Adobe Flash Problem

Discussion in 'General Software and Applications' started by frisell, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. frisell

    frisell Member Guru

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 280GTX OC 1G
    Hi, Flash has suddenly stopped working on my machine. First I tried reinstalling the latest version, 11.2 I think, and reset the Security Settings in Internet Options then I read a post on a different site about running the Flash uninstaller and reinstalling the latest Flash player, it didn't work.
    Anyone have any other ideas before I wipe the HDD and spend my saturday reinstalling everything?
    Thanks
     
  2. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Which browser are you using? Which site is not working?

    Don't be so quick to reformat! Flash is not the end all and be all of your OS's blood line.
     
  3. frisell

    frisell Member Guru

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 280GTX OC 1G
    I'm using IE9 and I've noticed this problem with YouTube, TheYNC and online flash games, etc, anything requiring flash.
     
  4. frisell

    frisell Member Guru

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 280GTX OC 1G
    Also been getting 'old browser, please update' type messages when logging into my D-Link DIR-655 router which started when Flash problem began.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012

  5. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Lets have you try this again.

    Uninstall flash player from here:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Adobe_Flash_Player_Uninstaller_d6551.html

    Reboot.

    Install flash for IE from here:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Adobe_Flash_Player_IE_AOL_d5163.html

    Verify install from here:

    http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

    Check Flash settings manager from here: Look at each tab!

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en/flashplayer/help/settings_manager02.html

    If this does not work lets try an experiment. Download Google chrome from here:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Google_Chrome_18.0.1025.152_Final_d6246.html

    http://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=108086

    Try your sites and see what happens.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  6. frisell

    frisell Member Guru

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 280GTX OC 1G
    I installed Chrome and all is good! Thanks Watcher for your time and effort!!
    Don't know if I like the Chrome so far but it works. I have two other desktops and a netbook that run Flash just fine without Chrome, why did this machine get so finicky all of a sudden?
    Again, thanks for your help Watcher!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  7. jbmcmillan

    jbmcmillan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    276
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX970
    I used to use IE almost exclusively until IE7 then after that as they updated I started having funky problems such as what you are having as they tried to make it more secure.They only succeeded in messing it up and I started using Firefox and haven't looked back.
     
  8. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    If you want Flash to work on IE, you'll have to try the steps that I have listed. If you don't care, use Google Chrome. Remember, if a site uses Active X, then you'll need to use IE.
     
  9. frisell

    frisell Member Guru

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 280GTX OC 1G
    I tried all the steps you listed Watcher but Flash still didn't work so I went with Chrome. I may try Firefox jb.
     
  10. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Interesting? I guess your have a browser for flash and a browser for Active X.

    In any case, glad your good to go.
     

  11. Finchwizard

    Finchwizard Don Apple

    Messages:
    16,440
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    -
    I had problems on both my Home PC and Mac at work when it upgraded to flash.

    Both were just Green Videos. Had to turn off Hardware Acceleration.

    Stupid.
     
  12. NoviceRei

    NoviceRei Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D 460 825/1079/1650
    I'm also having problems with flash on my home PC.

    Anyway, i get crackling noise and the goes into slo-mo whenever i put it into full-screen. (This is for youtube btw)
     
  13. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    That's probably AMD drivers being stupid.
    Anything after 11.12 shows green videos on Flash using hardware acceleration.
     
  14. Finchwizard

    Finchwizard Don Apple

    Messages:
    16,440
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    -
    I don't use AMD at home.
     
  15. bokah

    bokah Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 670GTX 2G
    most latest nv drivers are dodgy with flash (or other way round)
     

  16. Finchwizard

    Finchwizard Don Apple

    Messages:
    16,440
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    -
    Flash showing it's Age. It's crap, we really need to ditch it.
     
  17. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    The thing is, my 560 Ti is fine with hardware acceleration turned on.
    No green videos whatsoever with Flash.
    This is with 301.24 Beta.
     
  18. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Good location to easily download flash Beta and release versions can be found here:

    x86 & x64. Look down the list on the right for what version you are about to download.

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_firefox/12085/

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_firefox_64/12086/

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie_64/12084/

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie/12083/

    Filehippo has an update tool that can automatically indicate what version you have installed and what updated version is available to be downloaded from their site.

    http://www.filehippo.com/updatechecker/ < works well.
     
  19. Phragmeister

    Phragmeister Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 4GB
    How didn't I know about this! I visit FileHippo frequently. Thanks for posting. :nerd:
     
  20. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    There's also a more robust version of application version checking from Secunia, the PSI (Personal Software Inspector).
     

Share This Page