A upgrade HD 6870 to a HD 7950

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by AmD6000, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    Help guys, i want to upgrade my HD 6870 to a HD 7950 3GB, but i not sure if my cpu can handle that card without a problem
     
  2. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
    If your CPU is overclocked, and you have a decent resolution (1080p) then you should be fine. A friend of mine has a similar setup with 2 6870 Hawks.
     
  3. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    yes my cpu is OC to 3.81GHz, so no need to upgrade the cpu? but i think i can push the cpu a little more.
     
  4. TechnikL

    TechnikL Master Guru

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD R9 290X 1130/1300
    Yes your machine (and CPU) will handle a new 7950 just peachy!

    You should notice a good bump in fps, don't let any intel fanboys tell you it will be limited, because it won't. (at least not in any form you should worry about).

    They will say things like CPU bottleneck, blah blah blah...
    don't listen to it, your CPU at 3.8Ghz will feed that 7950 more than fast enough, I'm running the 1090T at 4Ghz (not much difference from yours) and it feeds my 7970 just perfectly.

    enjoy the new card if you get it, they OC great too. :)

    There is some rare cases with very CPU dependent software where it could limit your GPU slightly, but this happens even with the fastest CPU's out there so don't worry about that at all.

    Good Luck.
     

  5. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,610
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Fury X - XL2420T(Z)@144Hz
    i5/i7's have advantage in gaming versus FX-8350. But only if you want to play at 120fps. And that means in games which are light on GPU itself.

    If you play at 60~85Hz 1080p display. Getting new board/CPU would be big waste. Since minimal/average fps at Highly detailed games are much more affected by GPU.

    And since your CPU have decent OC... even at best scenario You would get maybe 10% more fps from 500$ upgrade to intel CPU+board.
    While putting such money would yield much higher frame rate from two HS7950s.
     
  6. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    Thanks guys just to be sure, because this Friday i'll order it, cant wait to Friday :) on the mid time i keep playing with the HD 6870 lol
     
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah your CPU is just fine...enjoy. :)
     
  8. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
  9. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
  10. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    wanting high fps doesn't equal "games which are light on gpu". i5/i7 have advantages even in gpu heavy games. it all depends though. crysis 3 performs great on amd cpus. but in general, intel is faster in games, but not only in "gpu light" ones.
     

  11. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Fixed.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
  13. Syidi

    Syidi Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780
    nice upgrade...
     
  14. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    i will have to trade Crysis 3 cuz i already have it :)
     
  15. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    I sold it for £20 because I already had it too.
     

  16. angmar

    angmar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070
    Will it work yea will you get the most out of your card in every single game no. Even my i7 gets bottle necked in DayZ causing my fps to dip below 60. Though I am sure for most other games you will be ok with a Phenom II
     
  17. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    lol, double fail.
     
  18. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    yeah i'm going to sell it
     
  19. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    that's crazy, you have a heavy gaming machine but i guess is how really the game is optimize be
     
  20. AmD6000

    AmD6000 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 960
    Wednesday is my day :)
     

Share This Page