Amazing deals on IPS 27 inch monitors! *120Hz possible*

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Veteran, May 5, 2012.

  1. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
  2. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,121
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    HD7950
    I'd personally love to see some pictures. I'll be doing a couple of upgrades in a month or two and I've been pondering one of those monitors.
     
  3. Brendruis

    Brendruis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Reference GTX 680 SLI
    Is it 120Hz at 1920 on those B revisions? I thought 2560 @ 120Hz was impossible over a single Dual Link DVI

    A 60Hz IPS though at these prices is still desirable
     
  4. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    2560x1440 @ 120hz is perfectly doable on a 2b model yamakasi catleap with a gtx 670/680. There is a modded driver fix for AMD cards that allows them to go past 85hz as well, just unsure which cards are able to do it as I haven't researched on the AMD side enough. All the information can be found at www.120hz.net, in fact, a batch just sold there last week and there's more coming in the following weeks.
     

  5. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    These monitors should use display port. More than enough bandwidth.
     
  6. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
    My screen came 15-20 min ago. Other then 1 green dead sub pixel its perfect. No obvious backlight bleeding or unevenness that i can see. Very happy!
     
  7. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
  8. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    Got mine as well! Click to enlarge.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,229
    Likes Received:
    2,380
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Looks good Virtue. Hows you're 460 doing at 2560x1440?
     
  10. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    Not too good in modern games man, I'm able to get away in most 2010-11 titles with medium settings and still achieve near 100 fps, but of course games such as The Witcher 2 or Battlefield 3 is a different story. Trying to save up for 6xx/7xx series so I can push the monitor to 120Hz and have some better framerates at 2560x1440, until then, playing windowed 1080@100hz for those type of games isn't too bad.

    I tried some titles which run just fine at 2560x1440 with a gtx 460 such as Assassin's Creed Revelations, Saints Row The Third, Alice Madness Returns, Max Payne 3, WoW, L4D2 and Portal 2. I gotta say, IPS colors + 1440p + 100Hz is something else from TN + 1080p + 60Hz.

    Two things I really love: AA is useless at this resolution, games just look amazing without, so that saves me a lot of performance. and of course, no tearing at all.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012

  11. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,356
    Likes Received:
    2,859
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    The panel is glossy?
     
  12. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,144
    Likes Received:
    450
    GPU:
    5700XT
    If its stuck on a color you have a good chance of either massaging the pixel back to normal or running one of those pixel unstick programs.

    Love my Yamakasi, beautiful picture.
     
  13. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    Yep.
     
  14. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
    I think it's dead. Using an old kids toy microscope and my phone i took this picture.

    [​IMG]

    I tried the pressure method but it didn't work. It doesn't really bother me.
     
  15. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 ti
    Can I ask a few questions about this monitor just to recap as I have not read the whole thread.

    Is it an IPS panel? So that means better colour than TN.

    Is it really 120hz on an IPS? Does it use Dual Link or just HDMI?

    How the hell are they getting 120hz on an IPS when no one else has?

    What is the maximum resolution for this monitor?

    Ghosting?

    Do you have to use a power adapter?


    Sorry about the many questions! It's just I'm thinking of buying one. Last question. Where can I buy one from?
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/YAMAKASI-...3848?pt=Computer_Monitors&hash=item19d2880c78
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012

  16. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
    It's 60hz IPS. 2b models could be overclocked to 100-120Hz if you had a decent graphics card (gtx670-680 for 120hz i think).
     
  17. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 ti
    Overclock a screen? I don't understand.
     
  18. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,784
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Make a 60Hz screen run at higher frequency, for example.

    Any recent card can do 120hz.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  19. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 ti
    I'm currently on a 120hz TN
     
  20. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
    I think 120Hz at 2560x1440 is way over spec for dual link DVI so i don't think all cards do it.
     

Share This Page