AMD Catalyst 12.2/3 (8.950.0 February 14) AMD Official WHQL

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Mar 7, 2012.

Tags:
  1. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    try bumping the voltage up a bit and see if that helps. even though its factory oc'd, the voltage might be set a little low. also, i thought you needed an evga card to use oc scanner. i remember i tried to use it on an msi 580 le but i got an error message saying someting along the lines of it needed an evga card.
     
  2. NiColaoS

    NiColaoS Master Guru

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    GTX 1660 SUPER
    Pretty much I think you're right... Right now, the core clock is @900Mhz and Afterburner shows me Voltage 1.031. ASIC Quality 71%. When I saw those extreme artifacts in Skyrim, I ran again EVGA SCanner and got 10.000 in seconds :S Something is wrong with Afterburner and CCC... I don't remember if I had Overdrive enabled too.

    I thought instantly my card broke... I'll bumb the voltage to 1.037 and I'll let it there. Meanwhile, yesterday I played 2 hours BF3 with core clock 1000Mhz and Voltage 1.068. All went fine... If I bump only core clock at 1000Mhz, I can't start BF3... I get instant driver crash, but that's normal, I think.

    P.S. The EVGA OC Scanner is working normally. I don't know about other utilities by them.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  3. djsatane

    djsatane Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 6990
    Ever since 12.1 and now 12.2 when I install/clean install either 12.2 on my 6990, CCC loads but the overdrive panel does not do anything, I can set defaults or change fan speed and click apply but actual button will not even flash and all the settings I choose will untick and never work. Going back to 11.12 drivers is currently my only solution and everything works fine on 11.12.... This is horrible because I love to have control of fan speeds through overddrive but with 12.xx drivers so far none of that works on my hd 6990. Quite sad state of affairs at AMD with these 12.xx drivers.

    Oh and back with 12.1 drivers the fan would not even go up by itself(I did not hear it at all rev up) even after my card hit 80C.... so I am not gonna risk keeping these drivers installed if I cant set specific fan speed through overddrive...
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  4. gaul

    gaul Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870
    link for 2 file plz ?? upload plz ?

    atipdl64.dll and atipdlxx.dll
     

  5. Marcin89

    Marcin89 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 680
    I installed drivers twice and still geting some OpenCL.dll error
    [​IMG]
     
  6. tty8k

    tty8k Master Guru

    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    164
    GPU:
    3070
    Tried that, the only thing that fixes is the clock detection, any overclock seems to give me screen flickering like is alternating 2D/3D modes or something.
    Even with that OpenCL still can't see the card properly and has gpu disabled in many software like MVP.

    Honestly I don't see this batch reliable since we have to to a ton of mods to make them behave normally, looks more like experimental to me than a solid WHQL set.
    To be honest I think they just made it in a rush, having to work on new 7xxx drivers and who knows what else, probably mixed some wrong code or files on the way.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  7. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?0y3p3d530ilh1ue

    Those are from 12.1 WHQL.


    You might want to try including them before installation so that the installer does the rest of the work registering the files properly in Windows.
    Or copy the .dll files from an already installed set.
    Personally I've found that simply extracting them and renaming them from the installer package didn't work well.

    Anyway, regarding Catalyst driver sets behaving like an unfinished product, that's nothing new. =b
     
  8. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Ya right waste of time need to ctrl alt to finally get it to load and then block pixels all over the place. It appears I spend more time installing ati sh!t driver than gaming. Poor real poor. I have to laugh now when they show pictures of games when installing drivers .... you got to be kidding me.

    http://imageshack.us/f/17/tesv2012030907052339.jpg/

    Regards
     
  9. Witcher

    Witcher Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Intel
    Can any one tell me what is kdbsync.exe running all the time after installing driver. Should I disable it?
     
  10. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    QFT. :p


    According to some people on another thread, it's from the Advanced Video Transcoding thing; dunno really.
    I've never installed anything from the set except for the graphics driver, CIM, and CCC.
     

