AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.980.0 June 4) Unofficial BETA

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by marthand, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. John Larsen

    John Larsen Banned

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd5970
    Atiman Uninstaller 7.0.2 change log from overclock.net. !!!

    Download link
     
  2. ipredator

    ipredator Master Guru

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro K5000M
    Thanks mate, I even wondered if he discontinued his work after 6.3.1 was out so long :D
     
  3. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    it happens, sometimes a few patches & driver versions later, a game is much smoother

    i remember some people saying similar for bf3 a few months ago in another driver update

    in general, 40fps should never be stuttering like crazy
     
  4. Shaneus

    Shaneus Master Guru

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970/5850 TFX 899/1150
    Damnit, I only *just* uninstalled using 6.3.1 so I could get the June 4 betas on! PC is still running so I guess everything's okay :D
     

  5. stocovick

    stocovick New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 5870
    Hi everyone. I'm currently facing serious problems with catalyst's versions up from 12.1. Every newer version I tried gave me bsod's when my computer was idle, which is ridiculous. I tried clean installing everything but had no success. I'm testing 12.6 (the official beta) now and I haven't had any bsod so far, but I can't correctly configure my eyefinity setup and battlelfield 3 won't start after the update, it says it is initializing and then nothing happens. I know is is related to the catalyst version because I went back to 12.1 and the game starts right away. This also happens with mass effect 3 and if I try to open widescreen fixer it crashes. I tried uninstalling the previous version first and it didn't help. I tried installing it over the previous version and it didn't work. I have two 5870's in crossfire and three monitors plugged via dvi x2 and displayport. When I try to enable eyefinity it says it is enabled but nothing changes, I still remain with mirrored screens. The main reason I want to try newer versions is because I've been trying to play bf3 in eyefinity for months now but I just can't. I get massive drops in framerates and I've tried everything. I have an i7 920@4ghz and 6gb ram and I tried lowering the overall quality, disabling hyper-threading and a bunch of other things but nothing works. I can play with one card on ultra settings without aa at about 25 to 30 fps but when I enable crossfire my fps won't go past 40fps and it keeps dropping to 15 or lower all the time making it really hard to play. Also if I play using only one monitor and crossfire enabled the second gpu utilization drops to 0 as if it was using only one card. Please help! I don't know what else to do....
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012
  6. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Anyone understand why I always get a black screen when removing amd drivers? where it should switch to standard VGA driver mine doesn't and screen remains black. I then have to judge when to hit the reset button?

    Any one here get that?
     
  7. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    5700XT
    you probably removed standard vga driver with a cleaner :E
     
  8. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    No its still there, even when I go into device manger and try setting it, my screen remains black lol
     
  9. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    5700XT
    maybe the driver is not removed, but corrupted? idk :$.

    Or even configured to output in other screen (which may not exist xD), try pressing winkey+P many times.
     
  10. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    -
    This is such a stupid nonsense. Good luck screwing your OS up.
    Wasn't it stated numerous times people should never do this, especially in AMD's case, where the official uninstaller works just fine?
     

  11. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,562
    Likes Received:
    2,958
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Ref"
    I actually compared a while back when I got the 7970 I use and while the uninstaller will clean out most of the driver files and entries it will leave several behind in both the windows folder and registry plus custom presets and other things will also be saved as will the "cached" drivers windows use for rollbacks and such. (PNPUtil -d or what it was to clean them, I might be wrong, of course a utility that's thorough would also work.)

    I prefer to search for and manually clean such files if possible those times I do a complete driver install instead of just upgrading, just wiping ati* doesn't seem very safe to me (Especially if it gets any possible motherboard files for such users.) and using a list of actual files could get outdated if not regularly maintained.
     
  12. dreamslides

    dreamslides Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD/HD/6480G
    I'm using an A8-3500M w/ 6620G and when I install this beta driver or the slightly older one from a week prior I find that it boots to the Windows loading screen then when it fades away NOTHING. No desktop or anything. I fix it easily by going to system in control panel (safe mode) and rolling the video driver back, however this confuses the hell outta me?! What the reason for the driver to act this way is I've no idea.
     
  13. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    It seems you modded opengl & CCC in 8.97 April 18 with respective 8.98 files.
    Can I ask you what files did you replace to mod your version and what are your final improvements & fixes than 8.97 version (not modded)?
    I'm curious. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012
  14. bemaniac

    bemaniac Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI Trio X 3090
    with all 12.6 drivers my 7970 hits 100% fan speed with a black screen and I have to hold power until the pc shuts off to shut it up. This happens while using firefox for a few minutes. I'm back to 12.4 with the 12.6 caps and rock steady. Please fix 12.6 AMD because I'm playing krater and need the improvements.
     
  15. kidsafe

    kidsafe Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB
    I'm not sure if you ave the same problem as me, but my 7970 + 12.6 beta results in the screen going into standby randomly, then the entire PC goes to sleep. Then it wakes up by itself, but the monitor never comes out of standby and I am forced to reboot. Even if I hibernate my PC via pushing the power button and turn the system back on the display won't come back on.

    The only solution is to reboot fully.
     

  16. lenne

    lenne Master Guru

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 GTX Gainward
    Do u realise u just stated this heap of ********** in an unofficial Driver thread where it has been repeatedly noted that the installer and uninstallers are broken and the only way to properly remove them is with a cleaner ?
     
  17. ipredator

    ipredator Master Guru

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro K5000M
    Agreed. It works "Just fine" seriously? It leaves all the reg entries untouched and hopes that the next driver perfectly overwrites them.
     
  18. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Lol...
    I always use Driver Sweeper plus CCleaner. Call me anal but it works for me..:p
     
  19. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    Right, so...why is it that the supposedly 'Guru3D mirror' link points to the same DF link in the first post?
    Proper Guru3D mirror link is still available at the end of the first page, by the way, posted by HH.
     
  20. Babel-17

    Babel-17 Member Guru

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    Thanks for these, they fixed my issue of the setting for ITC processing in the Cat Control Panel not being remembered and needing to be reset after every reboot in order for my Sony XBR6 to use its advanced display settings.
     

Share This Page