AMD Catalyst 14.1 BETA 1.6 (13.350.1005.0 January 31)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Feb 2, 2014.

Tags:
  1. sunnyp_343

    sunnyp_343 Master Guru

    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    Asus ROG GTX 1080
    I gone mental with mantle
     
  2. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
  3. xxela

    xxela Master Guru

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    RX6800 XT Red Devil
    Something get screwed on reboot and the fps drop drastically both in mantle and direct x, so make sure when install this driver to give administrator rights. It also seems to resolve the stutter.
     
  4. somemadcaaant

    somemadcaaant Master Guru

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Red Devil 6900XT LE
    Also noticed when i alt tab out the fps stays over 60fps lol dafuq. Disabeling my other monitor didnt help with fps, tried it when my mouse went stupid.

    See what else i can come up with, mantles gone mental. The whole driver is mental,
     

  5. somemadcaaant

    somemadcaaant Master Guru

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Red Devil 6900XT LE
    I think most of us are local admins with OS install so i dont see how this would make much of a difference.
     
  6. mR Yellow

    mR Yellow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury
    Dude, chill. It was no cheat.
    DICE confirmed it was a mistake on their side

    http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/forum/threadview/2979150493821981180/3/

     
  7. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass Master Guru

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 ti
    I was thinking about switching back to AMD for giggles but now after reading this thread it seems AMD are still churning out rubbish. I know these are beta but toning down graphics details is the reason why your seeing gpu performance not because of a new API.

    If the detail does look lower they are taking you guys for fools.

    When I'm back home I'll visit my friend and give it a test.

    Lots of luck with mantle "mental".
     
  8. deadinhollywood

    deadinhollywood Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580XTR 8GB
    Has anyone tested usage of vram especially on 290 or 290x, becouse of its best optimization? The problem i have with my 7870xt is that mantle uses so much vram i get stuttering which i did not have with dx11. I know it is not optimized properly for hd7000 but i am so curious. In my situation the diffrence is about 1.8 gb with ultra at 1050p in dx11 vs 3.1 gb with ultra at the same resolution.
     
  9. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
  10. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I'm seeing 5400MB used 7950 Crossfire.
     

  11. mR Yellow

    mR Yellow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury
    Did you even read my post above? Do some reading and don't believe everything you hear. It's a not a nerf.

    It's a mistake on DICE's part.
    The fix is coming and won't affect performance.
     
  12. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    is mantle using much more vram then?
     
  13. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Indeed, for me.
     
  14. Zabo

    Zabo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7770
    Not only vram.
    In my case it uses 50-90% of my vram and 1-2GB RAM.
     
  15. xxela

    xxela Master Guru

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    RX6800 XT Red Devil
    Think you are right. I only tested with a restart but when I turn off the system and turn back on same horrible fps drop. So only thing that works for me is to give a restart after every reboot. Or never turn off my pc until next driver. :)
     

  16. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    you mean it uses 1 -2gb system ram more than before?
     
  17. Zabo

    Zabo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7770
    Was using TechPowerUp GPU-Z for monitoring stats then i noticed dx take like 100-200BM ram while mantle 1-2GB system Ram and 50-70% vram
     
  18. Lumaan

    Lumaan Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus R9 290X 4GB OC
    Just did some benchmark with "Star Swarm Stress Test" that you can get from Steam, Mantle runs better then DX.

    Test done with "Scenario - Attract" "Settings - Extreme" "Timed Run (6 min)"

    Mantle:
    Code:
    ===========================================================
    Oxide Games
    Star Swarm Stress Test - ©2013
    C:\Users\Lumaan\Documents\Star Swarm\Output_14_02_03_0925.txt
    Version 1.00
    02/03/2014 09:25
    ===========================================================
    
    == Hardware Configuration =================================
    GPU:		AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
    CPU:		GenuineIntel
    		        Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz
    Physical Cores:			4
    Logical Cores:			8
    Physical Memory: 		8542355456
    Allocatable Memory:		8796092891136
    ===========================================================
    
    
    == Configuration ==========================================
    API:				Mantle
    Scenario:			ScenarioAttract.csv
    User Input:			Disabled
    Resolution:			1920x1080
    Fullscreen:			True
    GameCore Update:		16.6 ms
    Bloom Quality:			High
    PointLight Quality:		High
    ToneCurve Quality:		High
    Glare Overdraw:			16
    Shading Samples: 		64
    Shade Quality:			Mid
    Deferred Contexts:		Disabled
    Temporal AA Duration:		16
    Temporal AA Time Slice:		2
    Detailed Frame Info:		Off
    ===========================================================
    
    
    == Results ================================================
    Test Duration:			360 Seconds
    Total Frames:			15034
    
    Average FPS:			41.76
    Average Unit Count:		4611
    Maximum Unit Count:		5788
    Average Batches/MS:		867.98
    Maximum Batches/MS:		2473.67
    Average Batch Count:		23150
    Maximum Batch Count:		130208
    ===========================================================
    
    DX:
    Code:
    ===========================================================
    Oxide Games
    Star Swarm Stress Test - ©2013
    C:\Users\Lumaan\Documents\Star Swarm\Output_14_02_03_0932.txt
    Version 1.00
    02/03/2014 09:32
    ===========================================================
    
    == Hardware Configuration =================================
    GPU:		AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
    CPU:		GenuineIntel
    		        Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz
    Physical Cores:			4
    Logical Cores:			8
    Physical Memory: 		8542355456
    Allocatable Memory:		8796092891136
    ===========================================================
    
    
    == Configuration ==========================================
    API:				DirectX
    Scenario:			ScenarioAttract.csv
    User Input:			Disabled
    Resolution:			1920x1080
    Fullscreen:			True
    GameCore Update:		16.6 ms
    Bloom Quality:			High
    PointLight Quality:		High
    ToneCurve Quality:		High
    Glare Overdraw:			16
    Shading Samples: 		64
    Shade Quality:			Mid
    Deferred Contexts:		Disabled
    Temporal AA Duration:		16
    Temporal AA Time Slice:		2
    Detailed Frame Info:		Off
    ===========================================================
    
    
    == Results ================================================
    Test Duration:			360 Seconds
    Total Frames:			7974
    
    Average FPS:			22.15
    Average Unit Count:		3872
    Maximum Unit Count:		5304
    Average Batches/MS:		625.55
    Maximum Batches/MS:		1168.21
    Average Batch Count:		31016
    Maximum Batch Count:		179876
    ===========================================================
    
     
  19. Illnino

    Illnino Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 290x EK H20
    Not really, looked to be about the same.
     
  20. deadinhollywood

    deadinhollywood Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580XTR 8GB
    So i just made a test. Ultra settings, 1050p. SP. 10 minutes gampelay.

    Mantle used 2.7 gb of vram and 4.6 gb of ram
    Cpu utilisation 97-98% Heavy stutter becouse of not enough vram. Higher fps.
    Gpu utilisation is about the same as in directx 11.

    Directx used 1.7 gb of vram and 3.4 gb of ram Cpu utilistaion 70-71%
    Smooth gameplay. Lower fps.

    Sorry for no picuters but I cant put them here becouse of my low posts count.
     

Share This Page