  11. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    for people still having oc issues, just start AB with the /xcl switch, should work the same as the racerx utility. works with 7xxx series as well

    per unwinder:

    "/XCL eXtends Clock Limits for official AMD overclocking APIs. Which means that it also extends clock limits for CCC or any other other vendor specific tool using official overclocking interfaces provided by AMD. Considering that it is using official AMD overclocking interface, it is compatible with ULPS. This method is equal to flashing new VGA BIOS with extended Overdrive clock limits.
    However, this method uses hidded VGA BIOS emulation debug feature of Catalyst driver. Once AMD decide to remove it from driver, it will stop working. It is also necessary to re-extend clock limit after driver re-installation because VGA bios emulator resides in Catalyst registry entries.

    Unofficial overclocking uses old undocumented "hole" in AMD driver, which allows to re-program PowerPlay table and bypass Overdrive clock limits. AMD used this unofficial interface in the past for their internal AMDGPUClockTool. Currently the "hole" is not supported by AMD in any way, it is incompatible with some AMDs own power saving technologies (ULPS), it has many side effects due to "nice" AMD programming skills (such as resetting fan speed and powertune to defaults, etc, etc)."
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  12. psy_parasite

    psy_parasite Member Guru

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7950x2 OC
    i just got my 7950 setup, fresh install with these drivers.. games are working okay so far, but im noticing some corruption horizontal static lines if i sit at the WoW login screen.. i can see them flicker once in a while. i turned off oc on the card lines still there , not all the time but flicker on and off. are these not recommended for 7950 users?
     
  13. WalterDasTrevas

    WalterDasTrevas Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX970 oc
    lol !!
    - Kingdoms of Amalur -

    Catalyst 12.1 : 60 fps
    Catalyst 12.2 : 120 FPS!! lol
     
  14. WalterDasTrevas

    WalterDasTrevas Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX970 oc
    Bro, I use alt-tab all the time, and NOT have graphical problems. Your problem is not a universal problem, is a problem with your Windows/Catalyst.
    Catalyst 12.2 is the fastest driver in a long time. Kingdoms of Amalur gain 60fps after 12.2 WHQL! :)
     
  15. DeFade

    DeFade Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SapphireToxic R9 280X 3GB
    These are by far the worst drivers I've tried yet for BF3. Not even maintaining 60 fps...
     

  16. Valagard

    Valagard Guest

    Installed these with my new ASUS Direct CU II 7970 TOP videocard, everything is running fine, I don't see anything wrong

    Get around 50-60FPS with 4x edge detect on and Adaptive AA turned on at 1920x1080 in skyrim, and get 130-180FPS in L4D2 (Only games I have tried so far) which is a downright VAST improvement too my 6970, which would only get 20-35FPS Skyrim and 60-90FPS L4D2
     
  17. adrock311

    adrock311 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
    yep, I got the same flashing blocks in skyrim. the way I got rid of it was completely disable AA and instead check FXAA in skyrim options
     
  18. hispanico

    hispanico Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 5870
    I unistall again and also with drive sweeper clean my system Installed 12.2 but same problem after 5/6 minutes BF3 crash... (is not a problem of adsl because test ping during play).
    uhmmm i don't understand where is the problem and because with 8.921.5 this problem not appear...

    Hispanico
     
  19. WalterDasTrevas

    WalterDasTrevas Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX970 oc
    I am not playing on multiplayer, but in single player, for me, BF3 is running awesome!
    CFG in ULTRA MODE minus AA.

    In METRO, the first scene, 178 fps!
    In the first scene in the city, 78-88 fps, without artifacts or stuttering! For me, Catalyst 12.2 is MARVELOUS!:heh:
    In the "heavy" part of the first mission in the city, I have 45/55 fps.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2012
  20. WalterDasTrevas

    WalterDasTrevas Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX970 oc
    Hi!
    CFX here and nothing wrong with the game graphics. Same with BF3 and Kingdoms of Amalur. For me, these Catalyst make miracles! lol
     

Share This Page