AMD Catalyst 12.8 (8.982.0 July 27) AMD Official WHQL

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Aug 15, 2012.

Tags:
  1. farhanahmed95

    farhanahmed95 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD 6850
    Have you guys installed windows 7 sp1?

    Notes.

    When installing the AMD Catalyst driver for Windows operating system, the user must be logged on as Administrator or have Administrator rights to complete the installation of the AMD Catalyst driver.
    The Catalyst driver requires Windows 7 Service Pack 1 to be installed.
    These release notes provide information on the AMD display driver only. For information on the ATI Multimedia Center™, HydraVision, HydraVision Basic Edition, Remote Wonder™, or the Southbridge/IXP driver, please refer to their respective release notes found at: http://support.amd.com/.
    AMD Eyefinity technology is designed to give gamers access to high display resolutions. As pixel count grows, the graphics “horsepower” required to drive the displays at a reasonable frame rate can increase dramatically. Depending on the game and system configuration, users may notice texture corruption and reduced frame rates when running games in multi-monitor Eyefinity modes.
    Windows Driver Model (WDM) drivers are no longer bundled in the AMD Catalyst software suite. The WDM drivers install bundle can be downloaded independently through the AMD website.
     
  2. Erai

    Erai Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac Gtx980Ti AmpExtreme

    I had some problems on firefox with these drivers, so i went back to the 12.7 beta...

    Crashing and adobe flash problems. They started right after i installed these drivers...
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  3. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    I have and is highly recommended you do.


     
  4. DummyPLUG

    DummyPLUG Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Titan X
    12.8 Fixed the bug which when Win7 WMC running the clock speed no longer lock at 500MHz even it need high clock, such as there are also a 3D program.
    and 12.8 seem much better support for 7970GHz, but the max clock lower to 1000 instead of 1050 in 12.6, this is what it should be
     

  5. Joaoo

    Joaoo Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    480RX
    Not working for me on win8 pro 64x

    Error saying CCC doesn't have any settings to change. Anyone has same error?

    anyone?

    [​IMG]

    EDIT Seems to be working now after 2 reboots! :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  6. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    ? What do you expect? Sounds like you just overclocked to far.
     
  7. VenoMaizeR

    VenoMaizeR Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix RX480OC 8gb
    July 19 were better i think....
     
  8. Ongael

    Ongael New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati Radeon HD 5650 - 1GB
    Why am I not able to post links?
     
  9. link626

    link626 Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 6650m, nvda gtx660m

    can you be more specific what flash problems?

    i'm running 12.7b right now, but i wanna know what problems to look for when i test out 12.8
     
  10. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,675
    Likes Received:
    662
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Thats a motherboard problem, you need an updated motherboard BIOS to use any drivers higher than 12.6, as AMD have made a change to their drivers that requires a one for certain boards.

    The change was explained here (in another thread):-

    Hence why im now running a 670, as my board doesn't have an updated BIOS to fix it. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012

  11. zarker

    zarker Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire 7870
    Any more info on this mobo bios thing anywhere...?
    I have a ma770-ud3 and get a lot of graphical anomalies in some games, so wondering if this may be the cause.

    thanks for the info
     
  12. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,675
    Likes Received:
    662
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Graphic anomolies could be a faulty card.

    You only need a new motherboard BIOS, if your getting black screen crashes (or any colour tbh) all the time, and 100% graphics card fan, requring a hard restart. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  13. WaqasR

    WaqasR Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire Radeon R9 270X
    working perfect like always
    no problem for me
    latest drivers are always better
     
  14. lukas_1987_dion

    lukas_1987_dion Master Guru

    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Gaming OC
    I have this problems, but no new bios is available for my AM3 gigabyte 790XTUSB3 for about 2 years... :wanker:
     
  15. xtremegamer

    xtremegamer Guest

    Hi...

    AMD Media Codec package is not installing, it says Catalyst Install Manager is up to date :(
     

  16. Deckard

    Deckard Master Guru

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI 2080Ti Gaming X
    just to report no problems here with 12.8 moved from 12.7beta all working well bf3 seems to have slightly higher IQ but it could be me
     
  17. sherrypizza

    sherrypizza Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 6990M 2GB
    Anyone here have success installing them on Alienware M17x r3 6990m?
     
  18. Sharoth

    Sharoth Master Guru

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2080 OC
    Installed right over the top of 12.6 WHQL and everything is running smooth. Skyrim, BF3, Crysis 2, Diablo 3 all seem a bit smoother. Definitely a keeper for me. ;)
     
  19. juneau78

    juneau78 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 6950 2gb
    no improvement whatsoever from 12.7b, i ran Dirt3 benchmark from average 56fps with 12.7b to 58fps with the new 12.8. but with Dirt Showdown benchmark; 42 to 46fps.
    and same P score with 3dMark11
     
  20. zarker

    zarker Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire 7870
    hmm. That's what i was fearing, that or a dodgy PSU (OCZGXS700). I also wondered if my mobo PCI-E 2.0 might be causing it too. I was also hoping it was just a driver issue, as I used to get EXTREMELY bad anomalies with 12.4 (only using SSAA, and only when FPs hit 30 or more), but that got fixed when I upgraded from winXP to Win7 x64. Now I just get the occassional stray bit of texture popping up in unlikly places, and only in one or two games.

    On a positive note, they've fixed the corrupting screen display on AvP :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012

Share This Page