A question of Volatges

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by jonathen85, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,914
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Yeah seems fine to me i'm still trying to master the i7s QPI & uncore its a whole different beast from the pentium or core2s FSB.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
  2. rogue221979

    rogue221979 Master Guru

    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3090 GTX
    Thanks to you guys I was able to boot up to 4ghz at 1.35 instead of 1.4 turning off HT and rasing the PPL a tad. Not sure if its stable. Learn something new each time, will test it later. I use the C0 steping chip.

    Why such a drastic volt change?

    At 3.7ghz I can get away with 1.27vcore anything higher and I'm at 1.30v for 3.8ghz and now 1.35v with HT off for 4ghz. If I try to lower it any the system refuses to boot.

    I leave the QPI at 1.30
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
  3. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Looks great!! Right now I'm at 1.80v for ppl. That's actually as low as it goes.
    nice overclock!
     
  4. jonathen85

    jonathen85 Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d nvidia GTX 275
    The DO chip is known to overclock better than the CO. I've read that sometimes overclocking up to 3.8GHz is easy in general but sometimes going beyond it can be like hitting a wall and other settings need to be tweaked. But I'm not sure if that's the exact reason.

    Bodar, the PLL Voltage is there to give stability for high FSB. So, like any voltage, setting it too high will have a bad impact on your CPU. I think you should definitely run some stress tests (like inteliburn) and memory tests to get those voltages down as the lower the better.

    You say you want a clock speed of 4.5GHz. If I was doing this I would use these settings:

    Base Clock: 225 - multiplier at 20 means 20 x 225 = 4.5GHz
    Memory: DDR3-1800 - because with a multiplier of 8, 8 x 225 = 1800MHz
    Uncore: 3600MHz - multiplier should be at least twice the memories, 2 x 8 x 225 = 3600
    QPI: 8100 MHz - multiplier should be higher than the Uncore so 18, 18 (36) x 225 = 8100

    Then put your DRAM, VCore, QPI voltages up, and any others you want to do, and run some stress tests to bring them down.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009

  5. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Thanks so much for the info!!! Been testing for stability. So far I can get to 4.40ghz stable with a 1.418 vcore. When I try to push towards 4.5 it gets ridiculous and I'm not stable until I hit 1.512 vcore. This is with the cpu ratio at default of 25 and a qpi of 180. Going to try your setting of 225. I dont think I ruined my cpu. Ran the ppl vcore at 2.00. That was the highest I got.. Then backed it off right away to the lowest which is 1.80
    My temps are 29, 25, 30, 26 using real temp.
     
  6. mitzi76

    mitzi76 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,738
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    MSI 970 (Gaming)
    i'd run less than 1.4v if it were me. i dont think u need more than 4ghz for 285's in sli...each to their own though like.

    just might add a bit of longevity..
     
  7. jonathen85

    jonathen85 Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d nvidia GTX 275
    sorry didn't see that you had a different version from the 920. You could use the same settings but adjust them according to the multipliers you have.
     
  8. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    So I tried raising the clock ratio to 33, and from there moving the qpi up to 136..
    I could boot at 4.50 but once again not stable.. Also tried setting the ratio to 22 and 21 then bumping up the qpi but that definitely did'nt work.. Thanks for the help!! Right now I'm at 1.408v backed it off a little and still stable at 4.40ghz temps idle are 30 , 26 , 32 , 28:bang:

    I mostly just want it to be stable and extreme overclocked for the quad sli configuration
     
  9. rogue221979

    rogue221979 Master Guru

    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3090 GTX
    Wont runing the vcore at 1.5 or higher damage the chip permanantly?
     
  10. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Probably depends on what kind of cooling you have.. On air its possible to ruin it I'd think...
     

  11. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Is this ok for an overclock and voltage settings

    Is this ok you guys? : ) temps idle are great but when in stress it gets pretty up there.. Games dont hit 60 though


    [​IMG]
     
  12. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,914
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Not that bad i hit 90c on air today doing something i shouldn't lol

    but for the speed 80c is great how much did that coolIT system cost?

    seems pretty good TBH you should be able to hit maybe 4.7-4.8ghz for benching without burning up.
     
  13. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
  14. jonathen85

    jonathen85 Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d nvidia GTX 275
    for overclocking the higher the FSB the better. So clocking with a low multiplier + high FSB is better than high multiplier + low FSB
     
  15. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,914
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD

  16. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    :) Awesome!! What kind of cooler are you using for that cpu right now. So I ended up setting the bclk frequency all the way up to 180 and just left the ratio at the default of 25.
    So far so good I think. Even crysis works great after hours. No unstable lockups on 3dmark vantage.. runs great 24/7 1.504vcore / qpi at 1.30v temps idle right now are 35, 31, 36, 35
     
  17. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,914
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    hehe

    yeah am using a xigmatek achilles s1284c

    for how cheap it was (£31) it really does a good job.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Awesomeness!! What are your temps with that thing compared to stock.. Looks like a killer cooler. Do you overclock your video card as well using a voltera voltage regulator?
     
  19. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,914
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Idle about 43c @ 4ghz load is about 80ish.

    anything past that and the temps go through the roof

    and yeah but no voltage softmods for me as i can't find a tool that supports my video card I'll probably have to hard mod it no doubt,

    Though I'm not planing to keep this one long i'm gona jump on the next gen ATIs soon i hope.
     
  20. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Yeah man. Those will actually be out sooner than later. Evergreen looks amazing.
    Never actually tested ATI but have wanted to for a long time. Did'nt they say availability was going to be sometime in october? Only a couple months away
     

Share This Page