AMD Catalyst 12.7 (8.981.2.1 June 25) AMD Official BETA

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Jun 26, 2012.

Tags:
  1. DjDiabolik

    DjDiabolik Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GT720
    This 12.7 Beta not support card HD4xxx ??
    From official AMD it's possible to find the 12.6 BETA.....
     
  2. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Master Guru

    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz Ed.
    Ah, interesting, and thank you.
    One person however, a few posts above, said that he had the crashes/GSOD problems, just using the CCC to overclock (mildly), not even Trixx at all, although he didn't say if the problems happened with the card purely at stock speeds....

    The real way to test whether it's just a trixx problem, or the 2D voltages getting used (as i suspected) when the card needs 3D speeds, is to use the /XCL switch in Afterburner to extend the CCC clocks and just use the CCC to overclock (or heck--just use the CCC without Trixx or AB, and see if you can reproduce the problem).

    Have you tried reproducing the crashes, *Just* using the CCC ?

    If the problem CAN be reproduced just using the CCC, then Spyre might want to hear about it, so the issue can be fixed. Could be an "Oops" driver bug, or related to changes for the ghz editions...
     
  3. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Can't reproduce it with scrolling/moving. However it seems to go into 3d Mode SOMETIMES. If that's the reason then it sucks. It means i can't overclock my card anymore. Which is pretty bad compared to my clock right now.
    No i don't use any OC-Software right now. But i also have this issue with the Powercolor HD7850 PCS+ (which is overclocked by stock) if this means something.
    Btw Trixx doesn't use 2d-Voltage at all. It uses *fixed* 3D Voltage even for 2D Mode. And it also crashed (with cat 12.8) when overclocking with Trixx.

    I had this issue on 3 different HD7850. First one was a Sapphire which i had to RMA because of a noisy/broken fan, second one is the Powercolor of my brother. And third one is my new Sapphire HD 7850 but the Problem with the Betadrivers is still there. Never had this issue with 12.3 or 12.4.

    In another forum a guy told me that using a "fix CPU-Vcore" fixed the Issue for him but i don't want to try that yet..

    Sorry for my bad english i hope you'll understand me anyway ;D
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    deleted by op
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012

  5. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,477
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Ive still got zero problems with these, still on my normal OC through the Overdrive, so great drivers for me, all i got with the 12.6's, was random coloured screens with vertical stripes down them, and 100% fan, so had to hard reset, and with the earlier 12.7's, i got a security alert upon install, and i had to re-do all my settings, as they had all gone back to defaults, also got a black screen crash with 100% fan.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  6. Erizo

    Erizo Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7950 3 GB
    Silly question, is that still your PSU? I don't think it can handle that card o_O
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970
    I appreciate this information as it's pretty much the same issues I had with those two drivers. Looks like I'll give these a try then.

    Cheers!
     
  8. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    I got a "be quiet 580W" now. But even a 300W PSU would be enough for that.
     
  9. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    GPU:
    Jedi Titan XP
    I get hard freezes whenever I open TRIXX, HWiNFO64, or GPU-Z a second time after exiting a game or 3d app.

    I can initially open any of the three and close them with no problems. It is after that initial opening when I run gpu-z's render test or start a game and exit I run into problems. If I try to open TRIXX or HWiNFO64 or GPU-Z again I get the hard freeze within in seconds. They don't even get opened before the freeze.

    In my case this started with all the drivers after 8.97-120418a (12.5 beta).

    Back to 12.5's.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  10. roflmaogcb

    roflmaogcb New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 OC
    does anyone know if this fix the xsplit problem ?

    (for those who don't know, xsplit doesn't work for all the people running a HD 7xxx since at least a couple of months, and AMD promised a fix.)

    Pretty important issue since everybody buying out a new computer in order to stream (like me) just can't.

    thx in advance !
     

  11. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,477
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    I was just going to stick with the 12.5 betas (April 18th), but thought what the hell, i can always roll back if i get any probs with these (which i was expecting after the earlier 12.7's and the 12.6's), and they are fine so far, so they are worth a try :)
     
  12. DjDiabolik

    DjDiabolik Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GT720
    I have try this driver on HD4650... the installation it's ok.. but at the restart no driver it's been installed and windows continue to use standard VGA driver.

    What's the the latest driver i can reinstall for my HD4650 ??

    From AMD site it's been suggested BETA 12.6 but i have try and same result..... help.
     
  13. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,477
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    The 12.4's were the last set for the 4 series as far as i know.
     
  14. Exodite

    Exodite Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56
    I can't vouch for his brand of PSU but my 460W unit never uses more than half capacity in anything but stress tests. 160-180W from the socket while gaming is normal.

    And I reckon a 6950 draws more than a 7850. Ditto for 2600K vs. 2500K.
     
  15. Natalia

    Natalia Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce 1080 Ti SLi
    Videos on YouTube are just showing up as green to me :-\
     

  16. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,152
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    Yea driver would be nice if it didn't black screen on me when ever my card is overclocked. Prior 12.6 may 22 betas Didn't do this to me. So in up going back to them.

    Sure If I got my card and didn't planned to be overclocked. Then I would keep it installed.
     
  17. MrBozack

    MrBozack Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7850OC Windforce
    Driver is 12.6 and a half

    Well my TDU is working fine with no abnormalities.

    QQ Dancer? WTF AMD? Did anyone actually buy a game called that? Please AMD do better....
    Still getting flickers in 2D mode with VGA cable. Digital HDMI is fine.

    ...and it's not 12.6 or 12.7!
    /lol_troll
     
  18. Drinker

    Drinker New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD7950
    Similar experience here as well:

    12.5 I got BSODs referencing atikmpag.sys

    12.6 No More BSODs - but I got the random colored screens with vertical lines

    12.7 (previous release) 4 days with no hard resets needed - now I am getting screen freezing but only in 2 games.

    It seems to freeze randomly, but more often when playing a game like WOW or Diablo3, and having firefox playing pandora at the same time. Sometimes with just the game with firefox closed, but less frequent. When it happens the keyboard and mouse both lock up as well. If I hit Num lock or caps lock the keyboard is non-responsive, and the mouse light turns off. Still have to hard reset.

    I have tried everything I could possibly think of outside of the drivers - updated BIOS, chipsets, sata controller driver, ssd firmware, moving and replacing ram, nothing makes a difference except the AMD Drivers, which seem to have an impact but are still not quite right. It is improving for me with each release though.

    Also... My wife leaves Pandora playing 8 - 10 hours a day with not one problem to date. If i launch wow or d3 then it will freeze within 45 minutes.

    Going to try these and see if it is fixed yet
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2012
  19. Drinker

    Drinker New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD7950
    Right click the video screen -> uncheck/disabled hardware acceleration

    That worked for me.
     
  20. DarthElvis

    DarthElvis Master Guru

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte gtx980 g1
    Seriously AMD? Skyrim problems, Max Payne problems, F1 2011 problems, etc, and you fix this crap? LMAO
     

Share This Page