Above 4G Decoding?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by HashiruOtoko, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. HashiruOtoko

    HashiruOtoko New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3 Ultr
    For gaming with an RTX 3090, should Above 4G Decoding be enabled in the motherboard's BIOS/UEFI?
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,411
    Likes Received:
    2,810
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    No,

    only on mainboards that support resizable bar, once nvidia supports it.
     
    Benjamin Fazzio likes this.
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,041
    Likes Received:
    7,037
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @HashiruOtoko

    Do not listen to Astyanax, he is too smart.
    You can enable and see for yourself.
    I recently enabled it (after the recent BIOS update) and I have not noticed any troubles (and performance boost as well).
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020
  4. Mustang104

    Mustang104 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    nVidia 3080 RTX
    I thought this was a feature for systems with multi GPU/SLI configurations or for bit mining?
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,411
    Likes Received:
    2,810
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    This setting results in a blank screen on the majority of motherboards(worst case) otherwise performance issues occur because it is mainly meant for headless mining rigs and hasn't been implemented completely along with 64bit pcie addressing.

    Nvidia drivers do not currently support above 4g decoding on the display gpu either as they adhere to prior wddm requirements that the primary gpu is mapped below 4GB.

    Completely implemented and with full uefi driver support, it'd work fine. thing is most bios's don't actually implement the 64bit pcie addressing needed for resizable bar and nvidia's display driver doesn't presently post an image when the driver is mapped above 4G
     
  6. pharma

    pharma Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    413
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    You can enable it if your bios is operating in UEFI mode. I've had it enabled on my Asus Rampage Extreme V for a few years with no issues in Windows or gaming, though needs a driver update from Nvidia to enable in games/applications. No benefit until Nvidia gets out a driver update.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,041
    Likes Received:
    7,037
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    All of the links there are 2018 or older...

    PS And overall this thing is not about graphics card, it is about PCI Express bus and devices.
     
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,411
    Likes Received:
    2,810
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    pharma also says its working too for him, YMMV, depends on bios implementation detail.
     
  9. Sylencer

    Sylencer Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Strix OC
    My Bios optimized settings turned it on. Had it off on all previous PCs i had but this one seems to like it on. Z490 ASUS Maximus XII Formula.
     
  10. HashiruOtoko

    HashiruOtoko New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3 Ultr
    I enabled it and seems to be working fine. Would be nice to see some before and after benchmarks, but I can't be bothered.
     

  11. A M D BugBear

    A M D BugBear Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    366
    GPU:
    4 GTX 970-Quad Sli
    Hello there, and welcome to the world of Guru3D(.)com HashiruOtoko...

    First off, Before I got really serious into 4-way sli tuning, my first motherboard for this was the Asus Z10PE-D8 WS, and if I plugged in 3 cards and started up the system, bios posted properly, whereas, if I do 4 gpu's, I would hear a beep but no picture.

    So, I had to research this situation, found one person on a particular forum, with same motherboard, and couldn't get 4 gpu's to post properly upon starting up, Said to enable above 4G decoding, so I did that, and walla, Bios posted properly and all 4 gpu's are reading correctly within the device manager.

    In other words, if your doing more then 3 gpu's for whatever reason, this setting is a must in order for the bios to post up properly, otherwise your left with a blank screen.

    That's my personal experience on it, hope this helps.
     
  12. DannyD

    DannyD Master Guru

    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    569
    GPU:
    MSI 2080ti
    Just enabled it after having it disabled since day1, should i be looking for something to happen /improve?:D
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,041
    Likes Received:
    7,037
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Of course! All your PCI-E devices should reach acceleration above 4G!
     
    DannyD likes this.
  14. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,971
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    I did that in the past back when I wondered what this settings was for, there was no difference. Probably because we're only running 1 GPU and SAM is not implemented at this time. Apparently outside of SAM / Resizable BAR there's some use cases for people running multiple GPU's (mining).
     
  15. Mustang104

    Mustang104 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    nVidia 3080 RTX
    Just updated my ASUS STRIX Z490F motherboard with a new 1002 beta BIOS this morning, I now have Resize BAR Support in my options.
     
    Benchmarking likes this.

Share This Page