AMD Catalyst 13.5 B2 (12.102.3.0 April 16)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by stasio, Apr 24, 2013.

  1. paleh0rse

    paleh0rse Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Powercolor 7870XT
    While I sincerely hope you're correct (and I'm not saying you're wrong!), has anyone actually verified, for a fact, that the 13.5b2 drivers include additional fixes and profiles for Crossfire that are not present in 13.4 WHQL?
     
  2. ankinferno

    ankinferno Master Guru

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GT 840M
    haaa!!!!

    hmm Odd stuff, Direct3D and OGL are older than 13.4..!!!

    need some benchmark differences here...!!! 13.4 vs 13.5 B2..
     
  3. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    If that is the case, it does kind of make sense, since the HD7990 is effectively Crossfired, just in the same card! That is probably why the rest of the driver is older, they started with that code and added the special HD7990 code to it. For all non-crossfired cards, the 13.4's are still the better option.

    Of course, once the testing is complete the codelines will be amalgamated.
     
  4. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,761
    Likes Received:
    927
    GPU:
    Null
    13.5b2 + 13.4c1 app profiles 24apr

    it's the only way for ultra smooth gaming for now...!!! :banana: :)
     

  5. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    You say that every single time a driver is released? LOL :)
     
  6. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    i guess that would depend on weather or not the prototype code has any positive effect for single cards.

    from what ive read, its a frame metering technique to stablize the frame return latency, in which case you would need 2 simultaneous render pipleines to make it effective.

    This would rule out any benefit for single cards.
     
  7. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    I've uploaded a modded version of Catalyst 13.4 based on Asder's 13.4 release.

    It includes the 13.4 Cap 1, which the 13.4 packages do not contain. This modded packages includes:
    - the 13.4 driver
    - the 13.3b2 16 April apps (except for OpenCL which is now driver integrated)
    - 13.4 cap 1

    Most up to date package of driver and apps.

    Download here:
    http://db.tt/4DECMeEM
    (self-extracting archive. Once extracted, run setup.exe. Remove old drivers and apps first!)

    It does not include the required VC 2012 runtimes. The reason why I removed these is because the version included is very much outdated. If you have the VC 2012 runtimes installed on the computer, the outdated runtimes are NOT required. The C++ runtimes are like SweetFX in that it will load from the program folder first. In this sense, the catalyst install will use the old runtimes over the new ones if they are present in the folder.

    Instead, download and install this:
    http://db.tt/QgDl2OQ6

    It includes the absolute latest runtimes for 2005, 2008, 2010, and 2012, and uninstalls the old versions of these from your computer automatically. It does not however, remove old c++ runtimes in program folders. If you want to, you can do that manually :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  8. Luke7

    Luke7 Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4 GB
    And a new bug driver
    Looks like it will take amd years to fix this.

    Description
    Faulting Application Path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: IEXPLORE.EXE
    Application Version: 10.0.9200.16537
    Application Timestamp: 512347f7
    Fault Module Name: atidxx32.dll
    Fault Module Version: 8.17.10.489
    Fault Module Timestamp: 516d5e43
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 003cc268
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 0a9e
    Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Additional Information 3: 0a9e
    Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
     
  9. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    that could be anything..

    did you do a clean uninstall?
     
  10. ELCID777

    ELCID777 Banned

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x msi hd 7970's
    So, we're back to having to install CAP's separately? WTF. 13.3, and all of the betas before that had it pre-installed already.
     

  11. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    yes, because they were betas

    whql takes time to certify, you dont HAVE to install them.
     
  12. ELCID777

    ELCID777 Banned

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x msi hd 7970's

    Well, I have 7970's in xfire, I need them.
     
  13. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    People, they are already in the drivers.

    Separate CAPS are ADDITIONAL profiles...

    you dont NEED to install them, you just wont have the latest tweaks is all.
     
  14. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Bomb Bug in CS:GO still there, Rare Issue with Starcraft 2 also.

    Meh...
     
  15. Luke7

    Luke7 Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4 GB
    @The Mac
    The crash appears when closing Internet Explorer 10 after playing flash TV or flash Movie on windows 7 64 bit.
    Last working driver for me is 13.2 beta7
    Disableing GPU acceleration does not help
    I do not use firefox or Chrome
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013

  16. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ah, so flash problem

    shocker.

    does disableing GPU acceleration in flash help?

    also, does it occur in chrome? (it has its own version of flash built in)
     
  17. ELCID777

    ELCID777 Banned

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x msi hd 7970's
    So what's better for xfire setups, 13.5 beta 2 or 13.4 WHQL?
     
  18. sunn

    sunn Master Guru

    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 TI
    these arent the 'prototype' drivers, peps still need to wait for the summer

    Link
     
  19. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    I have read elswhere that these are the first of the prototype drivers...

    but who knows honestly.

    The bigger question is which is newer: 13.4whql or 13.5beta2
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  20. MS-DOS

    MS-DOS Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    480
    They promised the drivers with the new memory manager "in a few weeks". But that was over two months ago... I doubt that 13.5 is the one.
     

Share This Page