AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL (14.100.0.0 April 17)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Apr 25, 2014.

Tags:
  1. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    Anyone tried the new Wolfenstein game? Does it have CrossfireX support out of the box for R9 cards?
     
  2. Newbie2012

    Newbie2012 Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB-CustomLoop
    This. Been a while, show us the goods AMD. Asder where art thou!?


    No. But one card should be enough anyway. Running @ 1600p maxed and runs well, not constant 60fps though.

    I have not played around with the video settings yet, probably some features that can be turned down/off to get the 60fps, resource heavy crappy effects.

    I had to force Vsync through CCC, other than that it's been plain sailing.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2014
  3. IAmGhostDog

    IAmGhostDog Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    XFX R9 390
    Same here
     
  4. Plug2k

    Plug2k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    1 card is not enough my R9295 drops numerous times under 60fps all maxed out in game @3440x1440
    and its unpleasant when it happens.

    we need crossfire support ASAP and also watchdogs better be bloody crossfire compatible when it comes and fully optimized or i will be uber pissed.
     

  5. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    252
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Games are rarely optimized for crossfire on release.
     
  6. jaju123

    jaju123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290 Crossfire
    Yet Nvidia almost always has SLI support.
     
  7. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Support =/= Optimized
     
  8. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    Had to install these so that I could play Wolfenstein, good bye 13.12's. :wanker:
     
  9. HerrFornit

    HerrFornit Active Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD7790-DC2OC-2GD5
    If you are using DVI-cable, try to use a hmdi cable and/or switch off the DDC/CI of your monitor .
    Worked for me. (monitor stand by bug)
    (still using 14.3 driver ;-)
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2014
  10. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    tell me one recent game where SLI works and Crossfire doesn't. I can tell you an example or two where it's SLI that doesn't work and Crossfire does.
     

  11. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Interesting; I believe my monitor had a DDC option, i'll try toggling it. Alternatively, I also have a DVI-to-HDMI cable I could try.
     
  12. Jackalito

    Jackalito Master Guru

    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 5700 XT
    Thanks for the heads up, man!
    My monitor has a DDC option and, as a matter of fact, it was enabled by default. I'm also using a DVI cable so I'll give it a try and report back my findings.

    Greetings.
     
  13. Powerwolf

    Powerwolf Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7870
    Any news regarding Mantle optimization for older cards like 7870?
     
  14. Seren

    Seren Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Asus Strix RX570
    I haven't had this problem since 14.4 WHQL but won't you lose out on some features if you turn that off?
     
  15. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    If I understand DDC correctly, you'll lose stuff like being able to control the monitor's color/brightness/contrast from the computer (can still control it from the screen itself), and landscape/portrait detection (for monitors that have a sensor for it).

    If that's correct (I could be wrong), then most people shouldn't really have any issue with DDC off.
     

  16. nanohead

    nanohead New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x7950@900mhz
    Actually, its pretty decent, especially if you liked the original Thief. Very reminiscent of Deadly Shadows, which was a fun stealth romp.

    Took me a bit to get into it, but now that I'm a few hours in, its pretty enjoyable.

    There are tech problems though, mostly the annoying flickering with Crossfire on. Without Crossfire, its pretty slow. Still trying to look for a solution
     
  17. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    no color profiles either.

    i always use them to calibrate my monitor.
     
  18. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    its UE3, it shouldnt be slow on single cards unless they did a **** ton of mods to the engine.
     
  19. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    244
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    AFAIK, I don't think you lose the ability to load color profiles for your display. The profiles are loaded into the graphics card LUT and are separate from the display hardware entirely. That is, unless the monitor itself has a Color Management System that loads the color profile using an internal hardware LUT through DDC/CI, which I doubt is the case with any monitor out there. Those that have CMSes with an internal hardware LUT tend to be very expensive professional monitors, usually.
     
  20. Plug2k

    Plug2k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    WATCHDOGS: = ****

    R9295X2 card.
    max game settings without any aa
    stuttering
    18-30fps gameplay @344x1440p
    30-45-50fps gameplay @2560x1080p
    artifacts when enabling any form of aa
    stuttering and shaky artifacts.
    crossfire is there, but its about as useful as a chocolate teacup.
    -------------------------------------------------

    the game really is unoptimized for amd/ati hardware.
    I will keep the ps4 version deadsec version but my preorder of the pc version is getting canceled, refunded.

    So much for all the hype, devs working with graphics card partners yeah right lol
    reminds of a lot of how optimized black flag was when it was first released.....

    dont get me wrong the game looks utterly awesome when maxed out.
    but if you enjoy slideshows stay way.
     

Share This Page