by disabling hardware acceleration for flash player
     
  9. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Works nice in Grid AutoSport, also WildStar performance increase, at my house I used to get 95fps, now 102.
     
  10. streetwolf

    streetwolf Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB
    The 14.6 CAT has fixed the BSOD's in Fx at least with the Nightly. Disabling HWA in Flash never prevented BSOD's for me. If you are running 14.6 and still have Flash HWA disabled try enabling it again and see if you still get BSOD's.
     

  11. miiksu

    miiksu Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 Nano
    Seems good driver so far. First game I am testing. GPU Load 96%+ :banana: Last drivers I had 82-85%.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Towtol25

    Towtol25 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 290x LCooled
    When 14.4 WHQL came out I was running 2x R9-290x in cfx using 13.11 beta v9.2. I had some problems getting 14.4 installed but it finally took.

    Right about when the June 2nd 14.6 RC was released I added water cooling to the R9-290xs. Since then I get black screens after trying to install any 14.xx driver while there are two R9-290xs connected to this one motherboard (ASRock Z87 Extreme4 @ Win7 x64). The drivers will install with one card but not two.

    I swapped slots... no change. I took the R9-290xs out of the Extreme4 and put them on a ASRock 990FX Fatal1ty Pro (Win7 x64) board and they work fine in cfx with all drivers (minus the inherent bugs).

    I took the two HD 7950s I had on the 990FX board and put them on the Exteme4 and they work fine in cfx with all drivers.

    I'm at a loss at why the 7950s will crossfire with all 14.x drivers but the R9-290xs won't cfx on any driver above the 13.11 beta v9.2 on the Z87 Extreme4 board.

    I've done most of the logical checks that I can think of including...

    1. Using DDU.
    2. Disabling AV & AS.
    3. Disabling OC.
    4. Toggling Gen 1, 2, 3.
    5. Security erasing SSD and loading Win x64 from scratch.
    6. PS is 1300w and drives the 7950s.
    7. Swapped out cables.
    8. etc, etc...

    I have been able to edit the registry to disable cfx and enable ULPS. This allows the system to boot on this latest 14.x driver. But all this is doing is basically powering down the second R9-290x even though it's in the slot.

    Device Manager will show drivers loaded and no conflcts. AIDA shows all the correct data gleened from both cards. GPU-Z and MSI AB shows data on both cards. But as soon as I try to enable cfx, the system freezes and black screens on reboot.

    The only difference I can latch onto is that the 7950s are using the cfx bridge vs. the R9-290xs are using the XDMA over PCI-E to communicate with each other.

    CPU is i7-4770k on the Extreme4 and FX-8350 on the 990FX.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
  13. mahmoud elfar

    mahmoud elfar Banned

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD6750M OC 775 950
    i think you need to update your bios
     
  14. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Could also try disabling certain power-saving things like ASPM
     
  15. Turban

    Turban Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gb R9 290 OC

    Maybe I misunderstand the way PSU work .. How can a psu be insufficient if it is totally stable at full load ?

    Because the problem happens when the card is not loaded ..
     

  16. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    640
    GPU:
    RX 580 ❤ MESA 19.2
    Thank you asder00!
     
  17. Towtol25

    Towtol25 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 290x LCooled
    I have re-flashed the BIOS in both R9-290x cards.

    The Extreme4 mobo has a dual bios which I have switched over from one to the other while also clearing CMOS.

    I've been running the latest mobo BIOS v2.70 but I did try going back to v2.60.

    But still no changes.

    Thank you for your suggestion!
     
  18. Towtol25

    Towtol25 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 290x LCooled
    The mobo BIOS doesn't have any settings related to ASPM but I am switched to ACHI on the Sata. Power Options in Win7 are set to High Performance with LSPM disabled.

    Thank you for your suggestion!
     
  19. Makurth

    Makurth Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GALAX - GTX 970 EXOC
    Thanks for this info, and thanks to @asder00
     
  20. Jankes

    Jankes Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6GB OC
    SpinTires graphics still broken with these, going back to 14.4
     

Share This Page