AMD Catalyst 14.4 (14.100.0.0 March 27)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by CPC_RedDawn, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. stevvie

    stevvie Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    5700XT Pulse
    AMd have a history of doing this, heck they even do it with thier hardware, R9 280x in point.
     
  2. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    its a leaked driver people, you arent even supposed to have it.
     
  3. mahmoud elfar

    mahmoud elfar Banned

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD6750M OC 775 950
    hi thanks for your driver but i have question does this driver have the Switchable Graphics Global Settings menu fully working or only just only the Switchable Graphics Application Settings menu
     
  4. gexxy lord

    gexxy lord Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 280x
    still slight pauses in battlefield 4...runs smooth but has the slight freezes randomly..
     

  5. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Sure, Nvidia never rebrands their gpus. :p
     
  6. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 2080Ti OC
    Bug i noticed with this driver is that settings don't apply with msi afterburner for the slave in crossfire.

    I had to disable ULPS to make it work.
     
  7. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    The problem is even the official beta 14.xx had this issue. So i guess thats why he is asking.

    Driver is leaked and NV does the same with their cards. It's called rebrand.
     
  8. flow

    flow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 2000Mhz
    Leaked drivers are, leaked. They are not on official amd list yet, so use at own risk.
    However, leaked drivers usually means the next beta will be different from the previous one. That could be good or bad, but at least brings some fresh perspective since previous 14.xx beta's behave more or less the same for most users.
     
  9. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Just confirming that my screen didn't wake when I tried waking it a little bit ago. ULPS is disabled.

    Back on the previous 14.3 beta, I had ULPS disabled, and the screen woke every time without issue (either it just worked fine, or I just conveniently haven't ran into the wake issue; seems to be random)
     
  10. SacredKnight27

    SacredKnight27 Master Guru

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 570 4GB
    Ack, this driver brings back the old I beam cursor bug in 8.1 that I used to have to deal with a lot in Windows 7. Really hope that's not a staple going forward.
     

  11. chris89

    chris89 Member Guru

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1 bit of video ram pcie
    Can I use this for the Mobility HD 4250?

    If not which driver would allow overclocking? Most apps say my gpu is at 72mhz all the time. AMD Gpu tool says 25Mhz but in game it switches between like 50 different clocks from 72mhz to 504mhz. I just wanna lock it down to like 650mhz while plugged in...

    Temps are of zero concern. I repasted and cleaned dust from the heatsink. The gpu part of the heatsink was maybe 5mm from the chip with a 5mm heat pad and I'd see 90C at idle stupidest design ever.

    Anyway I bent the copper heat pipe and cleaned off the pad to get a perfect copper to core contact. Now seeing around 60-65C on the cpu/gpu in game with the cpu and gpu at 100%.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  12. BugMeister

    BugMeister Member Guru

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x RX480 NITRO+OC(8G)
    [​IMG]

    installed OK
    coupla differences (?)

    - will report back if any problems.. :)
     
  13. sapo_joe

    sapo_joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1070FTW 8GB
    After the first system hang, I disabled ULPS and enabled "constant voltage" in Afterburner.

    Let's see if this helps!
     
  14. V-FrIeNd

    V-FrIeNd Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 750Ti
    Yes

    [​IMG]

    but I have switchable graphics method also. because I use modified bios.

    If use original bios have switchable graphics global settings menu , application settings , application monitor ...
     
  15. mahmoud elfar

    mahmoud elfar Banned

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD6750M OC 775 950
    thanks for your reply i also have a modified bios and have the switchable graphics method the fixed mode and dynamic mode
     

  16. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    They do, DVI retains the connection whereas DP and HDMI basically uninstalls the monitor when you turn it off, had to search a bit via Google to find that info since I was wondering why the windows kept resizing when I had the monitor off.
    (Windows Vista and later switches to a internal virtual desktop with a resolution of 1024x768 apparently, something about compatibility.)

    EDIT: I do not know if this varies from GPU to GPU or between DP versions, the issue (Or what to call it.) did not happen for the brief time when I had the r9 290 GPU which I found interesting.
    (But the blackscreen crash issue forced me to RMA it after only a day and I got this instead which was the only custom 280 in stock in that store.)
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  17. Jackalito

    Jackalito Master Guru

    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 5700 XT
    These drivers are working great for me so far with R9 290X. Batman Arkham City and Alice Madness Returns both working great with no major stutters or freezes to be noticed until now.

    I'll be trying more games over the next couple of days (DX and Mantle) and I'll let you know ;)
     
  18. xxela

    xxela Master Guru

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega64 Nit
    This driver is smoother in every game I tried (B4, Metro last light, Crysis 3 Thief) On Battlefield 4 it resolve the stuttering problem introduced by the last game update. There is still some stuttering here and there but is noticeable smoother. So for me these are the best from the 14s branch.
    Also the browser/flash/HTML crashes/BSODs seems to disappeared but I think not because of the driver but rather because of browser/flash updates. Even with 14.3 the problem stopped after some browsers/flash updates.
     
  19. jaju123

    jaju123 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290 Crossfire
    For me BSODs still occur in Firefox with html5 video. In chrome it is fine.
     
  20. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ive always used HDMI, and up until this driver, it has NEVER uninstalled/disconnected during monitor sleep or turn off the monitor.
     

Share This Page