1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Catalyst 12.3 PRE-WHQL (8.950.0 February 14)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Feb 16, 2012.

Tags:
  1. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    The fact that we have to install a previous working driver and then install this, a supposedly pre-released WHQL, just to make OC-ing works normally is a bit dumb.

    I've found that this driver actually managed to crash WinSAT at the Extended Media Assessment.

    Code:
    Faulting application name: WinSAT.exe, version: 6.1.7601.17514, time stamp: 0x4ce798fc
    Faulting module name: atiumd6a.dll, version: 8.14.10.350, time stamp: 0x4f3b1b29
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x00000000000cf5a3
    Faulting process id: 0x2ec
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cced48c4d2df7c
    Faulting application path: C:\Windows\system32\WinSAT.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\atiumd6a.dll
    Report Id: 45fc9e4f-593c-11e1-a84b-506313a022a4
    Probably an indication of flaky video support on 5650m.
    WinSAT is the benchmarking tool behind WEI, if there's anyone wondering.

    Here's a copy of what was on my command prompt when I ran WinSAT.
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    C:\Windows\system32>winsat formal
    Windows System Assessment Tool
    > Running the Formal Assessment
    > Running: Feature Enumeration ''
    > Run Time 00:00:00.00
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-aname DWM -time 10 -fbc 10 -disp off -no
    rmalw 12 -width 1280 -height 1024 -winwidth C(1144) -winheight C(915) -rendertot
    ex 6 -rtdelta 3 -nolock'
    > Assessing Desktop Graphics Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:12.54
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-aname Batch -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp off -a
    nimate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 300 -batchcnt C(10) -objs C(26) -re
    ndertotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -texpobj C(1)'
    > Assessing DirectX Batch Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:06.72
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-aname Alpha -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp off -a
    nimate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 300 -batchcnt C(75) -objs C(26) -re
    ndertotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -texpobj C(1)'
    > Assessing DirectX Alpha blend Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:06.63
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-aname Tex -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp off -ani
    mate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 500 -batchcnt C(125) -objs C(20) -noa
    lpha -texshader -totaltex 10 -texpobj C(4) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3'
    > Assessing DirectX Texture load Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:07.49
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-aname ALU -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp off -ani
    mate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 500 -batchcnt C(125) -objs C(20) -noa
    lpha -alushader -totaltex 10 -texpobj C(1) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3'
    > Assessing DirectX ALU Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:07.94
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname Batch -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp
     off -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 300 -batchcnt C(10) -objs C(
    26) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -texpobj C(1)'
    > Assessing DirectX Batch Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:06.40
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname Alpha -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp
     off -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 300 -batchcnt C(75) -objs C(
    26) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -texpobj C(1)'
    > Assessing DirectX Alpha blend Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:06.68
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname Tex -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp o
    ff -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 500 -batchcnt C(125) -objs C(2
    0) -noalpha -texshader -totaltex 10 -texpobj C(4) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3'
    > Assessing DirectX Texture load Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:11.81
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname ALU -time 5 -fbc 10 -disp o
    ff -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 500 -batchcnt C(125) -objs C(2
    0) -noalpha -alushader -totaltex 10 -texpobj C(1) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3'
    > Assessing DirectX ALU Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:09.75
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname GeomF4 -time 7 -fbc 10 -dis
    p off -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 150;200;241 -batchcnt C(50)
    ;C(200);C(300) -objs C(12);C(26);C(45) -noalpha -geomf4shader -texpobj C(0) -ren
    dertotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -tierframes 60 -tiertime 1'
    > Assessing DirectX Geometry Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:09.55
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname GeomV8 -time 7 -fbc 10 -dis
    p off -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 75;100;120 -batchcnt C(25);
    C(100);C(150) -objs C(8);C(17);C(29) -noalpha -geomv8shader -texpobj C(0) -rende
    rtotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -tierframes 60 -tiertime 1'
    > Assessing DirectX Geometry Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:08.70
    > Running: WinSAT Direct3D Assessment '-dx10  -aname CBuffer -time 5 -fbc 10 -di
    sp off -animate 10 -width 1280 -height 1024 -totalobj 75 -batchcnt C(25) -objs C
    (8) -rendertotex 6 -rtdelta 3 -texpobj C(1) -cbuffershader -cbufa 2 -cbuff 5 -cb
    ufp 6'
    > Assessing DirectX Constant Buffer Performance
    > Run Time 00:00:06.27
    > Running: Media Foundation Playback Assessment '-input C:\Windows\Performance\W
    inSAT\winsat.wmv -nopmp'
    > Run Time 00:00:02.73
    > Running: Extended Media Assessment '-input C:\Windows\Performance\WinSAT\Clip_
    1080_5sec_MPEG2_HD_15mbps.mpg -dshow -video offscreen -audio mute -width 100%m -
    height 100%m -constrain -savereg -autoprofname -expfrmmin 270 -expfrmmax 300 -ov
    errideframetype int2fps'
    
    C:\Windows\system32>
    WinSAT crashes with that last test.

