AMD Catalyst 14.3 Beta 1.0 (13.350.1005 March 12)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by stasio, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    Well FWIW, Ryan from PCPer, mentioned just a few minutes ago that the set he used for his FCAT testing with Mantle was 14.4 Beta.

    Source: https://twitter.com/ryanshrout/status/451737831442898944
     
  2. PieEyedPiper

    PieEyedPiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    RX 580
    3020MB is peak for me. Often 2900+ like you.
     
  3. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,785
    Likes Received:
    758
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Doesn't look like were going to get a new driver till May.
     
  4. derpyQ

    derpyQ Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7950 3GB
    pourquoi?
     

  5. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    Source?
     
  6. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,785
    Likes Received:
    758
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014
  7. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    Couple of things come to mind:

    1) Whose to say the WHQL's won't include new stuff? after all 14.3 was built around March 12th IIRC, so let's say we get 14.4 with the launch of the 295X2 on April 8th, that gave them a window of ~a couple of weeks to work on new stuff (the other ~2 weeks of course being spent on the WHQL certification process).

    2) We already got confirmation from Ryan (PCper) that the 14.4 Beta exist.
     
  8. robertmor52

    robertmor52 Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Gaming G1
    sooo...I remember someone saying that memory problem was solved :confused:...looks like is not.
     
  9. 1bit

    1bit Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 / Samsung SA27950D
    Gah, I just got a 290 so came here to see if the beta cats are worth it yet.. I guess I'll be sticking with WHQL.
     
  10. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    it depends really, some people they work really well others they dont.

    Might as well give them a try, you can always go back to WHQL.
     

  11. 1bit

    1bit Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 / Samsung SA27950D
    I bought an Asus R9 290x on release, I had this particular issue where my pc would randomly restart. Error 0xA0000001 (0x5, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0). I returned the card and went back to my 7970.

    Now I have an MSI R9 290. Same bloody issue. Completely wiped the drivers with ccleaner and amd driver uninstaller and reinstalled 13.12, no luck. I guess I'm giving the betas a go. The issue is everywhere on the interwebs and it all points to a driver issue. I wish AMD would get their arses in gear.

    edit: The funny thing is, I've gone through legacy 10.2s, 13.9 legacy, 13.12 a whole load of nvidia driver installs never once cleaning the system at work and this r9 290 worked flawlessly on it. There is definitely some conflict within the drivers and a certain piece of hardware in my pc, I just can't figure out what it is.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014
  12. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,823
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    Asus TUF RTX 3080
    Didn't had a single issue with my R9 290 card, then again Asus is very reliable brand.

    I did had a bsod but only once.
     
  13. 1bit

    1bit Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 / Samsung SA27950D
    I thought the general consensus was that Asus is quite bad on the R9 2xx series?

    Not that brand is the be all and end all, I've had good and bad cards from many manufacturers. At the end of the day it is pot luck. In the current case I don't believe the hardware is at fault, I believe it is the software.
     
  14. 1bit

    1bit Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 / Samsung SA27950D
    Colour me impressed. I managed to boot skyrim with the 14.3 drivers!

    The main culprit of my bluescreen was always atikmdag.sys, I noticed in 13.2 there was only a 32bit version of this file. In 14.3 there are two versions of this file, one 32bit and one 64bit. The 64bit version had been installed, this seems to have resolved my bluescreen, so far...
     
  15. 1bit

    1bit Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 / Samsung SA27950D
    Ok so after much frustration I am confident I have discovered what the issue is. The ****ing amd hdmi audio driver.

    So how I came to this conclusion. I noticed my audio was off now that I had installed the new drivers.
    No problem, went to sound control panel to set the zxr as the default sound device.
    Zxr was not present. Oh look, there is an HD audio device using microsoft drivers... wtf?
    No problem, I'll reinstall the drivers.
    Queue my screen flashing black over and over as I launch the setup process (still extracting files at this point)
    Restart my pc.
    Run setup again, worked.
    Repaired the sound card installation.
    Rebooted.
    Zxr now present in sound control panel, assign as default.
    No sound still.
    Ok I have to set it to the headphone port, I already know this. Go to device options section in the soundblaster control panel, blue screen.
    Reboot.
    Try again, blue screen.
    Reboot
    Go to the AMD control panel, yep zxr is the default device in audio options.
    Hm... I know these new cards have an audio feature, must be that. (****ty true audio)
    Go to device manager, disable AMD HDMI device.
    Go back to sound blaster control panel, try for the device options again, blue screen.
    Restart.
    Ok thats it, I have HAD ENOUGH, run AMD driver installer from control panel.
    Uninstall only the AMD HDMI driver.
    Restart.
    Check device manager, hmmm microsoft has installed some basic HDMI driver for the AMD audio device, odd but, ok =/
    Go back to sound blaster, **** YES. I can now change output to headphone, sound is back. No blue screen.

    Thank you for following me on my journey.

    edit:

    Launch skryim, crash to desktop.
    Run unigine heaven, blue screen.
    Put my head in my hands and cry.
    Go back to guru3d to update my post.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014

  16. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,785
    Likes Received:
    758
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    They will do, as the 14.1s are not finished yet.

    Yeah, so by the sounds of it, they are going to release another update of the 14.1s, before they are finally completed.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014
  17. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 ROG Strix
    Could it be that your Sound Blaster has a resource conflict with your video card? Check for that in device manager. Sound Blasters never liked having to share resources (especially IRQs) with video cards. If you have a conflict there, you might want to try moving one card or the other to a different PCI(e) slot on your mainboard. Perhaps it will help.
     
  18. 1bit

    1bit Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 / Samsung SA27950D
    im going to remove it completely tomorrow, ill see what happens then
     
  19. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Disable HW acceleration or go back to Nvidia...
     
  20. BravoFxTrt

    BravoFxTrt Member Guru

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2X MSI R9 280X 6GB
    I just bought and installed a new XFX HD 7850, these Drivers are the best Iv installed since 12.10.

    Thank You, I am very pleased. :D

    WIN7 64bit IL2 1946, and CoD
     

Share This Page