AGESA v2 1.2.0.5 FIrmware for AMD Ryzen Can Cause Performance Problems

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 21, 2022.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    11,231
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    GPU:
    3090 Vision OC 24GB
    im finding it very decent, no usb issues or crashes like the earlier ones.
     
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,515
    Likes Received:
    7,845
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    Didnt notice any issues since i updated. Core clock, voltages are the same.
     
  4. CyberG

    CyberG New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT
    The only thing I've noticed is that I had put a lower voltage offset on the 3700x and I had to raise it to keep it stable.
     

  5. Devid

    Devid Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Asus RX 6800 XT TUF
    As an ex-owner of MSI X570 Unify I can confirm the max vcore is locked at 1.425v.
    All I had experienced was much lower temps overall on the same PBO settings than before.
    I knew something was wrong with this version of bios but I used it happily without any problems with lower temps
     
  6. HARDRESET

    HARDRESET Master Guru

    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    374
    GPU:
    1080Ti / 290X CFX
    ASUS ROCKS !
     
    kanenas likes this.
  7. kanenas

    kanenas Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    rtx 2070 ,5700xt
    AGESA v2 1.2.0.5?

    I'm already in the version AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.6b (ASUS)
    and has new pbo options,the only negative I have so far is that when I change a setting in the bios it restarts my computer 3 times (and I mean normal boot), and the positive is a slightly lower power-temperature reduction when I overclock the processor compared to the older version 1.2.0.3 Patch C.
     
    AlmondMan likes this.
  8. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    2,928
    GPU:
    RX 6750XT/ MAC M1
    I am on AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.6b right now, and had some weird issues during the first boot and continued in BIOS. There was a weird glitch where it would show half of the text in French/ Chinese / English.

    Afterward, it wouldn't detect Windows and Freeze randomly.

    What helped me was to reset everything to factory defaults and re-run my routine tweaks again.

    We really need dual bios on more Mobo's.
     
  9. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,191
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I'm on Agesa 1.2.0.5 and performance seems the same.
    I'm using the same settings as before updating, with memory/IF at 3800/1900. But I did notice that memory training took much longer.
     
  10. undorich

    undorich Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Geforce Palit 1080
    b550-f, also 1206b, no issues at all. even mem settings cl14 for my flarex3200 works normal. tpm, secure boot. no problems on win11 pro
     

  11. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    623
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6700 XT
    Asrock too have the 6b released on beta bios.
    It work fine so far.
     
  12. AHPD

    AHPD Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Nitro+ RX 6800 XT
    ASUS issued final versions with AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.5 over two months ago. The article should be rectified.

    upload_2022-2-21_8-33-6.png

    Also with ASUS Crosshair VIII boards, you can downgrade to 1.2.0.3c to restore 1.50v VID with PBO enabled (to exceed 142A EDC).

    The issue with lower clocks on later AGESA's is because CPU can no longer request 1.50v when PBO is enabled and exceeding 142A EDC (my board goes up to EDC 200A on Auto). The 1.42v VID thing is being discussed for months in OCN, which also persists in the latest 1.2.0.6b.

    Some users found ways to improve performance around that. I personally don't care and leave PBO disabled so standard boost patterns apply. My 5900X works better this way.

    The whole 1.2.0.4 series specially the first revision was utter garbage. Never went out of beta thankfully.
     
    AlmondMan likes this.
  13. GamerNerves

    GamerNerves Master Guru

    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT Nitro+
    Have to commend Asus for not widely releasing these compromised AGESAs.
    Good insight from @AHPD.
     
  14. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    Moist 6900 XT
    Didn't notice any issues on my setup,had updated since it got posted on the ASUS site.
     
  15. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    My ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4 hasn't had a BIOS update since 1.2.0.3. I have a 3700x though so it's not really a big deal to me at the moment.
     

  16. DaLoona

    DaLoona Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3080
    B550 Unify-X owner and been running AGESA 1.2.0.5 for a long time, ever since it was released as a beta bios and don't have any issues.
    5800X with G-Skill 4000MHz memorykit (16GB) @3733MHz, with all clocks running in sync, so 1:1:1. Beyond 3733MHz has always been, on every single bios since release, a no boot till 4000MHz. 4000MHz will boot, but with tons of WHEA's, had really hoped that 1.2.0.5 would solve that, but unfortunately the IMC is not a good one on this chip.
     
  17. Rÿl OdinSon

    Rÿl OdinSon Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 6900 XT
    thank you !! <insert meme pic here> ... as I was starting to become mad. I updated to bios F35 some time ago (based on AGESA ComboV2 1.2.0.5) on my Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME and I immediately witnessed some perf degradations (I scored between 650 and 660 in CPU-Z single core before, and after the update I now sit with 620 to 630 ... that and many more benchmarks or games that perform a little less than before)

    And I just wondered where was the problem and scratched my head to figure it out ... Now I understand where the problem is !

    I guess I'll have to wait for the next BiOS update then ^^

    CPU : AMD Ryzen R9 5950X
    GPU : AMD Radeon RX 6900XT
    MB : Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME (rev. 1.1)
    RAM : 64 GB DDR4 3600 (CAS 16)
     
  18. mdk77777

    mdk77777 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    AMD 5500xt
    Yeah, this is really really old news.
    AMD 5800-x
    Gigabyte b550 Aorus pro ac
    bios f14

    The entire Aorus system information viewer ceases to function.

    You can not depend on using smart fan as temperatures are not accurate and whole groups of fans cease to show or function.

    The BIOS was recommended for WIN 11 for many months and has failed to function in all versions of BETA through this final "stable release"

    So, I do a couple of work arounds.

    1. set fans in BIOS rather than using the WINDOWS app supplied by GIG/Aorus
    2. turn on and off trusted platform before/after updating WIN 11.
    Everything works MUCH faster with trusted platform off
    AND MUCH Cooler.

    On my intel notebook, the fan noise with trusted platform is so loud that it makes zoom meetings difficult.

    (and this is with the laptop on a dedicated rotation stand with perfect bottom air flow.) Turning trusted platform off of WIN 11 in bios causes the fans to run much more quite.

    TLDR: BIOS Version and WIN 11 both combine to greatly reduce clocks/ ssd speed and increase temps and noise.

    Somewhat difficult to figure out which is the worst contributor.
     
    Keitosha likes this.
  19. Martin5000

    Martin5000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    115
    GPU:
    8 gig
  20. Ambient

    Ambient Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    8
    still USB 2.0 problem on Gigabyte B450 aorus elite. Sound crunchy from audio DAC.
     

Share This Page