    Another niggle that I've found is that CCC actually can't start properly on Windows startup with this driver.
    CLIStart.exe, the process that's used to jump start MOM.exe and CCC.exe, just sitting pretty in Task Manager doing nothing; I've waited until ~30 minutes after I logged in.
    Only when you access CCC via right-click on the desktop MOM.exe and CCC.exe are starting up, along with CLIStart.exe finally going away.
    Of course, this doesn't matter for those who don't really use CCC, but still a bug nevertheless.
     
  2. Raiga

    Raiga Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GPU
    SSAA for DX10/11 on AMD 7700 series?

    Can we scream for the same on AMD 6900 series, I'd say 6900 is faster than 7700?.
     
  3. DStealth

    DStealth Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    MSI GX 1080Ti@2088/12000
    No probs here at all
    39092
    [​IMG]
     
  4. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    As stated above, it's only a problem under a clean install.
     

  5. hallryu

    hallryu Don Altobello

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x HD7970
    ^^ 3DMark06 is heavily CPU dependant btw. However, nice rig.
     
  6. bighead147

    bighead147 Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati 5650m 1GB
    Have someone made benchmark on BF3? Is it better or worse? I will test it later ;)
     
  7. Mikedogg

    Mikedogg Banned

    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 4650M 1GB

    Are my eyes deceiving me? :eek3:

    Or does that only apply to 7xxx cards.
     
  8. GaBBa-Gandalf

    GaBBa-Gandalf Member Guru

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x XFX HD6970 2GB
    Good morning.... of course... That was always the case
     
  9. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    The answer is the sentence just above the one you emphasized.
     
  10. Mikedogg

    Mikedogg Banned

    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 4650M 1GB
    That's bloody ridicules. Why the hell aren't they supporting earlier cards?
     

  11. King Kong

    King Kong Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX Titan
    I assume they expecting us to buy 'em 7xxx cards regardless of their price due to the nature of 'It's new and outstanding so what the heck with support for boring 6xxx cards nowadays?'
     
  12. Solace

    Solace Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Doesnt work well with skyrim, horrible pixelation :/
     
  13. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    well funny thing, but all driver after the 8.932 crash on install ( all based on 8.95 so ), i have not done a fresh windows install, so maybe something with registry or visual C++ 2005 redistribuable .

    Edit: i have take an old 8.95-120124a-132309E-ATI .. and this time it have pass... lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  14. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,245
    Likes Received:
    423
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    I read it as this driver was now bringing it to the 7's as well, i didn't know earlier series couldn't do it.
     
  15. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    It's AMDoh being AMD!ck; nothing new.
    Nvidiyuck is probably not that better, but at least I haven't yet feel 'pushed' to upgrade because of a (new) feature that is supposedly doable on older generation cards being unavailable.


    It's probably a feature that'd be trickled down to older cards, just like MLAA support back then.
    But, who knows...
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012

  16. GeniusPr0

    GeniusPr0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    working great with 6990M Xfire thanks!
     
  17. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1060
    Same. Worked fine in 12.2 Preview though, I think I might go back to that ...
     
  18. FDisk

    FDisk Master Guru

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX970 OC 4GB
    Because $$$
     
  19. bolan

    bolan Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 7950 @ 950
    Good drivers. The flickerling seems to be gone in BC2, even on large mapsm such as Heavy Metal. Too bad that OC with Afterburner at boot times dose not work anymore.
     
  20. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    answer seems fairly obvious: its not going to happen; earlier gens dont have enough rendering power to make SSAA DX10/DX11 work even remotely well. They can barely handle DX9. Its not in AMDs best interest to add functionality that exposes the limitations of its hardware. I suppose trifire/quadfire might, but thats niche.

    Besides, from a marketing standpoint, its now a selling feature for 7xxx...lol

    If you think about it, find a game thats dx10/dx11 that has SSAA (it has to be in the game, you cant force it in the driver) in it that isnt already pushing your card to the limit without it?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012

Share This Page