AMD Catalyst 12.11 (9.010.8 November 15) AMD Official BETA 11

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Oct 22, 2012.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,370
    Likes Received:
    6,972
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    We got 3 betas this month be patient.
     
  2. Leito360

    Leito360 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX480 Nitro+
    Yeah, but still no fix for AC3 poor performance.... I know it's Ubi**** fault but.......
     
  3. Dalton Sleeper

    Dalton Sleeper Member Guru

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 1080 8GB
    NFS Mostwanted, Hitman Absolution and Assassins Creed 3 doesn't work very well with 2x7970. Anyone else having those issues or is it that the games are cpu-bound?
    The Q66 is kind of outdated but most games works just fine. Will probably buy an Ivy Bridge, mobo and RAM in the beginning of next year...
     
  4. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,823
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    Asus TUF RTX 3080
    How are these in FC3 compared to 12.10?

    If someone has the time to do a comparisation, i'd appreciate that by A LOT.

    I did fresh Win 8 install, and 12.11 made everything unplayable, movies and menu are lagging really bad.
     

  5. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
    Show your in game settings
     
  6. Vengeful#1

    Vengeful#1 Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7970 OC 3GB
    The link for CAP 12.11 Cap1 isnt working..and all i can find on the AMD site is their 12.10 CAP1? what goes on here?

    Do we have to use this new Beta8 driver with 12.10cap1?
     
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012
  8. Vengeful#1

    Vengeful#1 Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7970 OC 3GB
  9. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
  10. bart5986

    bart5986 Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 290x OC
    The Q6600 is likely too slow for one 7970... you have two.....
     

  11. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Have tested FarCry3 about 3 hours with 12.10WHQL Cap1 Vs. 12.11b8 in Windows 7 x64. The performance similar to each over although in 12.11b8 description written - "Includes single GPU performance updates for Far Cry 3". It gets better - with 12.11b8 i have few BSODs, several CTDs and some ingame lags...dunno why, 12.10WHQL Cap1 have no issues with that.

    12.10WHQL + Cap1
    1080p
    DirectX11
    2xMSAA + FXAA: 10.7b by somedude
    Tesselation = CCC: Maximum
    Vsync, GPU Buffered Frames = OFF
    Threaded rendering = OFF
    Alpha to Coverage = OFF
    HDAO = ON
    Video Quality = "ULTRA"

    45-80+ FPS

    Some bugs with both versions of Catalyst:

    1. In dx11 with "Vsync, GPU Buffered Frames = 1" i have random lags, FPS was auto capped on 30 in some areas, randomly.

    2. In dx9 while looking at sky or sun FPS was autocap on 20 or 30.

    3. With "Threaded rendering = ON" i have ingame lags and 10-20% loss of FPS. Correct me if i'm wrong, but does that function should increase FPS on multi-core CPUs in dx11?

    4. Although 4xMSAA at 1080p is playable, but it's often lagging very bad - from 20 to 60 FPS while i'm standing still.

    Apart from all of that, the game works very well. After 4 hours of gameplay i have zero CTDs (Catalyst 12.10Cap1) or any unplayable bugs...everything looks ok :) Despite some lags and bugs the game itself very good optimised for PC...i think.

    PS. FarCry3 - 1.01 Patch
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    AMD drivers don't fully support it yet.
     
  13. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Pity :(
    But after they will...it will increase FPS on multi-cores CPUs, right?
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah should do, basically it allows the CPU to send more instructions to the GPU instead of being tied up with other work.

    This way the GPU can be more efficient.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012
  15. SicKlown

    SicKlown Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE x2
    In theory yes, but it will depend on the CPU and how many calls the driver makes. But it seems that AMD doesn't think it improves performance enough in the few games that use to warrant them including it in their drivers.
     

  16. Dalton Sleeper

    Dalton Sleeper Member Guru

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 1080 8GB
    Yeah, I'm aware of that (getting same fps as 2x4890 2GB in some cases).
    Anyway, the performance in these games are much worse than other games, that is why I'm asking if there are driver issues, the games are all new so I guess that is a fair assumption...
     
  17. rgabriel15

    rgabriel15 Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte HD6850 1GB GDDR5
    How you are seeing the Multithreaded Rendering option if its supposedly exclusive to Nvidia on FC3?
    Its exclusive to HD7000 series or was implemented on this patch 1.01, cause i have a HD6850 and i cant see this option!
     
  18. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Just cheked...it's gone, i don't see it :3eyes:
    Dunno...maybe it was where in 1.0 version or activated when 12.11b8 is installed. But i really can't see it in video options at this moment...but it still present in "ini" config - D3D11MultithreadedRendering=

    PS. I'm on 100% sure that it was in video options menu...out of the question! :)

    PPS. I just finish re-installing/ re-configuring Windows with fresh installed 12.10WHQL Cap1...installed FC3, after installation the game auto update (i didn't cancel it) itself to 1.01...
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012
  19. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    AMD has specifically said it has no intention of adding Multi-Threaded rendering to it drivers as it has no discernible effect on performance on its hardware.
     
  20. caleb59

    caleb59 Member Guru

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
    What the hell!?

    Far Cry 3 version 1.01:

    * DX 11 - 30-45 fps (this is normal) :)
    * DX 9 - 4 fps all time even in game menu (this isn't normal) :3eyes:

    Game settings are:

    Resolution - 1680x1050 (default)
    Details - High (custom)
    AA nad V-Sync - OFF (default)
    GPU Max Buffered Frames - 1 (default)
    Alpha To Coverage - Enhanced (default)
    SSAO Method - HDAO (default)

    My PC:

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz
    Kingston 4GB DDR2 RAM
    Sapphire Toxic HD6850 1GB DDR5
    Sound Blaster Audigy SE
    Windows 7 Home Premium x64

    Temps are normal! Other games works just fine!

    Using Catalyst 12.11 Beta 8 - any ideas!?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page