AMD Catalyst 12.x (8.951.1 March 3rd) Win V/7/8 Unofficial BETA

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by marthand, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. Plug2k

    Plug2k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    3090
    What the Foook are ati/amd doing with drivers.
    still these drivers do not work correctly for single 6970 cards. always running at 3D clocks even on the desktop they never idle,

    drivers work perfect though when only 1 monitor is enabled as soon as you enable 2 monitors 3D clocks always kick in and never idle.
     
  2. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    im just going to leave this here. :nerd:

     
  3. SamuelMaki

    SamuelMaki Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Gigabyte 670 OC
    Well, I have been here many years, just didn´t want to make own account (maybe because I don´t have a gear to match with HC-players...). I don´t think that marthand gets so much money from this "driver business", he maybe did lose 3€ or something like that (but you can still support him and download from his link...). I just did reupload cause the download from depositfiles is so slow, maybe marthand wants to put the future files to something little faster hoster, so nobody needs to reupload them... 30min for 120mb is just too poor...
     
  4. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    8.96 28 feb crash bf3 crossfire for everyone
    this driver crash bf3 crossfire for someone
    next driver i hope no crash bf3 crossfire for no one!
     

  5. ipredator

    ipredator Master Guru

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro K5000M
    +1! :bigsmile:
     
  6. Del_Boy

    Del_Boy Banned

    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290 (2560x1600)
    Hi, fellow skyrim cfx flicker sufferer, ive scanned twater and cant find anything on this but you are referring to the lovely flashing textures everywhere when crossfire enabled the release notes of 12.2 whql mention nothing on this > (Elder Scrolls - Image corruption can be be seen with Anti-Aliasing enabled on specific AMD graphics hardware. This issue will be fixed in AMD Catalyst 12.3) this is not the same problem. Alarming isn't it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  7. Del_Boy

    Del_Boy Banned

    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290 (2560x1600)
    i almost forgot, this will fill the void until proper fix > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsqiSknjHK8&list=UUir4goG7LBQCh5rc3frkHuA&index=3&feature=plcp
     
  8. SaiBork

    SaiBork Master Guru

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    Nvidia 3080 Ti FE
    Running it in Windows 8, so far no issues with my logitech G19 keyboard anymore and dxdiag shows WDDM 1.2 is being used by the drivers. Installation works fine.

    Been playing SWTOR just fine last night and just now. Only some places have minor lighting issues, but i understand a lot of people have this with the game both NVIDIA and AMD.
     
  9. Luke7

    Luke7 Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4 GB
    Hi SaiBork
    Is .Net 3.5 needed for the control center, to get it installed on windows 8?
     
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    ^So who are you...the thread police? He was trying to be helpful and all you can do is insult his hardware.

    Go away.


    @SamuelMaki - Thank you
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012

  11. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,562
    Likes Received:
    2,958
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Ref"
    These seem to work pretty well so far, atidxx32.dll and atiumdag.dll now list their profiles with the oldest first but I found nothing of interest anyway though I imagine 12.3 might be fairly similar to the earlier 12.2 (kinda) release.

    No problems with them at least, wonder if that MLAA update is in there?
    http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33987631
    (Using that SMAA plugin most of the time however, of course I wouldn't know since it's a 7000 series update from how I understood it, seems nice but I would prefer more bugfixes for the drivers and that CCC .Net program, better optimization and memory usage for it would be nice too, ha ha.)

    I guess since these are from early March and it might take three or so weeks for WHQL then these must be a later release candidate though calling it a beta release probably works just fine, it's a leaked driver after all.
    (But it works surprisingly well, though I haven't really had much issues with AMD/ATI with these last couple of driver releases.)

    EDIT: Profiles were somewhat newer too, no idea how to read what's in those "blob" files but I guess it's just smaller updates from 12.2 CAP1 or what the previous was. :p
    (Switchable graphics thing too so maybe these drivers are some mobile variant or it's for those recent GPU/CPU models.)
     
  12. Aioras

    Aioras Master Guru

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti ***937;
    100% agree, he has been here for ten years but doesn´t even posted a hunder times yet... But with such a high-end hardware he has the rights to disturb new members...Well let´s return to the main thread.

    With the latest beta drivers BF3 and Cfx seems to be crashing, also Skyrim still has the corrupted textures bug and theflickering is not fixed yet. Lets hope with the next official drivers those problems should be fixed. I also noticed the 3DMark 11 score was broken too.

    SamuelMaki Thanks for uploading the file and wellcome to the forums.
     
  13. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    OK just installed these and all good so far. Well no BSOD's at least...will test some games soon. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  14. Bhudda

    Bhudda Master Guru

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Nvidia FE 3070
    Wow I can't believe some of the ignorant replies on this thread. Thanks OP I will try the driver out and report if it fixes the 4870X2 problems with BF3.
     
  15. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680SLI
    Garbage drivers. Instant crash loading BF3.
     

  16. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 970 @1420
    Decided to give Windows 8 a whirl again with these drivers. On a fresh install drivers work excellent. Skyrim and BF3 both play better than in Win7 on 11.12/12.3RC drivers. Nice work!

    Those who say these are trash, use them with a through cleaning of old drivers and they will probably work well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  17. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    i say that this driver is not trash. It work great on single gpu, crossfire and maybe on some crossfire system with bf3.

    because i play only bf3 (and some other games, but first bf3) and because on my crossfire this driver crash on loading, i must skip this driver.

    my system it's really clean, fast and affordable, i don't have problem at all of registry, old dll, old undeleted driver... this driver simply FOR ME doesn't work in bf3 with crossfire.

    i love AMD driver because (like with nvidia driver) i usually don't have any problems regarding my use and reporterd by the release note.
     
  18. Bhudda

    Bhudda Master Guru

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Nvidia FE 3070
    didn't work for me when trying to play BF3 under Vista 32 bit.

    I got the same stuttering and low fps with the current amd driver. Also when launching the game I was prompted to have drivers 11.x and above and this beta installation showed as 8.x

    I took some screen grabs of to verify but I'll upload later in the evening.

    edit - also I tried CAP which was included and the XFire settings for BF3 which also did not solve my problem.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  19. krishnarama108

    krishnarama108 Master Guru

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus ati 5850 1gb 850mhz
    its probably win8 driver....
     
  20. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 970 @1420
    I noticed on Windows 8 I got a shortcut on my start menu for switchable graphics. Anyone tried these on a switchable graphics laptop?
     

Share This Page