AMD Catalyst 11.5a Hotfix (8.85.6 RC5 - May 25)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, May 25, 2011.

  1. danfim

    danfim Master Guru

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980
    thanks asder!
     
  2. InfiniteDaremo

    InfiniteDaremo New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Mobility HD 5850 1GB
    No uber.

    Low settings with 800x600 ~25fps
    High Settings with 1920x1080 (No uber/AA/V-sync) - ~25fps

    By default on this Alienware M15X it seems to be OC'd by default, at least looking at the guide i saw.

    The minimum requirements is a Core 2 Duo and my i7 is bottlenecking? Ughhhh!
     
  3. geeunit

    geeunit Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    intel 4500mhd
    the sound manager icon is system tray (little white speaker in win7 by the clock) if you right click and select "Playback Devices" or "Recording Devices" it still takes a long time for it to open.
    note im in windows classic theme and adjusted for "Best Performance"

    note: when i have cfx disabled they both open right away.
     
  4. TheGuuH

    TheGuuH Master Guru

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 470 XFX
    i have the same issue ( idk if disabling CFX helps ) but when i disable the ATI HDMI AUDIO stuff in device manager the sound manager opens FASTERRR, i have this "bug" since 10.12 or 11.1 xD

    ( i dont use HDMI only DVI )
     

  5. geeunit

    geeunit Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    intel 4500mhd
    yep its been around for a long time.
    i use hdmi sound but i will try and disable some sound devices and see if it helps like you said.
     
  6. perosmct

    perosmct Banned

    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    unknown
    smooth gaming...

    lets sum it up...

    for me...

    a) +15 fps more average on dirt 3, +10 fps more on minimum...EPIC SMOOTH GAMEPLAY = WIN...!!!:banana:

    b) witcher 2 never ever dips below 60 fps all max 1920x1080 , no ubersampling...butter smooth...

    c) brink all max out 1920x1080, no ambient occlusion, gives 90-450 fps...smooth
     
  7. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Finally got Crossfire working in Brink, 93% on each core.

    But I still get too much of a hit using Ambient Occlusion even after the latest Brink patch so have to keep it off.
     
  8. Sobtanian

    Sobtanian Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 crossfire-1125/1575
    Thanks oh great asder!

    Unfortunately, Brink still seems to be single GPU, no CFX. I wonder if it needs an associated CAP. I am using these drivers + 11.5 CAP2 asder gave us as well.

    Anyone got Brink working with CFX?

    Fable III has improved significantly though, thanks!
     
  9. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
    Ye, uber driver :D
    And the patch 1.1(for Witcher 2) will be released tonight :) Nice
    Thanks asder00
     
  10. k4sh

    k4sh Member Guru

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 1070 @ 2139-2152
    Sorry but no. Still the same crap. :bang:
     

  11. Anvirol

    Anvirol Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7970
    Witcher 2 10.5a RC3 with DIRT2+AFR and 10.5a RC5 without Radeon Pro delivers same performance, which is nice. Saves some trouble for most users.

    But while doing that, AMD did manage to cause a lot of visual artifacts.

    For example now light sources can be seen through terrain:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Crossfire is working in Brink here.

    But it is not scaling great, some maps 95% on both cores but other maps like than rain one 60% on each core and 45fps :bang:
     
  13. perosmct

    perosmct Banned

    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    unknown
    that's true i can confirm the lights problem...it's epic FAIL...hahahaha:biggun:

    let's hope that 1.1 patch will make game perfect...i can't wait...damn it...!!!

    i am bored wait next hotfix from amd again for witcher 2 problems...lol:wanker:
     
  14. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    I don't see it at this point, but im not in night env. right now ...

    Anyway, im not sure get more or less fps compared of using AFR+Radeonpro .. but yes it's good, miss just a cap for fix the last prob. and the patch of tonight.
     
  15. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    the full screen bug have nothing to do with AMD driver, ( on resolution higher of 1900x1200 ) as Nvidia user get it too ( and even worse problem in some case lol ) it's the game, let's hope they have fix it on the patch who should come in few hour ( if ready )

    I believe this fix should be in the patch, as it's a serious issue .


    Well, this is typically the type of game it's better to wait 2 weeks before buy it, it's not a big studio, and even big studio have offtly problem fix all the bugs before release ... And damn, it's not a little game.... .... But well the game is completely playable ( at least i have not face any problem who have make me close the game ), and i enjoy it so far .... too bad there's some damn issue on some setup ( 2500x1600 monitors users )
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2011

  16. geeunit

    geeunit Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    intel 4500mhd
    do you think you could take the time to at least tell us what kind of system specs you have.

    master guru...
     
  17. Russ369

    Russ369 Master Guru

    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FE
    This is a big issue, without fullscreen working I cant make use of CFX... :bang:
     
  18. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    664
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    I suggest you open up resource monitor and play the game in window mode. Using the CPU portion what is the maximum frequency when gaming? And, how are the cores being loaded? Not when you are at desktop.
     
  19. jsolo

    jsolo Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    @work:6770,7770,260X
    I'm considering this driver release for inclusion in a corporate system image.

    Does anyone know if it fixes the VLC issues and that there are no regressions with mouse lag, Photoshop OpenGL support or spamming of event logs with errors?

    The changelog seems incomplete, most of those things were supposed to be present as fixes sometime this month I think?

    Thanks all :)
     
  20. s0x

    s0x Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 5700XT Gaming X
    Thanks for the driver update. Will see how DiRT3 improves.

    Some AMD ES CPU? :p Bulldozer based maybe, lol.
     

Share This Page