AMD Catalyst 14.12 Omega WHQL (14.501.1003.0 November 20)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by shadow_craft, Dec 9, 2014.

  1. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,192
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    6800 XT
    I think one should properly install these drivers on their system and perform tests of their own to see the real picture.

    I still have old drivers at home so will be doing tests on weekend.
     
  2. Aoyagi

    Aoyagi Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vapor-X R9 290
    I'm assuming it won't, but just to be safe.
     
  3. Martin.v.r

    Martin.v.r Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 7970 1200/1500
    no i got a 7970 bios mode,an my son got a R9 270x
    both PC run with win7 64Bit U
     
  4. freeman94

    freeman94 Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR
    can someone tell me how can I enable AMD Fluid Motion Video, cuz i don't see it in CCC settings? It's the only features that I really want to tried out, as it says that it support 7000 series gpu.
     

  5. Scarecrow7

    Scarecrow7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS R9 280X / 3GB
    AFAIK, you will need a player that support it anyway.
    So far only CyberLink PowerDVD does it, so I'm ok with MPC-HC + SVP.

    ***

    No VSR for R9 280X?
    Seriously AMD?

    I appreciate the effort, but I really hope you guys fix this.
    It's very disappointing after all the teasing.

    I still have to do some proper testing, but driver seems stable enough and there is no noticeable regression to be found on my end.
     
  6. edilsonj

    edilsonj Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 S
    Some personal benchmarks:

    (all maxed out, 1080p)

    F1 2013
    14.11.2 - Avg: 57
    14.12 - Avg: 61
    +7,02%

    Sniper Elite 3
    14.11.2 - Avg: 57 - Max: 175,2
    14.12 - Avg: 57,8 - Max: 196,6
    +1%

    Bioshock Infinite
    14.11.2 - Avg: 80,44 - Max: 120,21
    14.12 - Avg: 91,46 - Max: 308,56 (???)
    +13,7%

    Tomb Raider 2013 - Tressfx on
    14.11.2 - Avg: 56 - Max: 78
    14.12 - Avg: 55,4 - Max: 76
    - 1%

    Assassin's Creed Unity
    FULLY PLAYABLE
     
  7. THEAST

    THEAST Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Try madVR if you haven't done so already, it has a featured called "smooth motion" that will most probably work better than AMD's Fluid Motion or anything they will ever release for this purpose.
     
  8. 0neSh0t

    0neSh0t Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Strix 980ti SLI
    hey! is it normal when i run the setup.exe that it only offers me to install the catalyst control center etc etc but NOT the drivers? or do i have to manually install them via sys device???? doesnt make sense
     
  9. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    90
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    Please, but please tell me what are your game settings in AC Unity?! For me stutters like hell.
     
  10. 0neSh0t

    0neSh0t Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Strix 980ti SLI
    OK so.... when i downloaded the drivers on guru 3d... on installation it was NOT detecting my gpu to install the drivers. Downloaded directly from ATI's website.. and everything went fine.. Maybe guru 3d has a corrupted download for certain users???
     

  11. The Postman

    The Postman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 980 TI Gaming
    Great drivers !!

    Dragon Age plays even better than before !!
     
  12. 0neSh0t

    0neSh0t Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Strix 980ti SLI
    by the way... running mantle in crossfire in battlefield 4 no crashing nothing.. but i cannot alt+tab out of the game... anyone have a fix for this ?
     
  13. xacid0

    xacid0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti AMP! Omega
    According to Thracks in AMD video, they initially enable VSR only for their latest architecture in this driver version. I guess they will enable it for older card in later version similar to what Nvidia did.

    Skip to 1:00
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTyA2O4Ial4
     
  14. innis2

    innis2 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290G
    anyone get a border like this when try using resolution more than your pc resolution?
    i already try choose overscan in scaling option, but it back to underscan when i apply it (like in the pic)
    im using aoc i2757fh and was trying 2k resolution

    image link :
    i.imgur.com/m9HFcMB.jpg
    i.imgur.com/lwmTEHD.jpg

    thx b4
     
  15. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    I had the monitor reinstalling on wakeup bug, not a windows resizing.

    I was helping someone who uses eyefinity and and the same issue because it would disable his second monitor and swap his primary if i remember correctly.

    That big was fixed several releases ago.

    What do you mean "Windows Resized"?

    Got a nice 5fps bump in DAI mantle with these, and the cut scenes are nice and smooth now.

    Although that could be the DAI patch, who knows.

    lol
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014

  16. Scarecrow7

    Scarecrow7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS R9 280X / 3GB
    Oh, thanks for the info.
    That's good, I hope they roll support soon. :)
     
  17. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    They're actually different drivers. The AMD official driver is newer, and even for those files with the same build numbers the official AMD driver is different. I believe Hilbert has linked both of them now.
     
  18. LtMatt81

    LtMatt81 Master Guru

    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    4x Fury X
    Hello everyone,

    I've noticed that some users are reporting that the Catalyst Omega drivers are failing to install since the drivers are ‘unsigned’ and the device manager shows a Code 52 error. The Catalyst Omega driver is WHQL certified, so all components are signed.

    The root cause is Microsoft update KB3004394 – (Windows Root Certificate Program in Windows) which was released yesterday. Uninstalling the update fixes the driver installation issue.

    You can read more about the various issues this update causes at the following link:

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...s/ace25277-7f65-4486-bc44-c1b106907a18?page=1
     
  19. reeven

    reeven Member Guru

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GTX280 750/1450/3000
    request an r9 280x with Elpida ram, not Hynix. Almost all hynix 280x has artifacts.
    If you get an Elpida memory on 280x you will not suffer for artifacts in idle, games, etc
     
  20. FerCam™

    FerCam™ Master Guru

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming GTX980
    Nice drivers overall, but with VSR on higher resolutions my image looks very grainy, on Metro LL the the shown pointer doesn't match its real location, viewing angle looks narrower (only game tested). And with SSAA x2 and core oc'ed to 1100MHz mem 1375MHz the GPU hard locks with a black screen (complete shutdown needed to boot again) this happens since the driver before this one, but FPS are higher though.

    My monitor is a dell U2212HM using DVI.
     

Share This Page