A Question About Peltier Cooling

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by Tokintegra, May 15, 2008.

1. Tokintegra

Tokintegra Master Guru

GPU:
    3x BFG 8800GTX OC2 on h20
    Hi everyone, got a question for ya.

I've been doing the 'ol watercooling thing for a few years now in a few different builds. But naturally, after a couple hours of running, the temperatures get warmer than I like (not TOO bad, but up to about 50c on the processor if Im clocked to 4ghz, and the video cards top at about 65c)

Also naturally, Im thinking of ways to counter this. The first thing that I can think of is introducing some sort of peltier device into the loop, but I dont know much about them yet.

If I understand them correctly, if you have it against something hot, it gets very cold on the hot side, but hot on the other side. Is this right? Or does it just get cold when you power it?

I would like to introduce a single 120mm radiator with a few of them affixed to it. No doubt this may not be possible, or Im sure others would do it.

Does anyone have any experience or knowledge on the subject? Thank you all in advance for any help.

2. CommandrX

CommandrX Guest

Peltier's are pretty amazing on how they work, I posted some scientific info below. They act like a mini Air Conditioner in a way. I had one in a a old PowerPC that the cold side would get as low as 20°F. Now the other by product is heat and you will need to make sure you add a heatsink and fan combination to the hot side of it so as not to fry the Peltier.

The higher the wattage of the Peltier the more cooling you will get, but remember the heat produced will also go up as well.

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2008
  3. k2joyride

k2joyride Member

GPU:
    BFG 8800 GTS (g92) 780/10