AMD Catalyst 11.6 WHQL (8.861 May 24) - Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Jun 14, 2011.

Tags:
  1. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,545
    Likes Received:
    584
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Shame your gona lose that boost though, and a lot more next week, when the Dx11 patches are out :D
     
  2. piscesking

    piscesking New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI / 5770/ 1gb/ x2
    it disabled Crossfire :(
     
  3. gerasimd

    gerasimd New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    msi 6970 oc
    Ok i m getting exactly the same fail with you ,can you tell exactly (step by step) how to fix it?
    i cant find this file you are talking about to my computer and i dont know where to find these options you say so to see everything that is in my folder
    Please answer i am looking all over google for something like 4 days without find anything!
     
  4. Raiga

    Raiga Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GPU
    After some (my PC's) wierd issue of windows boot freeze after installation of CAT 11.6 and 11.6 CAP1, first impression of performance is good .....!

    getting additional 10 FPS at witcher 2, in the prologue area right after you exit from Triss's tent in the beginning. (when compared against the CAT 11.5 without any CAP's, which I used to play)

    I have yet to play the game, gonna do it after sleep!.


    I always use Dxtory with witcher 2 to limit FPS to 59, and D3Doverrider to force Vysnc+Triple Buffering from outside the game.
     

  5. g60force

    g60force Master Guru

    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    NV 1660Ti + 5850
    Having serious graphic artifact with 1.6 W7x64 in Photoshop CS4 64bit
    looks like all the GPU previous functions are affected :(

    games run perfect though....

    (1.4 all was fine)
     
  6. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Just a quick question out of curiousity...

    In the inf file for the drivers, and this goes for the previous drivers and the different chipsets, what does this line do:
    The figure is either 128 or 256 for the different card series, just wondering why its 256, as obviously the card has more than that... what affect would setting this to 2048 (for 2GB video RAM) have and reinstalling the drivers?
     
  7. kira1985

    kira1985 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6850 Cyclone PE 1GB
    Just tried that, changing to 1024. Driver didn't install.
     
  8. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Yeah its kind of a curious setting, are you on Windows Xp/Vista/7 32 bit/x64?
     
  9. kira1985

    kira1985 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6850 Cyclone PE 1GB
    xp sp3
     
  10. Murjuk

    Murjuk Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 6950
    I think that setting is for integrated graphic cards only. It defines how much ram is shared between system and graphics.
     

  11. Pegasus19

    Pegasus19 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6870 Twin Frozr II
    I fixed my DiRT3 issue by going into the Hardware settings config XML file and setting the force DX9 parameter to 'Ture'.

    You can find this file in My Document > My Games > Dirt3 > Hardware Setting> XML file is in here.

    Edit with notepad or other text editor and give it a bash.

    Fixed my problems in both Dirt3 and F1 2010.

    Hope this helps?
     
  12. izikog

    izikog Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 6950@70 910/1400
    for me this is the worst driver ever as I can not use it... never had any problem like this... tried to install it with complete package, separate component display driver only but no go... the PC goes in reboot loop or does not install correctly so I am back to 11.5... instead of playing games lost the whole sunday afternoon to return the PC back in working mode
     
  13. nexu

    nexu Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870 512MB (@795/1085)
    To everyone that claimed FPS boost using 11.6:

    Could someone please make a screenshot (png or some non-lossy compression format) comparison regarding image quality vs older drivers?
    Gaining the some claimed FPS boost always makes me wonder or they sacrificed something on the IQ department.

    I don't have time to this myself. Very much appreciated if anyone could do this and report back.
     
  14. Sasquatch_04

    Sasquatch_04 Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro
    forcing dx9 kills my fps though....do you get the same problem?
     
  15. isidore

    isidore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI GamingOC
    didn't noticed any improvement in the games i play, especially The Witcher 2, though my hd5650 mobile doesn't really have the horse power to run the game fluid, so i can't expect some miracle from an ATI driver (never had and never will)..rest of my games run great and stable, the mouse lag in the right corner is still present.
     

  16. Ouzo

    Ouzo Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    Nice.

    Just run Heaven DX11 with everything maxed out, and getting BSOD, with atikmpag.sys as the problem, and other hanging at 99% and not coming down... funny thing is temps lower to idle temps, but usage is still 99%. After that BSOD attacks :/

    Any quick ideas where to go from here?
     
  17. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,841
    Likes Received:
    963
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 590
    For all you guys having BSOD , please if you can report your problem here on the 11.6 BSOD tread it will be appretiate it , the more info we gather , the better for the AMD Driver Team to come up with the fix. Thank you.

    Post here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346210
     
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    Pulse RX5700 8GB
    It's naught to do with how much ram your video card has but rather what width the memory bus runs at
     
  19. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Ah ok, that makes more sense :)

    All those with BSODS and issues with 11.6's try the 11.7 'preview' linked to in anothet thread:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=347058

    This resolved my BSOD problem and it, so far, seems to be working better than even the 11.5b's did. I highly recommend it! AMD inadvertently added the BSOD issue with 11.6, and aren't sure where in the driver it is, but they must have inadvertently resolved it with these, as the date is before they started looking in to the issue but the driver versions are later than 11.6! :)
     
  20. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Driver Packaging Version
    11.6 --> 8.861-110624a-119606C-ATI
    11.7 --> 8.871-110619a-121104E

    2D Driver Version
    11.6 --> 8.01.01.1162
    11.7 --> 8.01.01.1171

    Direct3D Version
    11.6 --> 7.14.10.0841
    11.7 --> 7.14.10.0847

    OpenGL Version
    11.6 --> 6.14.10.10834
    11.7 --> 6.14.10.10906

    Catalyst Control Center Version
    11.6 --> 2011.0524.2352-41027
    11.7 --> 2011.0619.1616.27348

    So, new Direct2D driver, new Direct3D driver, new OpenGL driver, new Control Centre, and apparently the new more advanced OpenCL 2.5 (old one 2.4).
     

Share This Page