ALL games are too dark: is it the new GPU, the new FW driver (511.23 WHQL) or Win10?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by The Spirit of Morpheus, Jan 15, 2022.

1. The Spirit of Morpheus

The Spirit of Morpheus Guest

GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti 12GB
    Good Evening,

I'm new to G3D forums and this is my very first post:)

Prelude:

Yesterday, I've finally plugged my "new" Nvidia GPU (EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti FTW3 Ultra) on my rig - after having purchased it late August last year but not being able to test it, because my rig has been crippled for months (until a few days ago...) by the sudden death of my motherboard...

Before plugging the new card, I cleanly (completely) uninstalled the former ForceWare driver + GFE after having removed my former Nvidia GPU (a Turing-based GeForce GPU and the driver version must have been FW 45x.xx or 46x.xx WHQL). I also uninstalled all GPU-related software (EVGA Precision, GPU-Z, etc.) and even my Monitor driver & corresponding software. So it was completely clean uninstall.

After having inserted the card, I then freshly installed everything (GPU driver & software, Monitor driver & software) from scratch - everything in it's latest, most actual version. The FW driver was also the latest, brand new version (511.23 WHQL, just released on 14 January).

All driver & software installations went perfectly flawless.

The Monitor is an ASUS XG279Q (IPS, 1440p, DisplayPort-connected to GPU) with the latest official driver and "DisplayWidget" software installed.

The Problem: