AMD Catalyst 13.8 BETA (13.200.0.0 July 23)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Aug 1, 2013.

Tags:
  1. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Are you overclocking vram or just the gpu?
     
  2. Lerun

    Lerun Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7990
    EDIT: For some reason I read VRAM as Voltage, slow day at work made my brain mush ;)

    Havent done testing with higher VRAM yet, just normal overclocking.
    This happens by just going 1030 / 1510
    Had a brief period at the start where I had a 1100 / 1580 overclok, but the card was not boosting to that speed often...so started to look for other ways to get it stable. During that period the stutter appeared...

    So I did a clean purge and installed drivers and Afterburner again.

    The card is under water and does no more than 50 under full load.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  3. 51cent

    51cent Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapp. R9 290X Tri-X
    I have learned from overclocking my card that stuttering occurs when the VRAM is clocked to high.

    Today VRAM often has ECC.
    If there is an error detected there is a brief lag in memory bandwidth, so the image stutters.
     
  4. fasor

    fasor Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GForce 750Ti 2Gb
    there is a next version of beta driver

    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/amd_catalyst_13.8_beta2.exe

    no mobility version and no changelog for now

    (version 13.200.11.0)

    it also has packages with Visual C++ and DotNet 4.5
    so if you have dotnet and VC++ updated with windows update and do not want them to be replaced with old versions - just remove these packages from c:\AMD\AMD_Catalyst_13.8_Beta2\Packages\Apps\ directory before install drivers
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013

  5. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    DriverVer=08/14/2013, 13.200.11.000

    interesting.
     
  6. Elajitz

    Elajitz Master Guru

    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Ventus
    So when will the next Driver come out!.. Taking ages!? :p
     
  7. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    see above
     
  8. Elajitz

    Elajitz Master Guru

    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Ventus
    aaa LOL sry :p
     
  9. Lerun

    Lerun Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7990
    Need to keep that in mind, I'll try only the core and see if that keeps it stutter free.

    Thanks

    Edit: Seems like ULPS was the culprit in not getting stable clocks.
    Running now at 1100/1500 @ 1.21 V
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  10. jazzie

    jazzie Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    powercolor hd7790 turbodu
    ANYBODY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    who have installed this driver !!!

    have you tried with game HEROES OF NEWERTH YET??????

    last 13.8 beta1 is not smooth as it should be...

    if you play it smoothly please let me know and i will install this driver immediately :D
     

  11. Shaneus

    Shaneus Master Guru

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970/5850 TFX 899/1150
    Yes it is.

    Or maybe not.

    Maybe you should test it ;)
     
  12. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Different hardware, different results :p

    I'll download HoN tonight though and give it a try and let you know. I don't really have any comparison to how smooth it should be though.
     
  13. SPI0

    SPI0 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950
    Does someone else have problems with Steam? The Steam windows lags and my gpu clocks high. After closing Steam the clock gets to the normal 300mhz. I didnt have the problem with 13.4 and 16.2beta.
     
  14. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    I have no particular issue with Steam on my computer, but I notice that after some time, games run really slow. Like Cube World goes from running at 200 FPS at the main menu down to 20-30, and GPU usage (before being 20-30%) is 99%, at 950Mhz core clock.

    Should also mention that I've only seen this happen with the Beta 2 drivers. Might of happened with these drivers too but I didn't notice it.
     
  15. Rivers23

    Rivers23 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7670m
    My GPU usage went up to 99% as soon as I booted up my computer with these drivers installed, barely any programs were running. They made my laptop shut down because of overheating. I had to thoroughly uninstall them before the problem was gone. Plus, there was lag as I was dragging files across my desktop. Now imagine if I tried running a game. I have a single 7670m
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2013

  16. Benik3

    Benik3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    GigaByte RX5700 GO
    Again, did you try to disable ULPS?
    Also you should make something with your cooling...
     
  17. Rivers23

    Rivers23 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7670m
    I myself have a single card. And it's not about cooling, my GPU usage should not be at 99% when the only programs running are skype and internet download manager.
     
  18. poserviolinist

    poserviolinist New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970m
    New user here and first post, hi everybody! :)

    Anyhow, on to my issue. I'm using a Laptop for gaming (I know but I need mobility), an MSI-GX60 1AC to be precise. I am running windows 8.1.

    I know the risks of running a beta driver on a beta OS are high so I'm not looking for miracles here, but since installing the latest drivers I am having issues with the switchable graphics. Is this a common experience for anyone? I was hoping there was a way to force the driver to recognize the game and kick in the discrete card. I remember a few versions back switchable graphics were handled manually, is that option still buried in there somewhere?
     
  19. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    You installed these drivers (13.8 Beta) on 8.1 Pro Preview?

    By-default, games that have a specific profile from AMD to run on the dGPU, will run on the dGPU, but everything else will run on the iGPU. Good for widely-known apps/games, but bad for anything else that requires more power than the iGPU can give. The specific power name for this behavior is "Optimize Power" I think

    You likely want the "Maximum Power" setting though, which runs everything (unless otherwise specified to the iGPU) on the dGPU. This requires the least intervention, and works fine (as long as you're on wall power anyway).

    You can also manually tell apps/games which GPU to use.

    If Switchable Graphics menu isn't working properly, you won't have access to any of that. It's apparently pretty common for this to happen with a new driver install.

    As for how to possibly fix it, you may have to remove the drivers more thoroughly: http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4640791&postcount=97
     
  20. hmanlow

    hmanlow Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SapphireHD7850@910/1350
    installed it.. 7850... smoother than the previous driver for most game...

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     

Share This Page