AMD 6870 resolution and refreshrate.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by louisly, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. louisly

    louisly Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Ref. 6870
    Any one can help me on this.

    I have several resolution options for my CRT.

    I can set 1024*768@100Hz 1280*1024@100Hz even 1600*1200@100hz.

    but for 1280*960 i'm currently use can only set to 85Hz.

    My driver is 10.10a


    any one know the reason. or any config file that i can modify to set back my refresh rate at 100Hz on 1280*960
     
  2. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,612
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    It's pretty easy to add custom resolutions via registry. I think custom resolutions are stored in [FONT=verdana, arial, helvetica]DALNonStandardModesBCD or something like that.
    [/FONT]
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2010
  3. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    your dell p1230 (crt 22") is very good w/ 130kHz :3eyes:. :D


    I have samsung 1100p plus crt 21". I played most games 1280x720 and some 1920x1200. I got "pure" smooth :D and I don't hurt eyes @60Hz+vsync. I watched TV "emulated" w/ pure smooth on pc running 50Hz+vsync. :D

    if you live in chine and you use 50Hz for TV.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2010
  4. louisly

    louisly Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Ref. 6870
    thanks Anarion, but any furthur details for me is better.

    I found DALNonStandardModesBCD that binary code in my registry. but it only contains the resolution settings, no refresh rate information.
     

  5. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,612
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    It does contain refresh rate too. when I added custom first four numbers are horizontal resolution, next four are vertical. then there should be few zeros and after than refresh rate. It would look like this (for 1280x720 @ 75hz): 12 80 07 20 00 00 00 75. Right click DALNonStandardModesBCD1 and select edit binary value. If you want 1280x960 @ 100Hz add this: 12 80 09 60 00 00 01 00.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2010
  6. da_unique

    da_unique Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX770 + GTX670 (SLI)
    Lol those hacks havent worked for the past 1.5 years.

    Hell i still cant use ANY driver >9.7 since CRT support is totally broken.
    The exact same bugs i posted nearly a year ago are still in the driver, from broken scaling (scaling on a crt.. right :bang:) to bad central timing to non existing resolutions, locked refresh rates etc etc.

    So here I am, camping at 9.7 with my 4870, till I finally can upgrade to a decent videocard. :puke2:
     
  7. flow

    flow Master Guru

    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 2000Mhz
    Tbh,I run 9.8 with winXP,and they run the same as with the latest 10.10 with opencl,on win7.Apparently anything higher then 9.8 seems to offer nothing extra for 48xx series.

    Oh,medal of honor with everything on high,except shadows on medium,with 10.10 and win7,most of the times 60fps through fraps,some dips to 50 fps,occasionally.
    4870 is still decent,be it getting a bit older though.Sits not far behind my card.

    But ok,the new 6870 is tempting :)
     
  8. louisly

    louisly Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Ref. 6870
    OK now I know how to edit the value.

    but another question is I had found DALNonStandardModesBCD1 in many places. shall I modify every value I found, or just a specific one?
     
  9. louisly

    louisly Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Ref. 6870

    so, registry hack does not work?

    is there any other way to solve this?

    rivatuner? powerstrip? I have a long time no use these kind of tweak software.
     
  10. mercury_22

    mercury_22 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE HD 7770
    The one in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{..}\0000
    Also if your resolution it's already present with a 00 for refresh you need to delete that first and then add / change the resolution for your "output" e.g
    DALNonStandardModesBCD1 it's for the vga, DALNonStandardModesBCD2 for DVI (1), DALNonStandardModesBCD3 for DP or DVI 2 and DALNonStandardModesBCD4 for HDMI ... usually

    P.S. After modify the registry you need to change the refresh or resolution or even restart to "see" the new one
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010

  11. louisly

    louisly Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Ref. 6870

    It does work! Thanks a lot, Mercury and Anarion!
     
  12. xtremegamer

    xtremegamer Guest

    What's so special with 6xxx Series , nouthing i think, Just they Added Shader Processors and Increased some CLock Speeds, and Some Not Working BLURAY 3D Support and Morph AA.... Just Marketing they can add the same Shaders and Clock SPeeds to 5xxx , All Buisness Minds... Same thing on Nvidia too.....

    I think better Move to COnsoles, Because More Titles are for PS3 or Xbox.....
     
  13. da_unique

    da_unique Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX770 + GTX670 (SLI)
    Heh doesnt work at all here, not even when using regedit.

    The only thing that did work half is by adding the
    DALDTMCRTBCD1520x1140x0x85 etc keys, but I dont know how to calculate the crc etc on these values :(

    /edit: Might be worth a shot to totally delete those keys and reinstall drivers once again with bcd hacks. Perhaps some driver revision added some stupid key which messes my install. :banana:

    /result: Nope did not work either :bang:
    [​IMG]

    Uninstalling ATI drivers ofcourse fixes everything:
    [​IMG]
    Next to the gazillion resolutions every crt user should have, you can actually select refresh rates for each resolution!
    Seems microsoft is apparently not as dumb as ATI.

    Going back to 9.7 again *sigh*:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for the great drivers the past year(s) ATI/AMD! :biggun:
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  14. mercury_22

    mercury_22 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE HD 7770
    If I understand correctly you want to get 1600x1200@85 on a VGA connection so first you have to check if there is an 16,00,12,00,00,00,00,00 in your "DALNonStandardModesBCD1" and delete it !
    Then add 16,00,12,00,00,00,00,85 in your "DALNonStandardModesBCD1"

    Although AFAIK 1600x1200@85 it's standard and you should not have to edit your "DALNonStandardModesBCD1" cause even if you have 16,00,12,00,00,00,00,00 in there that means you have all standard refresh so you can try this too but my bet it's on something else it's wrong

    P.S. It's easier to edit your reg key if you export it first and after edit merge it
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010

Share This Page