AMD Catalyst 11.9 [RAGE Driver] (8.892.3 October 3)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Oct 4, 2011.

Tags:
  1. WaxPaper

    WaxPaper Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 5870 (Mobile)
    What makes you say that RadeonPro won't work? I've been using it to try and tweak these settings you mentioned, and although I haven't found a perfect combo yet to avoid the freeze/stuttering, it does launch with RadeonPro and I know it's at least using some of RadeonPro's settings...

    Does one of the key settings not work when launched from RadeonPro or something?
     
  2. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    it didnt work initially (no ding noise i have setup on profile activation, and no OGL logo), after mucking around a bit, mostly with the forced options, it started working. right after i disabled OGL tripple buffering...

    i cant recommend enough to uninstall, driver sweep, and reinstall the rage driver..i couldnt even start it without doing that.

    here are my exact radeon pro settings that give me zero stuttering:

    AA: enabled, Use App settings
    MLAA: disabled
    AA Filter: Edge Detect
    AA Mode: Adaptive
    ASF enabled, use app settigs
    Tesselation control: disabled (this does not mean tesselation is disabled)
    Verical Sync: off unless app specifies

    Forced Tripple buffering: disabled
    AS optomization: disabled
    TL optimization: disabled
    Optimaize Surface Formats: disabled
    Texture filtering quality:HQ
    MipMap Quality: HQ
    Texture LOD: disabled
    Flip Queue Size: enabled, driver default
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  3. WaxPaper

    WaxPaper Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 5870 (Mobile)
    Yeah I knew it was working because I saw the OGL logo and the onscreen FPS counter... But lemme ask you this; you said disabling OGL triple buffering solved your issue of it freezing every few seconds... I did the same by just unchecking the tick box, although I'm still getting the freeze. I also set Tesselation to App Controlled, and set Antistropic to App Controlled as well (as well as AA)... I wonder if I'm missing something that you set...
     
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    see above, i assume you unticked to OGL one? there is a D3D as well which will have no effect
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011

  5. WaxPaper

    WaxPaper Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 5870 (Mobile)
    Yep, unticked the OGL box specifically... Maybe I'll have to just keep trying to tweak these settings, like trying to set Tesselation to "Force Off" instead of "App Controlled," as well as some others... Right now I think I'm getting exactly the problem you described, where every few seconds the whole game freezes for about 5 to 8 seconds (even during the in-game menu, after the campaign is launched).... That sound the same?

    I also noticed that latest AMD patch did make the textures appear faster, but you're probably right about the engine, because you can still notice them loading if you pivot fast enough...
     
  6. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    yes, i was getting that exact same freezing issue.

    see my above post, i listed all my settings
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  7. eXisor

    eXisor Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 580 3gb
    @asder00 :

    Any chance of a Vista inf kind sir?
    .
     
  8. LiquidFrost

    LiquidFrost Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 FTW
    11.6 is the only driver that can run this game on my rig without freezes and issues, the performance driver is an absolute joke.
     
  9. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    your proc is slloowwww....

    i went from a c2d 8400 ocd to 4gig to an i5 SB and most of my game performace doubled, minimum

    this game is multi-threaded;

    11.6 proboly didnt have some features available for 5850...

    most likely a combination of slow texture feeds to the card from the cpu, and AA optimization...
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  10. Radier

    Radier Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI RX 470 4 GB
    CatalystCreator
     

  11. kazama

    kazama Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 X
    Are those drivers the same of 11.9 whlq but with the rage optimization?
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  12. LiquidFrost

    LiquidFrost Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 FTW
    The game is poorly optimized, and I'm not the only AMD user with issues with the performance drivers, some on i7's have same issues.
     
  13. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    You can have both optimisations by using the BF3 driver, and using the following files from the Rage driver:

    atio6axx.dll (x64 only)
    atioglxx.dll
    atidemgx.dll

    In the driver folders, these are usually individually compressed and have the .dl_ extension. For driver installation, both methods (.dl_ and .dll etc) are correct and installable, by both the device manager and Catalyst installer. Just as long as you don't have a file of the same name with .dl_ and .dll extension.

    Of course, atio6axx.dll should be copied for consistency, even though atioglxx.dll is the one that RAGE uses. The atidemgx.dll file is newer in the RAGE driver so that should also be copied over :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  14. LostHH

    LostHH Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX HD6950
    What a waste, preorder cancelled. I'll get it when some patches and driver updates have been released - cannot be arsed with duck taped fixes
     
  15. foxX

    foxX Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Vega 56 AB OC
    This driver is pretty bad. Quake Wars performance got down a bit.

    I think that this driver detects "Rage" running and goes to some hacked code paths. With catalyst AI off, the textures are horribly messed up in the game; with Catalyst AI on, the CPU usage skyrockets and the game is unplayable (E8400 + Radeon 4850).

    Gotta love the industry approach: problem - duct tape - repeat.
     

  16. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Have to love users with Core 2 Duo's moaning about performance.

    I used to have a 3.7ghz core 2 duo back when Wolfenstein was released and it was slow pos holding back in most games then, let alone NOW.

    Move on with the times.

    Quad or GTFO.
     
  17. foxX

    foxX Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Vega 56 AB OC
    could you please kindly supply some benchmark data, inb4 gtfo yourself? would overclocking mine to 3.8 GHz help? or should i get a duodecacore xbox 360 with the state-of the art x1900 to run the game?
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  18. asder00

    asder00 Don Di Driver Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64 Liquid
    Yes sorry i forgot, :p here it is:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?sshnli1yohf55qx

    For those who don't know how to apply this fix heres a mini guide:
    1) Run the file "amd_catalyst_rage_performance_driver.exe" let it extract the files, when the installer pops up close it.
    2) Navigate to "C:\AMD\AMD_Catalyst_Rage_Performance_driver" and put here the folder named "Packages" from my fix, overwriting when asked.
    3) Run "Setup.exe" and install.
    4) ???
    5) PROFIT!
     
  19. skyline385

    skyline385 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS DirectCU EAH6850
    Listen smartass.....

    Go google online and u will find its a problem about the stupid game not detecting GPU VRAM and going for 100% CPU Usage

    http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.ph...n-problem/page__gopid__18738684#entry18738684

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2154053&page=28

    So STFU about your stupid quad-core and GTFO this thread, u useless prick
    Not everyone here is filthy rich (or from your attitude,i guess filthy rich parents), got it
     
  20. xtremegamer

    xtremegamer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS 5750 1GB DDR5

Share This Page